THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

No. 5.

THURSDAY, 23RD FEBRUARY, 1956.

- 1. The House met, at half-past ten o'clock a.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable A. G. Cameron) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. DISTINGUISHED VISITOR.—Mr. Speaker informed the House that the Right Honorable S. G. Holland, C.H., Prime Minister of the Dominion of New Zealand, was within the precincts. The distinguished visitor thereupon, with the concurrence of honorable Members, was provided with a seat on the floor of the House.
- 3. Papers.—The following Paper was presented, by command of His Excellency the Governor-General—Commonwealth Telegraphs Agreement—Commonwealth Telecommunications Board—Fourth General Report, for 1954, and Statement of Accounts to 31st March, 1954.

Ordered to lie on the Table.

The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute—

Public Service Act—Appointments—Postmaster-General's Department—H. P. Hirschl, G. A. M. Hyde, E. Knuth, A. J. Seyler, A. W. Thies. River Murray Waters Act—River Murray Commission—Annual Report for year 1954-55.

4. Temporary Chairmen of Committees.—The following Warrant nominating Temporary Chairmen of Committees, pursuant to Standing Order No. 17, was laid upon the Table by Mr. Speaker:-

The Parliament of the Commonwealth.

House of Representatives.

Pursuant to the provisions of the Standing Order numbered 17, I do hereby nominate

George James Bowden, Esquire,

Charles William Jackson Falkinder, Esquire, Gordon Freeth, Esquire, William Robert Lawrence, Esquire,

Philip Ernest Lucock, Esquire,

John McLeay, Esquire, and Thomas Frank Timson, Esquire,

to act as Temporary Chairmen of Committees when requested so to do by the Chairman of

Given under my hand this twenty-third day of February, One thousand nine hundred and fifty-six.

ARCHIE G. CAMERON,

Speaker.

23rd February, 1956.

5. Address in Reply to the Governor-General's Speech.—The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question-That the following Address in Reply to the Speech of His Excellency the Governor-General be agreed to:-

MAY IT PLEASE YOUR EXCELLENCY-

We, the House of Representatives of the Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia, in Parliament assembled, desire to express our loyalty to our Most Gracious Sovereign, and to thank Your Excellency for the Speech which you have been pleased to address to Parliament-

Debate resumed.

Debate adjourned (Mr. Luchetti), and the resumption of the debate made an Order of the Day for the next sitting.

6. ADJOURNMENT.—Sir Eric Harrison (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved, That the House do now adjourn.

Debate ensued.

Mr. Ward addressing the House-

Closure.—Sir Eric Harrison moved, That the question be now put.

Question—That the question be now put—put.
The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. A. G. Cameron, in the Chair)—

| | | Ayes, 48. | | |
|------------------|------------------|-------------------|---------------|---------------|
| Mr. Adermann | Mr. Davis | Sir E. Harrison | Mr. Mackinnon | Mr. Timson |
| Mr. Aston | Mr. Dean | Mr. Hasluck | Mr. McColm | Mr. Townley |
| Mr. Bostock | Mr. Downer | Mr. Hulme | Mr. McEwen | Mr. Wentworth |
| Mr. Bowden | Mr. Drury | Mr. Jack | Mr. McLeay | Mr. Wheeler |
| Mr. Brimblecombe | Mr. Erwin | Mr. Joske | Mr. McMahon | Mr. Wight |
| Mr. Buchanan | Sir A. Fadden | Mr. Kent Hughes | Mr. Pearce | Mr. Wilson |
| Mr. Casey | Mr. Fairbairn | Mr. Killen | Mr. Roberton | • |
| Mr. Chaney | Mr. Fairhall | Mr. Lawrence | Mr. Snedden | Tellers: |
| Mr. Cleaver | Mr. Fox | Mr. Lindsay | Mr. Stokes | Mr. Opperman |
| Mr. Davidson | Mr. J. M. Fraser | Mr. Luck | Mr. Swartz | Mr. Turnbull |
| Noes, 24. | | | | |
| Mr. Beazley | Mr. Costa | Mr. R. W. Holt | Mr. Luchetti | Mr. Ward |
| Mr. Bird | Mr. Coutts | Mr. H. V. Johnson | Mr. McIvor | Mr. Whitlam |
| Mr. Bruce | Mr. Curtin | Mr. L. R. Johnson | Mr. Pollard | Tellers: |
| Mr. Cairns | Mr. Edmonds | Mr. Lawson | Mr. Stewart | Mr. Duthie |
| Mr. Clarey | Mr. Haylen | Mr. Leslie | Mr. Thompson | Mr. Webb |

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

And the question—That the House do now adjourn—was put accordingly, and passed.

And then the House, at twenty-five minutes to eleven o'clock p.m., adjourned until Tuesday next at half-past two o'clock p.m.

Members Present.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Allan, Mr. Anderson, Mr. Anthony, Mr. Barnard, Mr. Bate, Mr. Brand, Mr. C. R. Cameron, Mr. D. A. Cameron, Mr. Chambers, Mr. Cope, Mr. Daly*, Mr. Drummond, Mr. Failes, Mr. Galvin, Mr. Graham, Mr. Howson, Mr. Lucock, Mr. Makin, Sir Philip McBride, Mr. Minogue and Mr. Turner.

* On leave.

A. A. TREGEAR, Clerk of the House of Representatives.