THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

No. 78.

THURSDAY, 22ND SEPTEMBER, 1955.

- 1. The House met, at half-past ten o'clock a.m., pursuant to adjournment.—The Deputy Speaker (Mr. Adermann) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. Public Works Committee—Report. Mr. Cramer (Chairman) brought up the following Report from the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Public Works :-

Report relating to the proposed extension of Wharf Facilities at Darwin, Northern Territory. Ordered to be printed.

3. Discussion of Matter of Urgency—Housing—Commonwealth Recommendations.—Mr. Lemmon having proposed to Mr. Deputy Speaker that a definite matter of urgent public importance be submitted to the House for discussion, namely, "The decisions of the Government to recommend to the States increases in the interest rates charged under the Commonwealth-State Housing Agreement, to recommend to the States the abolition of the rental rebate system, to recommend to the States reduction in the money allocated to the State Housing Commission, and the consequent undermining of confidence in the building industry "-

Mr. Deputy Speaker called upon those Members who approved of the proposed discussion to rise in their

places, and more than the necessary number of Members rose accordingly.

Mr. Lemmon addressing the House-

Sir Eric Harrison (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved, That the Business of the Day be called on.

Question-put. The House divided (The Deputy Speaker, Mr. Adermann, in the Chair)-

| | | AYES, 48. | | |
|--|---|---|--|---|
| Mr. Allan Mr. Anthony Mr. Beale Mr. Bland Mr. Bostock Mr. Bowden Mr. Brimblecombe Mr. D. A. Cameron Mr. Cramer Mr. Davis | Mr. Dean Mr. Downer Mr. Drummond Mr. Drury Mr. Failes Mr. Fairbairn Mr. Fairhall Mr. Falkinder Mr. Francis Mr. Freeth | Sir E. Harrison Mr. Hasluck Mr. Haworth Mr. Holt Mr. Howse Mr. Hulme Mr. Jack Mr. Kent Hughes Mr. Lawrence Mr. Leslie | Mr. Lindsay Mr. Lucock Mr. Mackinnon Sir P. McBride Mr. McColm Mr. McLeay Mr. McMahon Mr. Opperman Mr. Osborne Sir E. Page | Mr. Pearce Mr. Swartz Mr. Townley Mr. Turnbull Mr. Turner Mr. Wentwortl Tellers: Mr. Davidson Mr. Gullett |
| Mr. Andrews Mr. Beazley Mr. Bird Mr. W. M. Bourke Mr. Bruce Mr. T. P. Burke Mr. Calwell Mr. C. R. Cameron | Mr. Clarey Mr. Coutts Mr. Crean Mr. Davies Mr. Drakeford Mr. Edmonds Mr. Fitzgerald Mr. A. D. Fraser | Nors, 34. Mr. Fuller Mr. Griffiths Mr. E. James Harrison Mr. James Mr. Johnson Mr. Joshua Mr. Lawson | Mr. Lemmon Mr. Luchetti Mr. Makin Mr. McLeod Mr. Peters Mr. Russell Mr. Thompson Mr. Watkins | Mr. Webb Tellers: Mr. Bryson Mr. Stewart |

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

22nd September, 1955.

4. Supply—Estimates 1955-56.—The House, according to Order, resolved itself into the Committee of Supply.

(In the Committee.)

Vote—" Department of the Interior, £3,633,000 "-

Vote—" Department of Works, £3,535,000"

Vote—" Department of Works, £0,505,000 "—
Vote—" Department of Civil Aviation, £7,719,000 "—
Vote—" Department of Trade and Customs, £3,905,000 "—
Vote—" Department of Health, £1,362,000 "—

Votes further debated.

Limitation of Debate.—At fifteen minutes to one o'clock p.m., the Temporary Chairman (Mr. Bowden) having called the attention of the Committee to the fact that the time allotted for the Votes had expired-

Question—That the Votes be agreed to—put and passed. Vote—" Department of Commerce and Agriculture, £1,952,000 "—

Vote—" Department of Social Services, £2,614,000"-

Vote--" Department of Shipping and Transport, £1,034,000"

Vote—" Department of Territories, £180,000"-

considered together.

Votes debated.

Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed; Mr. Bowden reported accordingly.

Resolved-That the House will, at the next sitting, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

5. Adjournment.—Sir Eric Harrison (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Question—put and passed.

And then the House, at five minutes to six o'clock p.m., adjourned until Tuesday next at half-past two o'clock p.m.

Members Present .-- All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Anderson, Mr. Bate, Mr. Brand, Mr. Brown, Mr. A. G. Cameron, Mr. Casey, Mr. Chambers, Mr. Clark, Mr. Cope, Mr. Curtin, Mr. Duthie, Sir Arthur Fadden, Mr. Galvin, Mr. Greenup, Mr. Hamilton, Mr. Haylen, Mr. Joske, Mr. Keon, Mr. McEwen, Mr. Minogue, Mr. Morgan, Mr. O'Connor, Mr. Pollard, Mr. Riordan, Mr. Roberton, Mr. Ward, Mr. Wheeler, Mr. Whitlam and Mr. Wight.

> A. A. TREGEAR, Clerk of the House of Representatives.