## THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

# VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

### REPRESENTATIVES. HOUSE OF

No. 89.

### TUESDAY, 2ND SEPTEMBER, 1952.

- 1. The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable A. G. Cameron) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. MINISTERIAL ARRANGEMENTS.—Mr. Menzies (Prime Minister) announced that, during the absence abroad of Mr. Anthony (Postmaster-General and Minister for Civil Aviation), Sir Earle Page (Minister for Health) would act as Postmaster-General, and that Senator McLeay (Minister for Shipping and Transport) would act as Minister for Civil Aviation and, in both capacities, would be represented in the House of Representatives by Mr. Hasluck (Minister for Territories).
- 3. PAPERS.—The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute—

Public Service Act—Appointments—Department— Joint House—J. E. Meredith. Postmaster-General—B. H. Bishop.

Repatriation-I. L. Miller, P. V. Rosenhain.

4. Social Services Consolidation Bill 1952.—Mr. Townley (Minister for Social Services) moved, pursuant to notice, That he have leave to bring in a Bill for an Act to amend the Social Services Consolidation Act 1947-1951.

Question—put and passed.

Mr. Townley then brought up the Bill accordingly, and moved, That it be now read a first time. Question—put and passed.—Bill read a first time.

Ordered-That the second reading be made an Order of the Day for the next sitting.

5. Supply—Estimates 1952-53.—The House, according to Order, resolved itself into the Committee of Supply.

#### (In the Committee.)

Vote—" Department of Commerce and Agriculture, £1,481,000"—Vote—" Department of Social Services, £2,146,000"—

Vote—" Department of Shipping and Transport, £1,025,000"— Vote—" Department of Territories, £194,000"—

considered together. Votes debated.

Limitation of Debate.—At ten o'clock p.m., the Deputy Chairman having called the attention of the Committee to the fact that the time allotted for the Votes had expired-

Question—That the Votes be agreed to—put and passed.
Vote—"Department of Immigration, £1,340,000"—
Vote—"Department of Labour and National Service, £1,795,000"—

Vote—" Department of National Development, £1,180,000"— Vote—" Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organization, £3,381,000" considered together.

Votes debated.

Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed; Mr. Bowden reported accordingly.

Resolved-That the House will, at the next sitting, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

6. ADJOURNMENT.-Mr. Eric J. Harrison (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved, That the House do now adjourn.

Mr. Keon rising to address the House-

Closure.—Mr. Eric J. Harrison moved, That the question be now put.

Question—That the question be now put—put.

F.2180.

2nd September, 1952.

The House divided	(The Speaker	, Mr. A. G.	Cameron,	in the Ch	ıair)—
-------------------	--------------	-------------	----------	-----------	--------

		AYES, 54.		
Mr. Bate Mr. Beale Mr. Berry Mr. Bostock Mr. Bowden Mr. Brimblecombe Mr. Brown	Mr. Dean Mr. Downer Mr. Drury Sir A. Fadden Mr. Failes Mr. Fairbairn Mr. Fairhall	Mr. Eric J. Harrison Mr. Hasluck Mr. Hughes Mr. Hulme Mr. Jack Mr. Joske	Mr. McColm Mr. McEwen Mr. McLeay Mr. McMahon Mr. Osborne Sir E. Page Mr. Pearce	Mr. Turnbull Mr. Wentworth Mr. Wheeler Mr. Wight Mr. Wilson
Mr. D. A. Cameron Mr. Casey	Mr. Falkinder Mr. Francis	Mr. Kekwick Mr. Lawrence	Mr. Roberton Mr. Swartz	Tellers:
Mr. Corser Mr. Cramer Mr. Davis	Mr. Graham Mr. Grayden Mr. Hamilton	Mr. Leslie Mr. Luck Mr. Lucock	Mr. Timson Mr. Townley Mr. Treloar	Mr. Davidson Mr. Opperman
		Noes, 33.		
Mr. Anderson Mr. W. M. Bourke Mr. Bryson Mr. T. P. Burke	Mr. Costa Mr. Crean Mr. Cremean Mr. Curtin	Mr. James Mr. Johnson Mr. Joshua Mr. Keon	Mr. <b>Morgan</b> Mr. Mulcahy Mr. Mullens Mr. Peters	Mr. Thompson Mr. Ward Mr. Watkins
Mr. C. R. Cameron Mr. Clarey Mr. Clark	Mr. Davies Mr. Griffiths Mr. Haylen	Mr. Luchetti Mr. McLeod Mr. Minogue	Mr. Pollard Mr. Riordan Mr. Russell	<i>Tellers:</i> Mr. Daly Mr. Fuller
Mr. Clark	arr. mayich	BLL. BLINDERS	MII. ILUSSEII	mi. ranci

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

And the question—That the House do now adjourn—was put accordingly, and passed.

And then the House, at eight minutes past eleven o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past two o'clock p.m.

Members Present.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Adermann, Mr. Andrews, Mr. Anthony, Mr. Beazley, Mr. Calwell, Mr. Chambers, Mr. Drummond, Mr. Duthie, Mr. Freeth, Mr. Gullett, Mr. Haworth, Mr. Holt, Mr. Howse, Mr. Lazzarini, Mr. McDonald, Mr. O'Connor and Mr. Rosevear.

F. C. GREEN,
Clerk of the House of Representatives.

By Authority: L. F. Johnston, Commonwealth Government Printer, Canberra.