THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE REPRESENTATIVES. OF

No. 20.

THURSDAY, 16TH SEPTEMBER, 1954.

- 1. The House met, at half-past ten o'clock a.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable A. G. Cameron) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. Papers.—The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute—

Lands Acquisition Act-Land acquired for-

Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organization purposes-Griffith, New South Wales.

Postal purposes-

Berrigan, New South Wales.

Lower Portland, New South Wales. Table Top, New South Wales.

3. Message from the Senate-Sugar Agreement Bill 1954.-Mr. Speaker announced the receipt of the following Message from the Senate:-

The Senate has passed a Bill for "An Act to approve an Agreement amending the Agreement approved by the Sugar Agreement Act 1951", and transmits the same to the House of Representatives for its concurrence.

A. M. McMullin,

The Senate,

Canberra, 15th September, 1954.

President.

Sir Eric Harrison (Minister representing the Minister for Trade and Customs) moved, That the Bill be now read a first time.

Question—put and passed.—Bill read a first time.

Ordered—That the second reading be made an Order of the Day for the next sitting.

- 4. Postponement of Order of the Day. Ordered—That Order of the Day No. 1, Government Business, be postponed until a later hour this day.
- 5. Supply—Estimates 1954-55.—The House, according to Order, resolved itself into the Committee of Supply.

(In the Committee.)

Defence Services—

Vote—" Department of Defence, £715,000 "—
Vote—" Department of the Navy, £48,165,000 "—
Vote—" Department of the Army, £72,185,000 "—
Vote—" Department of Air, £57,406,000 "—
Vote—" Department of Supply, £14,960,000 "—
Vote—" Department of Defence Production, £6,479,000 "—
Vote—" Civil Defence, £90,000 "—

Votes further debated.

Limitation of Debate.—At fifteen minutes to nine o'clock p.m., the Chairman having called the attention of the Committee to the fact that the time allotted for the Votes had expired-

Question—That the Votes be agreed to—put and passed.

Vote-" Miscellaneous Services, £22,199,000"-

Vote—" Refunds of Revenue, £22,000,000"

Vote—" Advance to the Treasurer, £16,000,000"-

Vote—" Bounties and Subsidies, £20,250,000"-

Vote-" War and Repatriation Services, £17,593,000"-

considered together.

Votes debated.

Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed; Mr. Adermann reported accordingly.

Resolved-That the House will, at the next sitting, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

F.2749.

6. ADJOURNMENT.—Sir Eric Harrison (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved, That the House

do now adjourn. Mr. Ward rising to address the House-

Closure.—Sir Eric Harrison moved, That the question be now put.

Question—That the question be now put—put.

The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. A. G. Cameron, in the Chair)—

		AYES, 42.		
Mr. Adermann Mr. Allan Mr. Bate Mr. Bostock Mr. Bowden Mr. Brown Mr. D. A. Cameron Mr. Cramer Mr. Downer	Mr. Drummond Mr. Drury Mr. Fairbairn Mr. Falkinder Mr. Francis Mr. Freeth Mr. Hamilton Sir E. Harrison Mr. Haworth	Mr. Howse Mr. Hulme Mr. Jack Mr. Joske Mr. Kent Hughes Mr. Lawrence Mr. Lindsay Mr. Luck Mr. Mackinnon	Mr. McColm Mr. McEwen Mr. McLeay Mr. McMahon Mr. Osborne Mr. Pearce Mr. Swartz Mr. Timson Mr. Townley	Mr. Turner Mr. Wentworth Mr. Wheeler Mr. Wight Tellers Mr. Davidson Mr. Gullett
Mr. Anderson Mr. Andrews Mr. Barnard Mr. Bird Mr. Bryson Mr. Calwell	Mr. Costa Mr. Coutts Mr. Cremean Mr. Curtin Mr. Duthie Mr. Greenup	Noes, 26. Mr. Haylen Mr. Joshua Mr. Keon Mr. Luchetti Mr. Makin Mr. McLeod	Mr. O'Connor Mr. Pollard Mr. Stewart Mr. Thompson Mr. Ward	Mr. Whitlam Tellers: Mr. Daly Mr. Galvin

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

And the question—That the House do now adjourn—was put accordingly, and passed.

And then the House, at three minutes to eleven o'clock p.m., adjourned until Tuesday next at half-past two o'clock p.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Beale, Mr. Beazley, Mr. C. R. Cameron, Mr. Casey, Mr. Chambers, Mr. Clarey, Mr. Clark, Mr. Davies, Mr. Drakeford*, Mr. Evatt, Mr. Failes, Mr. Fairhall, Mr. E. James Harrison, Mr. Holt, Mr. James, Mr. Leslie, Mr. Menzies, Mr. Nelson, Mr. Opperman, Mr. Riordan, Mr. Roberton, Mr. Russell and Mr. Wall Mr. Webb.

• On leave.

F. C. GREEN, Clerk of the House of Representatives.