THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

No. 77.

WEDNESDAY, 21st SEPTEMBER, 1955.

- 1. The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.-The Deputy Speaker (Mr. Adermann) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. PAPERS.—Mr. Deputy Speaker presented, pursuant to Statute— Commonwealth Bank Act—Balance-sheets of Commonwealth Bank, Commonwealth Trading Bank and Commonwealth Savings Bank as at 30th June, 1955; together with Auditor-General's reports thereon.
 - The following Paper was presented, pursuant to Statute-Public Service Act-Appointment-Department of National Development-H. F. Boltz.
- 3. MESSAGE FROM THE SENATE.—A Message from the Senate was reported returning the following Bill without amendment :--

20th September, 1955-Message No. 91-Loan (Emergency Wheat Storage) 1955.

- 4. DISCUSSION OF MATTER OF URGENCY-COAL INDUSTRY .- Mr. Deputy Speaker announced that both the honorable Member for Hunter (Mr. James) and the honorable Member for Yarra (Mr. Keon) had presented to him written statements of definite matters of urgent public importance proposed to be submitted to the House for discussion to-day. In accordance with the provisions of Standing Order No. 106A, he had given priority to the matter proposed by Mr. James, namely, "The present critical position in the Coal Industry, threatening further and serious unemployment". Mr. Deputy Speaker called upon those Members who approved of the proposed discussion to rise in
 - their places, and more than the necessary number of Members having risen accordingly--
 - Mr. James addressed the House.
 - Discussion ensued.
 - Mr. Luchetti rising to address the House-
 - Sir Eric Harrison (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved, That the Business of the Day be called on.

Question—put.

The House divided (The Deputy Speaker, Mr. Adermann, in the Chair)---

		AYES, 51.		
Mr. Allan	Mr. Dean	Mr. Hasluck	Mr. Lucock	Mr. Townley
Mr. Anthony	Mr. Downer	Mr. Haworth	Mr. Mackinnon	Mr. Turnbull
Mr. Bate	Mr. Drummond	Mr. Holt	Sir P. McBride	Mr. Turner
Mr. Beale	Mr. Drury	Mr. Howse	Mr. McColm	Mr. Wentworth
Mr. Bostock	Mr. Failes	Mr. Hulme	Mr. McEwen	Mr. Wight
Mr. Bowden	Mr. Fairbairn	Mr. Jack	Mr. McLeay	6
Mr. Brand	Mr. Fairhall	Mr. Kent Hughes	Mr. McMahon	Tellers:
Mr. Brimblecombe	Mr. Falkinder	Mr. Lawrence	Mr. Opperman	
Mr. D. A. Cameron	Mr. Francis	Mr. Leslie	Sir E. Page	Mr. Davidson
Mr. Cramer	Mr. Freeth	Mr. Lindsay	Mr. Swartz	Mr. Gullett
Mr. Davis	Sir E. Harrison	Mr. Luck	Mr. Timson	
		Noes, 38.		
Mr. Andrews	Mr. Clarey	Mr. Fuller	Mr. Lawson	Mr. Stewart
Mr. Beazley	Mr. Costa	Mr. Griffiths	Mr. Lemmon	Mr. Thompson
Mr. Bird	Mr. Coutts	Mr. E. James	Mr. Luchetti	Mr. Ward
Mr. W. M. Bourke	Mr. Cremean	Harrison	Mr. Makin	Mr. Watkins
Mr. Bruce	Mr. Davies	Mr. James	Mr. McLeod	Mr. Webb
Mr. T. P. Burke	Mr. Drakeford	Mr. Johnson	Mr. Mullens	Tellers:
Mr. Calwell	Mr. Edmonds	Mr. Joshua	Mr. Petere	Mr. Daly
Mr. C. R. Cameron	Mr. A. D. Fraser	Mr. Keon	Mr. Russell	Mr. Fitzgerald
nd so it was resolved in the affirmative				

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

5. PRECEDENCE TO GOVERNMENT BUSINESS.—Sir Eric Harrison (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved, pursuant to notice, That Government Business shall take precedence over General Business to-morrow.

Question—put and passed.

6. SUPPLY-ESTIMATES 1955-56.—The House, according to Order, resolved itself into the Committee of Supply.

(In the Committee.) Vote—" Department of the Interior, £3,633,000 "— Vote—" Department of Works, £3,535,000 "— Vote—" Department of Civil Aviation, £7,719,000 "— Vote—" Department of Trade and Customs, £3,905,000 "— Vote-" Department of Health, £1,362,000 "— Votes further debated. Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed ; Mr. Bowden reported accordingly. Resolved—That the House will, at the next sitting, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

- 7. ADJOURNMENT.—Mr. Townley (Minister for Air) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Question—put and passed.
- And then the House, at one minute to eleven o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past ten o'clock a.m.
- MEMBERS PRESENT.--All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Anderson, Mr. Brown, Mr. A. G. Cameron, Mr. Casey, Mr. Chambers, Mr. Clark, Mr. Cope, Mr. Curtin, Mr. Duthie, Sir Arthur Fadden, Mr. Galvin, Mr. Greenup, Mr. Hamilton, Mr. Haylen, Mr. Joske, Mr. Minogue, Mr. Morgan, Mr. O'Connor, Mr. Pollard, Mr. Riordan, Mr. Roberton, Mr. Wheeler and Mr. Whitlam.

A. A. TREGEAR, Clerk of the House of Representatives.

314