THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

No. 35.

WEDNESDAY, 23RD MAY, 1956.

- 1. The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—The Deputy Speaker (Mr. Adermann) took the Chair, and read Prayers.

2. Papers.—The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute—
Aluminium Industry Act—Australian Aluminium Production Commission—Ninth Annual Report and Financial Accounts, for year 1953-54.

Public Service Act—Appointments—Department of the Parliamentary Library—B. T. Burne, A. I. Diamond, K. Penny, K. W. Thompson.

3. Message from the Governor-General-Assent to Bills.-A Message from His Excellency the Governor-General was announced informing the House that His Excellency, in the name and on behalf of Her Majesty, had assented to the following Bills:— 16th May, 1956—Message No. 20—

Whaling Industry Act Repeal 1956.

Fishing Industry 1956.

- 4. Alteration of Hour of Next Meeting.—Sir Eric Harrison (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved, That the House, at its rising, adjourn until half-past two o'clock p.m. to-morrow. Question—put and passed.
- 5. Public Works Committee—Reference of Work—Telephone Exchange, Haymarket, Sydney.— Mr. Fairhall (Minister for Works) moved, pursuant to notice, That, in accordance with the provisions of the Public Works Committee Act 1913-1953, the following proposed work be referred to the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Public Works for investigation and report, namely :- Erection of Automatic Telephone Exchange Building at Haymarket, Sydney.

Mr. Fairhall laid on the Table plans in connexion with the proposed work.

Question—put and passed.

6. Appropriation (Works and Services) Bili. (No. 2) 1955-56,---The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question, That the Bill be now read a second time-Debate resumed.

Question—put and passed.—Bill read a second time.

Mr. Deputy Speaker left the Chair, and the House resolved itself into a Committee of the Whole.

(In the Committee.)

Bill, by leave, taken as a whole, and agreed to, after debate.

Bill to be reported without amendment.

The House resumed; Mr. Timson reported accordingly.

- On the motion of Sir Eric Harrison (Vice-President of the Executive Council), the House adopted the Report, and the Bill was read a third time.
- 7. Conciliation and Arbitration Bill 1956.—The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question, That the Bill be now read a second time—And on the amendment moved thereto by Mr. Evatt on the 22nd May (see page 161)-Debate resumed.

Debate adjourned (Mr. Morgan), and the resumption of the debate made an Order of the Day for the next sitting.

23rd May, 1956.

8. Adjournment.—Mr. Osborne (Minister for Customs and Excise) moved, That the House do now adjourn.

Debate ensued. Question—put.

The House divided (The Deputy Speaker, Mr. Adermann, in the Chair)—

	AYES, 57.		
Mr. Chanev	Mr. Fairhall	Mr. Leslie	Mr. Swartz
Mr. Cleaver	Mr. Falkinder	Mr. Lindsay	Mr. Timson
Mr. Cramer	Mr. Freeth	Mr. Luck	Mr. Townley
Mr. Davidson	Mr. Graham	Mr. Lucock	Mr. Wentworth
Mr. Davis	Mr. Hamilton	Mr. Mackinnon	Mr. Wheeler
Mr. Dean	Sir E. Harrison	Sir P. McBride	Mr. Wight
Mr. Downer	Mr. Howse	Mr. McLeay	Mr. Wilson
Mr. Drummond	Mr. Howson	Mr. Osborne	
Mr. Drury	Mr. Hulme	Mr. Pearce	Tellers:
Mr. Erwin	Mr. Jack	Mr. Roberton	
Mr. Failes	Mr. Killen	Mr. Snedden	Mr. Opperman
Mr. Fairbairn	Mr. Lawrence	Mr. Stokes	Mr. Turnbull
	Noes, 25.		
Mr. Cope	Mr. Griffiths	Mr. Peters	Tellers:
			Mr. Luchetti
		Mr. Ward	Mr. Stewart
Mr. Galvin	Mr. O'Connor		
	Mr. Cramer Mr. Davidson Mr. Davis Mr. Dean Mr. Downer Mr. Drummond Mr. Drury Mr. Erwin Mr. Failes Mr. Fairbairn Mr. Cope Mr. Costa Mr. Crean Mr. Curtin Mr. Edmonds	Mr. Chaney Mr. Cleaver Mr. Cramer Mr. Davidson Mr. Davis Mr. Dean Mr. Downer Mr. Drummond Mr. Drury Mr. Erwin Mr. Failes Mr. Fairbairn Mr. Cope Mr. Cope Mr. Costa Mr. Costa Mr. Curtin Mr. Edmonds Mr. Howse Mr. Hulme Mr. Jack Mr. Killen Mr. Killen Mr. Lawrence Mr. Griffiths Mr. Costa Mr. Costa Mr. Curtin Mr. Makin Mr. McIvor	Mr. Chaney Mr. Cleaver Mr. Falkinder Mr. Lindsay Mr. Cramer Mr. Davidson Mr. Graham Mr. Lucck Mr. Davis Mr. Hamilton Mr. Mackinnon Mr. Downer Mr. Howse Mr. Downer Mr. Howse Mr. Drummond Mr. Howsen Mr. Breite Mr. Erwin Mr. Halme Mr. Failes Mr. Killen Mr. Fairbairn Mr. Lawrence Mr. Cope Mr. Griffiths Mr. Costa Mr. R. W. Holt Mr. Crean Mr. Curtin Mr. Makin Mr. Ward Mr. McLeay Mr. Clause Mr. Roberton Mr. Fairbairn Mr. Lawrence Mr. Stokes

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

And then the House, at seventeen minutes to twelve o'clock midnight, adjourned until to-morrow at half-past two o'clock p.m.

Members Present.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Anthony*, Mr. Bland*, Mr. A. G. Cameron*, Mr. Daly*. Mr. Duthie, Mr. J. M. Fraser, Mr. Haworth*, Mr. H. V. Johnson, Mr. Kent Hughes, Mr. McColm, Mr. McEwen, Mr. Watkins and Mr. Webb.

* On leave.

A. A. TREGEAR,

Clerk of the House of Representatives.