THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

REPRESENTATIVES. HOUSE OF

No. 159.

THURSDAY, 1st OCTOBER, 1953.

- 1. The House met, at ten o'clock a.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable A. G. Cameron) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. ACCIDENT AT LONG RANGE WEAPONS ESTABLISHMENT, WOOMERA—MINISTERIAL STATEMENT.—Mr. Beale (Minister for Supply), by leave, made a Ministerial Statement regarding an accident which occurred recently at the Long Range Weapons Establishment at Woomera.
- 3. Papers.—The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute—

Northern Territory (Administration) Act-

Ordinances-1953-

No. 1—Dentists Registration.
No. 2—Prisons.
No. 3—Landlord and Tenant (Control of Rents).

No. 4—Crown Lands.

No. 5—Minerals (Acquisition). No. 6—Mining.

No. 7—Aboriginals.

No. 8—Control of Roads. No. 9—Aboriginals (No. 2).

No. 10-Licensing.

Regulations-1953-

No. 1 (Supply of Services Ordinance).

No. 2 (Brands Ordinance).

War Service Homes Act—Annual Report for year 1952-53.

- 4. Suspension of Standing Order No. 104.—Mr. Eric J. Harrison (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved, pursuant to notice, That Standing Order No. 104 (eleven o'clock rule) be suspended for the remainder of the Session. Question—put and passed.
- 5. Message from the Senate.—Pay-roll Tax Assessment Bill 1953.—Mr. Speaker announced the receipt of the following Message from the Senate:-

Message No. 232.

The Senate returns to the House of Representatives the Bill for "An Act to amend the Pay-roll Tax Assessment Act 1941-1942, as amended by the Taxation Administration Act 1953,", and acquaints the House that the Senate has agreed to the Bill without amendment.

The Senate,

Canberra, 30th September, 1953.

President.

6. Supply—Estimates 1953-54.—The House, according to Order, resolved itself into the Committee of Supply.

(In the Committee.)

Defence Services-

Vote—" Department of Defence, £712,000"-

Vote— Department of Defence, £112,000 —
Vote— Department of the Navy, £45,770,000 "—
Vote— Department of the Army, £73,742,000 "—
Vote— Department of Air, £56,363,000 "—
Vote— Department of Supply, £14,752,000 "—

Vote—" Department of Defence Production, £8,661,000"—considered together.

Votes debated.

The Temporary Chairman (Mr. McLeay) having called upon Mr. Failes to speak-

Point of Order.—Mr. Daly raised a Point of Order that two calls in succession had been given to the Government side of the Committee.

F.2180.

Temporary Chairman's Ruling.—The Temporary Chairman ruled, that, following precedent, it was in order to call an honorable Member on the Government side immediately after a Minister.

Dissent from Ruling.—Mr. Daly, having handed in, in writing, an objection to the Ruling, and having moved, That the Ruling be dissented from, proceeded to address the Committee.

Point of Order.—Mr. McMahon (Minister for the Navy) raised a Point of Order that there could be no

Temporary Chairman's Ruling.—The Temporary Chairman upheld the Point of Order.

Question—That the Ruling be dissented from—put.

The Committee divided (The Temporary Chairman, Mr. McLeay, in the Chair)-

		AYES, 45.		
Mr. Anderson	Mr. Clark	Mr. Galvin	Mr. Luchetti	Mr. Thompson
Mr. Andrews	Mr. Crean	Mr. Greenup	Mr. McLeod	Mr. Ward
Mr. Beazley	Mr. Cremean	Mr. Griffiths	Mr. Minogue	Mr. Watkins
Mr. W. M. Bourke	Mr. Curtin	Mr. E. James	Mr. Morgan	Mr. Whitlam
Mr. Bruce	Mr. Drakeford	Harrison	Mr. Mullens	
Mr. Bryson	Mr. Duthie	Mr. Haylen	Mr. Peters	
Mr. T. P. Burke	Mr. Edmonds	Mr. Johnson	Mr. Pollard	Tellers:
Mr. Calwell	Mr. Ewert	Mr. Joshua	Mr. Riordan	
Mr. C. R. Cameron	Mr. A. D. Fraser	Mr. Keon	Mr. Russell	Mr. Daly
Mr. Clarey	Mr. Fuller	Mr. Lawson	Mr. Stewart	Mr. Sheehan
		Noes, 56.		
Mr. Adermann	Mr. Davis	Mr. Hamilton	Mr. Leslie	Mr. Roberton
Mr. Anthony	Mr. Dean	Mr. Eric J.	Mr. Luck	Mr. Timson
Mr. Bate	Mr. Downer	Harrison	Mr. Lucock	Mr. Turnbull
Mr. Beale	Mr. Drummond	Mr. Hasluck	Mr. Mackinnon	Mr. Wentworth
Mr. Bland	Mr. Drury	Mr. Haworth	Sir P. McBride	Mr. Wheeler
Mr. Bostock	Mr. Failes	Mr. Holt	Mr. McColm	Mr. Wight
Mr. Bowden	Mr. Fairhall	Mr. Howse	Mr. McEwen	Mr. Wilson
Mr. Brimblecombe	Mr. Falkinder	Mr. Jack	Mr. McMahon	
Mr. Brown	Mr. Francis	Mr. Joske	Mr. Opperman	Tellers:
Mr. D. A. Cameron	Mr. Freeth	Mr. Kekwick	Mr. Osborne	
Mr. Corser	Mr. Graham	Mr. Kent Hughes	Sir E. Page	Mr. Davidson
Mr. Cramer	Mr. Grayden	Mr. Lawrence	Mr. Pearce	Mr. Gullett

And so it was negatived.

Debate continued.

Limitation of Debate. -At six o'clock p.m., the Chairman having called the attention of the Committee to the fact that the time allotted for the Votes had expired-Question—That the Votes be agreed to—put and passed.

Vote-" Miscellaneous Services, £17,717,000"-

Vote—" Refunds of Revenue, £18,000,000"—
Vote—" Advance to the Treasurer, £16,000,000"—

Vote—"Bounties and Subsidies, £21,165,000"—

Vote—" War and Repatriation Services, £18,162,000" considered together.

Votes debated and agreed to.

Vote—" Commonwealth Railways, £3,794,000"-

Vote—" Postmaster-General's Department, £68,922,000 "— Vote—" Broadcasting Services, £4,729,000 "—

considered together.

Votes debated.

Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed; Mr. Adermann reported accordingly.

Resolved-That the House will, at the next sitting, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

7. Adjournment.—Mr. Eric J. Harrison (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Question—put and passed.

And then the House, at half-past eleven o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at ten o'clock a.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Berry, Mr. Casey, Mr. Chambers, Mr. Davies, Sir Arthur Fadden, Mr. Fairbairn, Mr. Fitzgerald, Mr. Hulme, Mr. James, Mr. O'Connor, Mr. Townley, Mr. Treloar and Mr. Turner.

> F. C. GREEN, Clerk of the House of Representatives.