### THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

## VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

# HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

No. 73.

#### TUESDAY, 13TH SEPTEMBER, 1955.

- 1. The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—The Deputy Speaker (Mr. Adermann) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. PRIVILEGE OFFENDERS-RELEASE FROM CUSTODY.-Mr. Deputy Speaker informed the House that Raymond Edward Fitzpatrick and Frank Courtney Browne were released from custody on Saturday, the 10th September, pursuant to the Resolution of the House of the 10th June.
- 3. Report of War Expenditure Committee—Tabling of Document—Ministerial Statement.— Mr. Menzies (Prime Minister), by leave, made a Ministerial Statement with reference to a certain report made to the Prime Minister by the Joint Parliamentary Committee on War Expenditure, and informed the House that, having re-examined the position, he was not prepared to table the document.

Mr. Evatt (Leader of the Opposition) and Mr. Keon, by leave, also made Statements in connexion with the matter.

Mr. W. M. Bourke asked leave to make a Statement concerning the matter. Objection being raised, leave not granted.

4. Papers.—The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute—

Lands Acquisition Act-

Land acquired for postal purposes-

Killoe, New South Wales. Reedy Creek South, South Australia.

Tamworth, New South Wales.

Return of land disposed of under Section 63.

Northern Territory (Administration) Act—Regulations—1955—No. 5 (Health Ordinance).
Public Service Act—Appointments—Department—
Health—R. C. Webb.

National Development—M. J. Cullen.

Seat of Government (Administration) Act-

Ordinance—1955—No. 6—Hire-purchase Agreements.

Regulations-1955-No. 8 (Hire-purchase Agreements Ordinance).

5. Public Works Committee—Report.—Mr. Cramer (Chairman) brought up the following Report from the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Public Works:—

Report relating to the proposed erection of a Court House at Darwin, Northern Territory.

Ordered to be printed.

6. Proposed Discussion of Matter of Urgency-Deputy Speaker's Ruling.-Mr. Deputy Speaker informed the House that the honorable Member for Darebin (Mr. Andrews) had proposed to him that the repeal of the penal provisions of the Conciliation and Arbitration Act be submitted to the House for discussion as a definite matter of urgent public importance. Mr. Deputy Speaker then ruled that as judgment on a relevant subject was pending in the High Court, the matter was sub judice and was out of order.

Dissent from Ruling.-Mr. Keon having handed in, in writing, an objection to the Ruling, moved, That the Ruling be dissented from,

Debate ensued.

Question-put.

The House divided (The Deputy Speaker, Mr. Adermann, in the Chair)-

		Ayes, 33.		
Mr. Andrews	Mr. Costa	Mr. Galvin	Mr. Lawson	Mr. Thompson
Mr. Beazley	Mr. Coutts	Mr. E. James	Mr. Luchetti	Mr. Ward
Mr. Bird	Mr. Cremean	Harrison	Mr. McLeod	Mr. Watkins
Mr. W. M. Bourke	Mr. Curtin	Mr. Haylen	Mr. Mullens	Mr. Webb
Mr. Bruce	Mr. Davies	Mr. Johnson	Mr. Peters	Tellers:
Mr. Bryson	Mr. A. D. Fraser	Mr. Joshua	Mr. Russell	Mr. Daly
Mr. Calwell	Mr. Fuller	Mr. Keon	Mr. Stewart	Mr. Fitzgerald
	2,2,1			
		Noes, 55.		
Mr. Allan	Mr. Dean	Mr. Haworth	Sir P. McBride	Mr. Turnbull
Mr. Anthony	Mr. Downer	Mr. Holt	Mr. McColm	Mr. Turner
Mr. Bate	Mr. Drummond	Mr. Howse	Mr. McEwen	Mr. Wentworth
Mr. Beale	Mr. Drury	Mr. Hulme	Mr. McMahon	Mr. Wheeler
Mr. Bland	Mr. Fairbairn	Mr. Jack	Mr. Opperman	Mr. Wight
Mr. Bostock	Mr. Fairhall	Mr. Joske	Mr. Osborne	Ü
Mr. Bowden	Mr. Falkinder	Mr. Kent Hughes	Sir E. Page	Tellers:
Mr. Brand	Mr. Francis	Mr. Lawrence	Mr. Pearce	
Mr. Brimblecombe	Mr. Freeth	Mr. Lindsay	Mr. Roberton	Mr. Davidson
Mr. Brown	Mr. Hamilton	Mr. Luck	Mr. Swartz	Mr. Gullett
Mr. Cramer	Sir E. Harrison	Mr. Lucock	Mr. Timson	
Mr. Davis	Mr. Hasluck	Mr. Mackinuon	Mr. Townley	

And so it was negatived.

7. Public Works Committee—Reference of Work—Plant and Soils Laboratory for the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organization, St. Lucia, Queensland.—Mr. Kent Hughes (Minister for Works) moved, pursuant to notice, That, in accordance with the provisions of the *Public Works Committee Act* 1913–1953, the following proposed work be referred to the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Public Works for investigation and report, namely:—Erection of a New Plant and Soils Laboratory for the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organization at St. Lucia, Queensland.

Mr. Kent Hughes laid on the Table plans in connexion with the proposed work.

Debate ensued.

Question—put and passed.

8. Supply—Budget Debate.—The House, according to Order, resolved itself into the Committee of Supply.

#### (In the Committee.)

General debate resumed on the question, That the first item in the Estimates, under Division No. 1—Senate—namely—

Salaries and Allowances .. .. £27,700

be agreed to, and on the Amendment moved thereto by Mr. Evatt (Leader of the Opposition), viz.:—That the first item be reduced by £1.

Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed; Mr. Bowden reported accordingly.

Resolved-That the House will, at the next sitting, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

9. Adjournment.—Sir Eric Harrison (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved, That the House do now adjourn.

Debate ensued.

Mr. Ward addressing the House-

Closure.—Sir Eric Harrison moved, That the question be now put.

Question—That the question be now put—put.

The House divided (The Deputy Speaker, Mr. Adermann, in the Chair)-

		AYES, 47.		
Mr. Allan	Mr. Downer	Mr. Holt	Mr. Mackinnon	Mr. Turnbull
Mr. Bate	Mr. Drummond	Mr. Howse	Mr. McColm	Mr. Turner
Mr. Beale	Mr. Drury	Mr. Hulme	Mr. McEwen	Mr. Wentworth
Mr. Bostock	Mr. Fairbairn	Mr. Jack	Mr. McMahon	Mr. Wheeler
Mr. Bowden	Mr. Fairhall	Mr. Joske	Mr. Osborne	Mr. Wight
Mr. Brand	Mr. Freeth	Mr. Kent Hughes	Mr. Pearce	S
Mr. Brimblecombe	Mr. Hamilton	Mr. Lawrence	Mr. Roberton	Tellers:
Mr. Cramer	Sir E. Harrison	Mr. Lindsay	Mr. Swartz	
Mr. Davis	Mr. Hasluck	Mr. Luck	Mr. Timson	Mr. Davidson
Mr. Dean	Mr. Haworth	Mr. Lucock	Mr. Townley	Mr. Opperman

#### 13th September, 1955.

Noes, 28.						
Mr. Andrews	Mr. Calwell	Mr. Curtin	Mr. Joshua	Mr. Ward		
Mr. Barnard	Mr. Chambers	Mr. Fitzgerald	Mr. Keon	Mr. Watkins		
Mr. Beazley	Mr. Clarey	Mr. Fuller	Mr. Luchetti			
Mr. Bird	Mr. Costa	Mr. Galvin	Mr. Peters	Tellers:		
Mr. W. M. Bourke	Mr. Crean	Mr. Griffiths	Mr. Stewart	Mr. Bryson		
Mr. Bruce	Mr. Cremean	Mr. Haylen	Mr. Thompson	Mr. Daly		

And so it was resolved in the affirmative. And the question—That the House do now adjourn—was put accordingly, and passed.

And then the House, at eight minutes to eleven o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past two o'clock p.m.

Members Present.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Anderson, Mr. T. P. Burke, Mr. A. G. Cameron, Mr. C. R. Cameron, Mr. D. A. Cameron, Mr. Casey, Mr. Clark, Mr. Cope, Mr. Duthie, Sir Arthur Fadden, Mr. Failes, Mr. Greenup, Mr. James, Mr. Lemmon, Mr. Leslie, Mr. Makin, Mr. McLeay, Mr. Minogue, Mr. Morgan, Mr. O'Connor, Mr. Pollard, Mr. Riordan and Mr. Whitlam.

A. A. TREGEAR,
Clerk of the House of Representatives.