1951 - 52.

THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

REPRESENTATIVES. HOUSE OF

No. 106.

WEDNESDAY, 1st OCTOBER, 1952.

- 1. The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.-Mr. Speaker (the Honorable A. G. Cameron) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. AUSTRALIAN WOOL-AMERICAN DUTIES-MINISTERIAL STATEMENT.-Mr. McEwen (Minister for Commerce and Agriculture), by leave, made a Ministerial Statement regarding duties imposed by the United States of America on Australian wool. Mr. Evatt (Leader of the Opposition), by leave, also made a Statement with reference to the matter.
- 3. PAPERS.—The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute— Defence (Transitional Provisions) Act—National Security (Industrial Property) Regulations— Order-Inventions and designs. Lands Acquisition Act-Land acquired for Postal purposes-Biala, New South Wales. Lacmalac, New South Wales. Mannus, New South Wales. Wantagong, New South Wales. Public Service Act-Appointments-Department-Defence Production—K. W. Roberts, J. G. Solomon. Supply—K. T. Hall, G. V. Hart. Trade and Customs-R. Rotenberg.
- 4. MESSAGE FROM THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL .- ASSENT TO BILLS .- The following Message from His Excellency the Governor-General was received, and was read by Mr. Speaker :-
 - W. J. McKELL,

Governor-General.

Proposed Laws intituled :---

- " Sales Tax (Exemptions and Classifications) Act 1952 "
- " Sales Tax Act (No. 1) 1952
- "Sales Tax Act (No. 2) 1952 " "Sales Tax Act (No. 3) 1952 "
- " Sales Tax Act (No. 4) 1952 "
- " Sales Tax Act (No. 5) 1952 " " Sales Tax Act (No. 6) 1952 "
- " Sales Tax Act (No. 7) 1952 "
- " Sales Tax Act (No. 8) 1952 " " Sales Tax Act (No. 9) 1952 "
- " Distillation Act 1952 "
- " Excise Act 1952
- "States Grants (Special Financial Assistance) Act 1952"
- " Dried Fruits Export Control Act 1952 "

as finally passed by the Senate and the House of Representatives of the Commonwealth, having been presented to the Governor-General for the Royal Assent, His Excellency has, in the name and on behalf of Her Majesty, assented to the said Laws.

(:overnment House,

Canberra, 30th September, 1952.

5. PRECEDENCE TO GOVERNMENT BUSINESS .- Mr. Eric J. Harrison (Vice-President of the Executive Council), moved, pursuant to notice, That Government Business shall take precedence over General Business to-morrow.

Debate ensued.

Question—put.

F.2180.

Message No. 85.

· · · ·	1 ,	,	,	
		AYES, 54.		
Mr. Bate	Mr. Drummond	Mr. Hasluck	Mr. McColm	Mr. Turnbull
Mr. Beale	Mr. Drury	Mr. Haworth	Mr. McEwen	Mr. Wentworth
Mr. Bland	Sir A. Fadden	Mr. Howse	Mr. McLeay	Mr. Wheeler
Mr. Bostock	Mr. Failes	Mr. Hughes	Mr. McMahon	Mr. Wight
Mr. Bowden	Mr. Fairbairn	Mr. Hulme	Mr. Osborne	Mr. Wilson
Mr. Brimblecombe	Mr. Falkinder	Mr. Jack	Sir E. Page	
Mr. D. A. Cameron	Mr. Francis	Mr. Kekwick	Mr. Pearce	
Mr. Casey	Mr. Freeth	Mr. Lawrence	Mr. Roberton	Tellers :
Mr. Corser	Mr. Graham	Mr. Leslie	Mr. Swartz	
Mr. Cramer	Mr. Hamilton	Mr. Luck	Mr. Timson	Mr. Davidson
Mr. Davis	Mr. Erie J.	Mr. Lucock	Mr. Townley	Mr. Gullett
Mr. Dean	Harrison	Mr. McBride	Mr. Treloar	
		NOES, 39.		
Mr. Anderson	Mr. Clark	Mr. A. D. Fraser	Mr. Luchetti	Mr. Ward
Mr. Andrews	Mr. Costa	Mr. Fuller	Mr. McLeod	Mr. Watkins
Mr. Bird	Mr. Crean	Mr. Galvin	Mr. Minogue	
Mr. W. M. Bourke	Mr. Cremean	Mr. Griffiths	Mr. Morgan	
Mr. Bryson	Mr. Curtin	Mr. E. James	Mr. Mulcahy	Tellers :
Mr. T. P. Burke	Mr. Davies	Harrison	Mr. Mullens	
Mr. Calwell	Mr. Drakeford	Mr. Haylen	Mr. Riordan	Mr. Daly
Mr. C. R. Cameron	Mr. Edmonds	Mr. James	Mr. Russell	Mr. Sheehan
Mr. Clarey	Mr. Fitzgerald	Mr. Keon	Mr. Thompson	
nd as it mas massluss	lingthe manualing		-	

The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. A. G. Cameron, in the Chair)-

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

6. LAND TAX ABOLITION BILL 1952.—The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question, That the Bill be now read a second time— Debate resumed.

Question—put.

The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. A. G. Cameron, in the Chair)-

		Ayes. 50.		
Mr. Bate Mr. Beale Mr. Bland Mr. Bostock Mr. Bowden Mr. Brimblecombe Mr. D. A. Cameron Mr. Casey Mr. Corser Mr. Cramer Mr. Davis	Mr. Dean Mr. Drummond Mr. Drury Sir A. Fadden Mr. Failes Mr. Fairbairn Mr. Falkinder Mr. Francis Mr. Freeth Mr. Hannilton	Mr. Eric J. Harrison Mr. Hasluck Mr. Haworth Mr. Howse Mr. Jack Mr. Joske Mr. Kekwick Mr. Leslie Mr. Luck Mr. Lucock	Mr. McBride Mr. McColm Mr. McEwen Mr. McLeay Mr. McMahon Mr. Osborne Sir E. Page Mr. Pearce Mr. Swartz Mr. Timson Mr. Townley	Mr. Treloar Mr. Turnbull Mr. Wentworth Mr. Wheeler Mr. Wight Mr. Wilson <i>Tellers:</i> Mr. Davidson Mr. Lawrence
	,	NoES, 40.	•	
Mr. Anderson Mr. Andrews Mr. Bird Mr. W. M. Bourke Mr. Bruce	Mr. Clarey Mr. Clark Mr. Costa Mr. Crean Mr. Cremean	Mr. Fitzgerald Mr. A. D. Fraser Mr. Fuller Mr. Galvin Mr. Griffiths	Mr. Joshua Mr. Keon Mr. Lawson Mr. Luchetti Mr. Minogue	Mr. Thomp son Mr. Ward Mr. Watkins
Mr. Bryson Mr. T. P. Burke Mr. Calwell Mr. C. B. Comerce	Mr. Curtin Mr. Davies Mr. Drakeford Mr. Edmonds	Mr. E. James Harrison Mr. Haylen Mu. Johnson	Mr. Morgan Mr. Mulcahy Mr. Riordan Mr. Buccall	<i>Tellers:</i> Mr. Daly Mr. Sheehan
Mr. C. R. Cameron		Mr. Johnson	Mr. Russell	Mr. Sneenan

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.— Bill read a second time. Mr. Speaker left the Chair, and the House resolved itself into a Committee of the Whole.

(In the Committee.)

Bill, by leave, taken as a whole, and agreed to. Bill to be reported without amendment.

The House resumed ; Mr. Bowden reported accordingly.

On the motion of Sir Arthur Fadden (Treasurer), the House adopted the Report, and, by leave, the Bill was read a third time.

7. ADJOURNMENT.—Mr. Eric J. Harrison (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved, That the House do now adjourn.

Debate ensued.

Question—put and passed.

- And then the House, at twenty-nine minutes past eleven o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past ten o'clock a.m.
- MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Adermann*, Mr. Anthony*, Mr. Beazley, Mr. Berry, Mr. Brown, Mr. Chambers, Mr. Downer, Mr. Duthie*, Mr. Fairhall, Mr. Grayden, Mr. Holt*, Mr. Kent Hughes, Mr. Lazzarini*, Mr. McDonald*, Mr. O'Connor*, Mr. Opperman, Mr. Peters, Mr. Pollard and Mr. Rosevear*.

• On leave.

F. C. GREEN,

Clerk of the House of Representatives.

By Authority: L. F. JOHNSTON, Commonwealth Government Printer, Canberra.

474