## THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

# VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

#### REPRESENTATIVES. HOUSE OF

#### No. 13.

### WEDNESDAY, 1st SEPTEMBER, 1954.

- 1. The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable A. G. Cameron) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. Papers.—The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute—Public Service Act—Appointments—Department—

Commerce and Agriculture—F. J. Lesock. Territories—W. B. Hitchcock.

Works—M. L. Bellairs, C. E. Miller, D. P. Smith.

- 3. Leave of Absence to Member.-Mr. Calwell moved, That leave of absence for one month be given to the honorable Member for Maribyrnong (Mr. Drakeford), owing to his absence from Australia. Question—put and passed.
- 4. Supply—Budget Debate.—The House, according to Order, resolved itself into the Committee of Supply.

(In the Committee.)

General debate resumed on the question, That the first item in the Estimates, under Division No. 1-Senate—namely

Salaries and allowances

be agreed to, and on the Amendment moved thereto by Mr. Calwell, viz. :- That the first item be reduced by £1.

Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed; Mr. Adermann reported accordingly.

Resolved-That the House will, at the next sitting, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

5. Adjournment.—Sir Eric Harrison (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved, That the House do now adjourn,

Debate ensued.

Mr. Calwell rising to address the House-

Closure.—Sir Eric Harrison moved, That the question be now put.

Question—That the question be now put—put.
The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. A. G. Cameron, in the Chair)—

AYES, 53.				
Mr. Adermann	Mr. Cramer	Mr. Hamilton	Mr. Lindsay	Mr. Timson
Mr. Allan	Mr. Davis	Sir E. Harrison	Mr. Lucock	Mr. Townley
Mr. Bate	Mr. Dean	Mr. Hasluck	Mr. Mackinnon	Mr. Turnbull
Mr. Beale	Mr. Downer	Mr. Haworth	Sir P. McBride	Mr. Turner
Mr. Bland	Mr. Drummond	Mr. Howse	Mr. McColm	Mr. Wentworth
Mr. Bostock	Mr. Drury	Mr. Hulme	Mr. McEwen	Mr. Wheeler
Mr. Bowden	Sir A. Fadden	Mr. Jack	Mr. McLeay	Mr. Wight
Mr. Brand	Mr. Failes	Mr. Joske	Mr. McMahon	•
Mr. Brimblecombe	Mr. Fairbairn	Mr. Kent Hughes	Mr. Osborne	Tellers:
Mr. Brown	Mr. Fairhall	Mr. Lawrence	Mr. Pearce	Mr. Davidson
Mr. D. A. Cameron	Mr. Francis	Mr. Leslie	Mr. Swartz	Mr. Gullett
Noes, 43.				
Mr. Anderson	Mr. Clarey	Mr. Fuller	Mr. Luchetti	Mr. Russell
Mr. Andrews	Mr. Clark	Mr. Galvin	Mr. Makin	Mr. Stewart
Mr. Barnard	Mr. Costa	Mr. Greenup	Mr. McLeod	Mr. Thompson
Mr. Bird	Mr. Coutts	Mr. Griffiths	Mr. Minogue	Mr. Ward
Mr. W. M. Bourke	Mr. Crean	Mr. Haylen	Mr. Morgan	Mr. Webb
Mr. Bruce	Mr. Cremean	Mr. Joshua	Mr. O'Connor	
Mr. Bryson	Mr. Curtin	Mr. Keon	Mr. Peters	Tellers:
Mr. T. P. Burke	Mr. Duthie	Mr. Lawson	Mr. Pollard	Mr. Daly
Mr. Calwell	Mr. A. D. Fraser	Mr. Lemmon	Mr. Riordan	Mr. Sheehan

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

And the question—That the House do now adjourn—was put accordingly, and passed.

And then the House, at twenty-five minute	s past eleven o'clock p.m.	, adjourned until to-morrow	at half-past
ten o'clock a.m.			

Members Present.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Beazley\*, Mr. C. R. Cameron, Mr. Casey, Mr. Davies, Mr. Drakeford\*, Mr. Evatt, Mr. Freeth, Mr. E. James Harrison, Mr. Holt, Mr. James, Mr. Mullens, Mr. Opperman, Mr. Roberton and Mr. Watkins.

• On leave.

F. C. GREEN,
Clerk of the House of Representatives.