### THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

## VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

# HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

No. 59.

#### TUESDAY, 18TH SEPTEMBER, 1956.

- 1. The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable J. McLeay) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. Suez Canal—Proposed Conference—Users' Association—Ministerial Statement.—Mr. Casey (Minister for External Affairs), by leave, made a Ministerial Statement informing the House that the Australian Government had accepted an invitation to participate in a proposed conference of nations in connexion with the Suez Canal to be convened in London on the 19th September. Mr. Casey announced the matters to be considered at the conference, with particular reference to the proposal to establish a co-operative association of canal users.

Mr. Evatt (Leader of the Opposition), by leave, also made a Statement with reference to the matter.

3. Papers.—Mr. Speaker presented, pursuant to Statute—

Commonwealth Bank Act-Balance-sheets of Commonwealth Bank, Commonwealth Trading Bank and Commonwealth Savings Bank as at 30th June, 1956; together with Auditor-General's reports thereon.

The following Paper was presented, by command of His Excellency the Administrator of the Government of the Commonwealth-

Biological Effects of Atomic Radiation—Statement by Minister for Health.

Ordered to lie on the Table.

. The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute-

Public Service Act—Appointment—Department of Civil Aviation—H. B. O'Keeffe.
Public Service Arbitration Act—Determination—1956—No. 96—Amalgamated Engineering Union and others.

- 4. DISARMAMENT APPEAL—COMMUNICATION FROM RUSSIAN SUPREME SOVIET.—Mr. Speaker informed the House that he had received a communication from the Supreme Soviet of the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics transmitting an appeal of the Supreme Soviet to Parliaments of all countries of the world on disarmament.
  - Mr. Speaker stated that the documents would be tabled in the Library.
- 5. Supply—Budget Debate.—The House, according to Order, resolved itself into the Committee of Supply.

#### (In the Committee.)

General debate resumed on the question, That the first item in the Estimates, under Division No. 1— Senate-namely-

> Salaries and allowances £26,500

be agreed to, and on the Amendment moved thereto by Mr. Evatt (Leader of the Opposition), viz.:-That the first item be reduced by £1.

Mr. Cairns addressing the Committee-

Closure. - Sir Eric Harrison (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved, That the question be

Question—That the question be now put—put.

F.656/56.

#### 18th September, 1956.

The Committee divided (The Chairman, Mr. Adermann, in the Chair)—

		AYES, 59.		
Mr. Allan Mr. Aston Mr. Bate Mr. Beale Mr. Bostock Mr. Bowden Mr. Brimblecombe Mr. Buchanan Mr. D. A. Cameron Mr. Casey Mr. Chaney	Mr. Erwin Mr. Fail <b>es</b> Mr. Fairhall Mr. Falkinder	Mr. J. M. Fraser Mr. Freeth Mr. Hamilton Sir E. Harrison Mr. Hasluck Mr. Haworth Mr. H. E. Holt Mr. Howse Mr. Howson Mr. Hulme Mr. Jack Mr. Joske	Mr. Kent Hughes Mr. Killen Mr. Lawrence Mr. Luck Mr. Lucock Mr. Mackinnon Sir P. McBride Mr. McColm Mr. McEwen Mr. McMahon Mr. Osborne Mr. Pearce	Mr. Roberton Mr. Snedden Mr. Stokes Mr. Swartz Mr. Turner Mr. Wentworth Mr. Wisht Mr. Wilson Tellers: Mr. Opperman Mr. Turnbull
Mr. Cleaver	Mr. Fox		Mi. Tearce	Mir. I willbuil
		Noes, 43.		
Mr. Barnard Mr. Beazley Mr. Bird Mr. Bruce Mr. Bryant Mr. Cairns Mr. Calwell Mr. C. R. Cameron Mr. Chambers	Mr. Clarey Mr. Clark Mr. Cope Mr. Costa Mr. Coutts Mr. Crean Mr. Curtin Mr. Daly Mr. Edmonds	Mr. A. D. Fraser Mr. Galvin Mr. Griffiths Mr. E. James Harrison Mr. Haylen Mr. R. W. Holt Mr. James Mr. L. R. Johnson	Mr. Kearney Mr. Lawson Mr. Luchetti Mr. Makin Mr. McIvor Mr. Minogue Mr. Morgan Mr. O'Connor Mr. Peters	Mr. Pollard Mr. Russell Mr. Thompson Mr. Ward Mr. Webb Mr. Whitlam Tellers: Mr. Duthie Mr. Stewart

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

And the question—That the item proposed to be reduced be so reduced—being accordingly put—The Committee divided (The Chairman, Mr. Adermann, in the Chair)—

	AYES, 44.		
Mr. Clark	Mr. Griffiths	Mr. Luchetti	Mr. Ward
Mr. Cope	Mr. E. James	Mr. Makin	Mr. Webb
Mr. Costa	Harrison	Mr. McIvor	Mr. Whitlam
Mr. Coutts	Mr. Haylen	Mr. Minogue	
Mr. Crean	Mr. R. W. Holt	Mr. Morgan	Tellers:
Mr. Curtin	Mr. James	Mr. O'Connor	
Mr. Daly	Mr. H. V. Johnson	Mr. Peters	Mr. Duthie
Mr. Edmends	Mr. L. R. Johnson	Mr. Pollard	Mr. Stewart
Mr. A. D. Fraser	Mr. Kearney	Mr. Russell	
Mr. Galvin	Mr. Lawson	Mr. Thompson	
	Noes, 62.		
Mr. Cramer	Mr. Freeth	Mr. Killen	Mr. Stokes
Mr. Davidson	Mr. Graham	Mr. Lawrence	Mr. Swartz
Mr. Davis	Mr. Hamilton	Mr. Luck	Mr. Timson
Mr. Dean	Sir E. Harrison	Mr. Lucock	Mr. Turner
Mr. Downer	Mr. Hasluck	Mr. Mackinnon	Mr. Wentworth
Mr. Drummond	Mr. Haworth	Sir P. McBride	Mr. Wheeler
Mr. Drury	Mr. H. E. Holt	Mr. McColm	Mr. Wight
Mr. Erwin	Mr. Howse	Mr. McEwen	Mr. Wilson
Mr. Failes	Mr. Howson	Mr. McMahon	
Mr. Fairhall	Mr. Hulme	Mr. Osborne	Tellers:
Mr. Falkinder	Mr. Jack	Mr. Pearce	
Mr. Fox	Mr. Joske	Mr. Roberton	Mr. Opperman
Mr. J. M. Fraser	Mr. Kent Hughes	Mr. Snedden	Mr. Turnbull
	Mr. Cope Mr. Costa Mr. Costa Mr. Crean Mr. Crean Mr. Curtin Mr. Daly Mr. Edmends Mr. A. D. Fraser Mr. Galvin  Mr. Cramer Mr. Davidson Mr. Davis Mr. Dean Mr. Downer Mr. Drummond Mr. Drury Mr. Erwin Mr. Failes Mr. Failhall Mr. Falkinder Mr. Fox	Mr. Clark Mr. Cope Mr. Cope Mr. E. James Mr. Costa Mr. Haylen Mr. Crean Mr. Haylen Mr. Curtin Mr. Daly Mr. H. V. Johnson Mr. A. D. Fraser Mr. Galvin Mr. L. R. Johnson Mr. A. D. Fraser Mr. Galvin Mr. Lawson Noes, 62. Mr. Cramer Mr. Davidson Mr. Freeth Mr. Davis Mr. Hamilton Mr. Dean Mr. Downer Mr. Hasluck Mr. Drury Mr. Haworth Mr. Erwin Mr. Howse Mr. Failes Mr. Howson Mr. Fairhall Mr. Falkinder Mr. Joske Mr. Joske	Mr. Clark Mr. Cope Mr. E. James Mr. Makin Mr. Costa Mr. Haylen Mr. MeIvor Mr. Coutts Mr. Haylen Mr. Mr. Minogue Mr. Crean Mr. R. W. Holt Mr. Morgan Mr. Daly Mr. H. V. Johnson Mr. Edmends Mr. A. D. Fraser Mr. Calvin Mr. Lawson Mr. Cramer Mr. Cramer Mr. Davidson Mr. Freeth Mr. Davidson Mr. Hamilton Mr. Dean Mr. Dean Mr. Haworth Mr. Drummond Mr. Haworth Mr. Erwin Mr. Howson Mr. Heare Mr. McColm Mr. Cramer Mr. Dean Mr. Haworth Mr. Drumy Mr. H. E. Holt Mr. McColm Mr. Failes Mr. Hulme Mr. Deare Mr. Failes Mr. Hulme Mr. Deare Mr. Failes Mr. Hulme Mr. Deare Mr. Failes Mr. Howson Mr. McMahon Mr. Fairele Mr. Joske Mr. Boberton

And so it was negatived.

General debate concluded.

First item agreed to.

Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed; Mr. Adermann reported accordingly.

Resolved-That the House will, at the next sitting, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

Broadcasting and Television Bill (No. 2) 1956.—The Order of the Day having been read for the
resumption of the debate on the question, That the Bill be now read a second time—
Debate resumed.

Debate adjourned (Mr. Duthie), and the resumption of the debate made an Order of the Day for the next sitting.

7. Adjournment.—Sir Eric Harrison (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved, That the House do now adjourn.

Question—put and passed.

And then the House, at three minutes to eleven o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past two o'clock p.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Anthony, Mr. Brand, Sir Arthur Fadden, Mr. Fairbairn\*, Mr. Leslie, Mr. Lindsay, Mr. Menzies, Sir Earle Page, Mr. Riordan and Mr. Watkins.

\* On leave.

A. A. TREGEAR, Clerk of the House of Representatives.