## THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

## VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

## REPRESENTATIVES. HOUSE OF

No. 150.

## WEDNESDAY, 16TH SEPTEMBER, 1953.

- 1. The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable A. G. Cameron) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. Petition.—Mr. Ewert presented a petition from certain electors of the Division of Flinders praying that this House direct the Government to refuse recognition to the régime of Communist China. Petition received and read.
- 3. COMMUNIST PARTY'S CONNEXION WITH PROPOSED PEACE CONVENTION-MINISTERIAL STATEMENT-MOTION FOR PRINTING PAPER.-Mr. Menzies (Prime Minister), by leave, made a Ministerial Statement informing the House of the connexion of the Communist Party with the proposed Peace Convention to be held in Sydney at the end of the month.

Mr. Evatt (Leader of the Opposition), by leave, also made a Statement on the subject.

Mr. Menzies, then, by command of His Excellency the Governor-General, laid upon the Table the following Paper:

Communist Party's Connexion with proposed Peace Convention-Ministerial Statement-

and moved, That the Paper be printed. Mr. Evatt moved, That the debate be now adjourned.

Question—That the debate be now adjourned—put and passed.

Ordered—That the resumption of the debate be made an Order of the Day for the next sitting.

4. Papers.—Mr. Speaker presented, pursuant to Statute-

Commonwealth Bank Act-Balance-sheets of Commonwealth Bank and Commonwealth Savings Bank as at 30th June, 1953; together with Auditor-General's reports thereon.

The following Paper was presented, by command of His Excellency the Governor-General—Tariff Board—Report—Sulphur and Sulphuric Acid.

Ordered to lie on the Table.

The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute—
Public Service Act—Appointments—Postmaster-General's Department—E. Dowling, M. Fardouly, T. W. Fox, D. S. Fulton, G. T. Jansen, A. Letizia, K. H. Nicholls, A. J. Ralston, E. J. Ramsay-Matthews, D. Savage, G. B. Sharpe, R. J. Shinkfield, G. W. Taylor, J. E. Thornett, A. P. Vorpagel.

5. PRECEDENCE TO GOVERNMENT BUSINESS .- Mr. Eric J. Harrison (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved, pursuant to notice, That Government Business shall take precedence over General Business to-morrow.

Question-put and passed.

6. Supply—Budget Debate.—The House, according to Order, resolved itself into the Committee of Supply.

(In the Committee.)

General debate resumed on the question, That the first item in the Estimates, under Division No. 1-Senate—namely—
Salaries and allowances

be agreed to, and on the Amendment moved thereto by Mr. Evatt (Leader of the Opposition), viz. :- That the first item be reduced by £1.

Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed; Mr. Adermann reported accordingly.

Resolved-That the House will, at the next sitting, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

7. ADJOURNMENT.-Mr. Eric J. Harrison (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Debate ensued.

F.2180.

Mr. Pollard addressing the House—
Closure.—Mr. Eric J. Harrison moved, That the question be now put.
Question—That the question be now put—put.
The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. A. G. Cameron, in the Chair)—

		AYES, 55.		
Mr. Adermann Mr. Bate Mr. Beale Mr. Berry Mr. Bostock Mr. Bowden Mr. Brimblecombe	Mr. Dean Mr. Downer Mr. Drummond Mr. Drury Sir A. Fadden Mr. Failes Mr. Fairbairn	Mr. Hamilton Mr. Eric J. Harrison Mr. Haworth Mr. Holt Mr. Howse Mr. Hulme	Mr. Lucock Mr. Mackinnon Sir P. McBride Mr. McColm Mr. McLeay Mr. McMahon Mr. Opperman	Mr. Townley Mr. Turner Mr. Wentworth Mr. Wheeler Mr. Wight Mr. Wilson
Mr. Brown	Mr. Fairhall	Mr. Jack	Mr. Osborne	- "
Mr. D. A. Cameron		Mr. Kekwick	Mr. Pearce	Tellers:
Mr. Corser	Mr. Freeth	Mr. Lawrence	Mr. Roberton	
Mr. Cramer	Mr. Graham	Mr. Leslie	Mr. Swartz	Mr. Gullett
Mr. Davis	Mr. Grayden	Mr. Luck	Mr. Timson	Mr. Turnbull
	•	Noes, 38.		
Mr. Anderson	Mr. Chambers	Mr. Edmonds	Mr. Joshua	Mr. Pollard
Mr. Andrews	Mr. Clarey	Mr. Ewert	Mr. Lawson	Mr. Riordan
Mr. Bird	Mr. Clark	Mr. A. D. Fraser	Mr. Luchetti	Mr. Stewart
Mr. W. M. Bourke	Mr. Costa	Mr. Galvin	Mr. McLeod	Mr. War <b>d</b>
Mr. Bruce	Mr. Crean	Mr. Greenup	Mr. Minogue	Mr. Whitlam
Mr. Bryson	Mr. Cremean	Mr. E. James	Mr. Morgan	Tellers:
Mr. Calwell	Mr. Curtin	Harrison	Mr. Mullens	Mr. Daly
		Mr. Haylen	Mr. Peters	Mr. Fuller
Mr. C. R. Cameron	MIT. Drakeford	mii. maylen	MII. LCCCIS	MI. Pullel

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

And the question—That the House do now adjourn—was put accordingly, and passed.

And then the House, at twenty-six minutes past eleven o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past ten o'clock a.m.

Members Present.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Casey, Mr. Davies, Mr. Falkinder, Sir Earle Page and Mr. Treloar.

F. C. GREEN,
Clerk of the House of Representatives.