THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

No. 71.

WEDNESDAY, 7TH SEPTEMBER, 1955.

- 1. The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—The Deputy Speaker (Mr. Adermann) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. MINISTERIAL ARRANGEMENTS.—Mr. Menzies (Prime Minister) informed the House that, during the absence of Sir Arthur Fadden and Mr. Casey, he would act as Treasurer, Sir Philip McBride (Minister for Defence) would act as Minister for External Affairs, Senator Spicer (Attorney-General) would act as the Minister in charge of the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organization and would be represented in this House by Sir Philip McBride, and Mr. Beale (Minister for Supply) would represent the Minister for National Development.
- 3. Papers.—The following Paper was presented, by command of His Excellency the Governor-General—Tariff Board—Report—Asbestos Fibre.

Ordered to lie on the Table.

The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute-

Lands Acquisition Act—Land acquired for Department of Civil Aviation purposes--Armidale, New South Wales.

Public Service Act—Appointment—Department of National Development—R. Szentes.

4. PRECEDENCE TO GOVERNMENT BUSINESS.—Sir Eric Harrison (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved, pursuant to notice, That Government Business shall take precedence over General Business to-morrow.

Debate ensued.

Question-put and passed.

5. Supply—Budget Debate.—The House, according to Order, resolved itself into the Committee of Supply.

(In the Committee.)

General debate resumed on the question, That the first item in the Estimates, under Division No. 1—Senate—namely—

Salaries and Allowances .. £27,700

be agreed to, and on the Amendment moved thereto by Mr. Evatt (Leader of the Opposition), viz.:—That the first item be reduced by £1.

Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed; Mr. Bowden reported accordingly.

Resolved-That the House will, at the next sitting, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

6. ADJOURNMENT.—Sir Eric Harrison (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved, That the House do now adjourn.

Debate ensued.

Several Members rising to address the House-

Closure.—Sir Eric Harrison moved, That the question be now put.

Question- That the question be now put-put.

F.1759/55.

The House divided (The Deputy Speaker, Mr. Adermann, in the Chair)-

		Ayes, 51.		
Mr. Allan	Mr. Dean	Mr. Hasluck	Mr. Lucock	Mr. Townley
Mr. Anthony	Mr. Downer	Mr. Haworth	Mr. Mackinnon	Mr. Turnbull
Mr. Bate	Mr. Drummond	Mr. Holt	Sir P. McBride	Mr. Turner
Mr. Beale	Mr. Drury	Mr. Howse	Mr. McLeay	Mr. Wheeler
Mr. Bostock	Mr. Failes	Mr. Hulme	Mr. McMahon	Mr. Wight
Mr. Bowden	Mr. Fairbairn	Mr. Jack	Mr. Opperman	· ·
Mr. Brand	Mr. Fairhall	Mr. Joske	Mr. Osborne	Tellers:
Mr. Brimblecombe	Mr. Francis	Mr. Lawrence	Mr. Pearce	
Mr. D. A. Cameron	Mr. Freeth	Mr. Leslie	Mr. Roberton	Mr. Davidson
Mr. Cramer	Mr Hamilton	Mr. Lindsay	Mr. Swartz	Mr. Gullett
Mr. Davis	Sir E. Harrison	Mr. Luck	Mr. Timson	
		Noes, 36.		
Mr. Andrews	Mr. Costa	Mr. Fuller	Mr. Minogue	Mr. Ward
Mr. Beazley	Mr. Coutts	Mr. Galvin	Mr. Mullens	Mr. Webb
Mr. Bird	Mr. Crean	Mr. Joshua	Mr. O'Connor	
Mr. Bruce	Mr. Cremean	Mr. Keon	Mr. Peters	Tellers:
Mr. T. P. Burke	Mr. Curtin	Mr. Lemmon	Mr. Pollard	
Mr. Calwell	Mr. Davies	Mr. Luchetti	Mr. Riordan	Mr. Bryson
Mr. C. R. Cameron	Mr. Fitzgerald	Mr. Makin	Mr. Stewart	Mr. Daly
Mr. Clarey	Mr. A. D. Fraser	Mr. McLeod	Mr. Thompson	•

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

And the question—That the House do now adjourn—was put accordingly, and passed.

And then the House, at twenty-four minutes past eleven o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past ten o'clock a.m.

Members Present.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. A. G. Cameron, Mr. Casey, Mr. Clark, Sir Arthur Fadden, Mr. Falkinder, Mr. Greenup, Mr. E. James Harrison, Mr. Haylen, Mr. James, Mr. McEwen, Mr. Morgan and Mr. Whitlam.

A. A. TREGEAR,

Clerk of the House of Representatives.