THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

REPRESENTATIVES. HOUSE OF

No. 2.

WEDNESDAY, 11TH NOVEMBER, 1953.

- 1. The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable A. G. Cameron) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. Temporary Chairmen of Committees.—The following Warrant nominating Temporary Chairmen of Committees, pursuant to Standing Order No. 17, was laid upon the Table by Mr. Speaker:—

The Parliament of the Commonwealth.

House of Representatives.

Pursuant to the provisions of the Standing Order numbered 17, I do hereby nominate-

George James Bowden, Esquire, Thomas Patrick Burke, Esquire,

John McLeay, Esquire, Albert Victor Thompson, Esquire,

Thomas Frank Timson, Esquire, and
David Oliver Watkins, Esquire,
to act as Temporary Chairmen of Committees when requested so to do by the Chairman of

Given under my hand this eleventh day of November, One thousand nine hundred and fifty-three.

ARCHIE G. CAMERON,

Speaker.

3. Papers.—Mr. Speaker presented, pursuant to Statute-

Audit Act-Finance-Supplementary Report of the Auditor-General upon other accounts for the year 1952-53.

The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute—

Lands Acquisition Act—Land acquired for—

Defence purposes—Surrey Hills, Victoria.

Postal purposes—Benalla, Victoria.

Public Service Act—Appointments—Department of National Development—J. H. Lord, D. A. White.

Public Service Arbitration Act—Determination—1953—No. 69—Australian Third Division Telegraphists and Postal Clerks' Union and others.

- 4. ALTERATION OF HOUR OF NEXT MEETING .-- Mr. Eric J. Harrison (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved, That the House, at its rising, adjourn until ten o'clock a.m. to-morrow. Question—put and passed.
- 5. ADDRESS IN REPLY TO THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL'S SPEECH.--The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question-That the following Address in Reply to the Speech of His Excellency the Governor-General be agreed to :--

MAY IT PLEASE YOUR EXCELLENCY--

We, the House of Representatives of the Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia, in Parliament assembled, desire to express our loyalty to our Most Gracious Sovereign, and to thank Your Excellency for the Speech which you have been pleased to address to Parliament.

Mr. Holt (Minister for Labour and National Service) moved, That the debate be now adjourned.

Question—That the debate be now adjourned—put and passed.

Ordered—That the resumption of the debate be made an Order of the Day for the next sitting.

6. ADJOURNMENT. Mr. Eric J. Harrison (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved, That the House do now adjourn.

Debate ensued.

Mr. Duthie addressing the House-

Closure.—Mr. Eric J. Harrison moved, That the question be now put.

F.4941.

11th November, 1953.

Question—That the question be now put—put. The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. A. G. Cameron, in the Chair)—

		AYES, 50.		
Mr. Adermann Mr. Beale	Mr. Davis Mr. Downer	Mr. Eric J. Harrison	Mr. Leslie Mr. Lucock	Mr. Towntey Mr. Turnbull
Mr. Berry	Mr. Drury	Mr. Hasluck	Mr. Mackinnon	Mr. Turner
Mr. Bostock	Mr. Failes	Mr. Haworth	Sir P. McBride	Mr. Wentworth
Mr. Bowden	Mr. Fairbairn	Mr. Holt	Mr. McColm	Mr. Wheeler
Mr. Brimblecombe	Mr. Fairhall	Mr. Hulme	Mr. McMahon	
Mr. Brown	Mr. Falkinder	Mr. Jack	Mr. Opperman	Tellers:
Mr. D. A. Cameron	Mr. Francis	Mr. Joske	Mr. Osborne	
Mr. Casev	Mr. Graham	Mr. Kekwick	Mr. Pearce	Mr. Davidson
Mr. Corser	Mr. Gravden	Mr. Kent Hughes	Mr. Roberton	Mr. Gullett
Mr. Cramer	Mr. Hamilton	Mr. Lawrence	Mr. Swartz	
		Noes, 28.		
Mr. Andrews	Mr. Clark	Mr. Ewert	Mr. McLeod	Mr. Ward
Mr. Bryson	Mr. Costa	Mr. Fitzgerald	Mr. Minogue	Mr. Watkins
Mr. T. P. Burke	Mr. Crean	Mr. Griffiths	Mr. Peters	
Mr. Calwell	Mr. Cremean	Mr. Haylen .	Mr. Pollard	Tellers:
Mr. C. R. Cameron	Mr. Curtin	Mr. Joshua	Mr. Riordan	Mr. Daly
Mr. Clarey	Mr. Duthie	Mr. Keon	Mr. Stewart	Mr. Fuller

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

And the question—That the House do now adjourn—was put accordingly, and passed.

And then the House, at twenty-eight minutes to twelve o'clock midnight, adjourned until to-morrow at ten o'clock a.m.

Members Present.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Dean, Mr. Howse, Mr. James, Mr. Johnson, Mr. Luck, Mr. Nelson, Mr. Timson, Mr. Treloar, Mr. Wight and Mr. Wilson.

F. C. GREEN,
Clerk of the House of Representatives.