THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

REPRESENTATIVES. HOUSE OF

No. 17.

THURSDAY, 9TH SEPTEMBER, 1954.

- 1. The House met, at half-past ten o'clock a.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable A. G. Cameron) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. DISTINGUISHED VISITOR.—Mr. Speaker informed the House that the Right Honorable C. R. Attlee, O.M., C.H., M.P., Leader of the Opposition in the United Kingdom House of Commons, was within the precincts. The distinguished visitor thereupon, with the concurrence of honorable Members, was provided with a seat on the floor of the House.
- 3. Papers.—The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute—Public Service Arbitration Act—Determinations—1954—

No. 35—Clothing and Allied Trades Union of Australia and others. No. 36—Commonwealth Telephone and Phonogram Officers' Association.

No. 37—Federated Public Service Assistants' Association.

No. 38—Amalgamated Postal Workers' Union of Australia.

No. 39-North Australian Workers' Union.

No. 40—Commonwealth Public Service Artisans' Association.

4. Supply—Estimates 1954-55.—The House, according to Order, resolved itself into the Committee of Supply.

(In the Committee.)

Remainder of Vote-" Parliament, £743,000

Vote-" Prime Minister's Department, £2,164,000"-

Vote-" Department of External Affairs, £1,714,000"-

Vote—" Department of the Treasury, £7,911,000"— Vote—" Attorney-General's Department, £1,407,000"—

Debate resumed on the Votes, and on the Amendment moved thereto by Mr. Calwell, viz.:—That the amount of the Vote—"Department of the Treasury, £7,911,000"—be reduced by £1.

Limitation of Debate.—At noon, the Chairman having called the attention of the Committee to the fact that the time allotted for the Votes had expired—

Question—That the Vote proposed to be reduced be so reduced—put. The Committee divided (The Chairman, Mr. Adermann, in the Chair)—

		Ayrs, 46.				
Mr. Anderson	Mr. Costa	Mr. Galvin	Mr. Luchetti	Mr. Stewart		
Mr. Andrews	Mr. Coutts	Mr. Greenup	Mr. Makin	Mr. Thompson		
Mr. Barnard	Mr. Crean	Mr. E. James	Mr. McLeod	Mr. Ward		
Mr. Bird	Mr. Cremean	Harrison	Mr. Minogue	Mr. Webb		
Mr. W. M. Bourke	Mr. Curtin	Mr. Haylen	Mr. Morgan	Mr. Whitlam		
Mr. Bryson	Mr. Duthie	Mr. Johnson	Mr. Mullens			
Mr. T. P. Burke	Mr. Edmonds	Mr. Joshua	Mr. O'Connor	Tellers:		
Mr. Calwell	Mr. Fitzgerald	Mr. Keon	Mr. Peters			
Mr. C. R. Cameron	Mr. A. D. Fraser	Mr. Lawson	Mr. Pollard	Mr. Daly		
Mr. Clark	Mr. Fuller	Mr. Lemmon	Mr. Riordan	Mr. Sheehan		
Noes, 53.						
Mr. Allan	Mr. Davis	Sir E. Harrison	Mr. Luck	Mr. Timson		
Mr. Anthony	Mr. Dean	Mr. Hasluck	Mr. Lucock	Mr. Townley		
Mr. Bate	Mr. Drummond	Mr. Haworth	Mr. Mackinnon	Mr. Turnbull		
Mr. Beale	Mr. Drury	Mr. Howse	Sir P. McBride	Mr. Turner		
Mr. Bland	Sir A. Fadden	Mr. Hulme	Mr. McColm	Mr. Wentworth		
Mr. Bostock	Mr. Failes	Mr. Jack	Mr. McLeay	Mr. Wheeler		
Mr. Bowden	Mr. Fairbairn	Mr. Joske	Mr. McMahon	Mr. Wight		
Mr. Brand	Mr. Falkinder	Mr. Kent Hughes	Mr. Osborne	G		
Mr. Brimblecombe	Mr. Francis	Mr. Lawrence	Sir E. Page	Tellers:		
Mr. D. A. Cameron	Mr. Freeth	Mr. Leslie	Mr. Pearce	Mr. Davidson		
Mr. Cramer	Mr. Hamilton	Mr. Lindsay	Mr. Swartz	Mr. Gullett		
1 14						

And so it was negatived.

Question—That the Votes be agreed to—put and passed.

Vote-" Department of the Interior, £3,513,000"

Vote—" Department of Works, £2,503,000"

Vote-" Department of Civil Aviation, £11,082,000"-

Vote—" Department of Trade and Customs, £3,457,000"—

Vote—" Department of Health, £1,252,000" considered together.

Votes debated.

Limitation of Debate.—At nine o'clock p.m., the Chairman having called the attention of the Committee to the fact that the time allotted for the Votes had expired—

Question—That the Votes be agreed to—put and passed.

Vote—" Department of Commerce and Agriculture, £1,678,000"—
Vote—" Department of Social Services, £2,439,000"—
Vote—" Department of Shipping and Transport, £946,000"—
Vote—" Department of Territories, £165,000"—

considered together.

Votes debated.

Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed; Mr. Adermann reported accordingly.

Resolved—That the House will, at the next sitting, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

5. Paper.—Mr. Speaker presented, pursuant to Statute-

Audit Act—Finance—Treasurer's Statement of Receipts and Expenditure for year 1953-54, accompanied by the Report of the Auditor-General.

Ordered to be printed.

6. ADJOURNMENT.—Sir Eric Harrison (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved, That the House do now adjourn.

Mr. Whitlam rising to address the House-

Closure.—Sir Eric Harrison moved, That the question be now put.

Question—That the question be now put—put.

The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. A. G. Cameron, in the Chair)—

		Ayrs, 49.		
Mr. Adermann	Mr. Davis	Mr. Freeth	Mr. Leslie	Mr. Pearce
Mr. Allan	Mr. Dean	Mr. Hamilton	Mr. Lindsay	Mr. Swartz
Mr. Bate	Mr. Downer	Sir E. Harrison	Mr. Luck	Mr. Timson
Mr. Beale	Mr. Drummond	Mr. Hasluck	Mr. Mackinnon	Mr. Townley
Mr. Bland	Mr. Drury '	Mr. Haworth	Mr. McColm	Mr. Turner
Mr. Bostock	Sir A. Fadden	Mr. Hulme	Mr. McEwen	Mr. Wentworth
Mr. Bowden	Mr. Failes	Mr. Jack	Mr. McLeay	Mr. Wight
Mr. Brimblecombe	Mr. Fairbairn	Mr. Joske	Mr. McMahon	Tellers:
Mr. D. A. Cameron	Mr. Falkinder	Mr. Kent Hughes	Mr. Osborne	Mr. Davidson
Mr. Cramer	Mr. Francis	Mr. Lawrence	Sir E. Page	Mr. Gullett
		Noes, 36.		
Mr. Anderson	Mr. Coutts	Mr. Galvin	Mr. Lemmon	Mr. Ward
Mr. Barnard	Mr. Crean	Mr. Griffiths	Mr. Luchetti	Mr. Webb
Mr. Bird	Mr. Cremean	Mr. E. James	Mr. Makin	Mr. Whitlam
Mr. W. M. Bourke	Mr. Curtin	Harrison	Mr. McLeod	
Mr. Bruce	Mr. Duthie	Mr. Haylen	Mr. O'Connor	Tellers:
Mr. T. P. Burke	Mr. Fitzgerald	Mr. Johnson	Mr. Pollard	
Mr. Calwell	Mr. A. D. Fraser	Mr. Joshua	Mr. Riordan	Mr. C. R. Cameron
Mr. Costa	Mr. Fuller	Mr. Keon	Mr. Stewart	Mr. Daly

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

And the question—That the House do now adjourn—was put accordingly, and passed.

And then the House, at six minutes past eleven o'clock p.m., adjourned until Tuesday next at half-past two o'clock p.m.

Members Present.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Beazley, Mr. Brown, Mr. Casey, Mr. Chambers, Mr. Davies, Mr. Drakeford*, Mr. Fairhall, Mr. Holt, Mr. James, Mr. Opperman, Mr. Roberton and Mr. Russell.

• On leave.

F. C. GREEN, Clerk of the House of Representatives.