THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

REPRESENTATIVES. HOUSE OF

No. 88.

FRIDAY, 29TH AUGUST, 1952.

- 1. The House met, at half-past ten o'clock a.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable A. G. Cameron) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. Papers.—The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute-Northern Territory (Administration) Act—Regulations—1952—No. 5 (Mining Ordinance). Public Service Act—Appointment—Postmaster-General's Department—R. H. Cope.
- 3. Supply-Estimates 1952-53.—The House, according to Order, resolved itself into the Committee of Supply.

(In the Committee.)

Vote-" Department of the Interior, £3,230,000

Vote-" Department of Works, £1,806,000"

Vote-" Department of Civil Aviation, £11,055,000"-

Vote—" Department of Trade and Customs, £3,179,000"— Vote—" Department of Health, £1,230,000"—

considered together.

Votes debated and agreed to.

Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed; Mr. Bowden reported accordingly. Resolved-That the House will, at the next sitting, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

- 4. Adjournment.-Mr. Eric J. Harrison (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Question-put and passed.
- And then the House, at one minute past five o'clock p.m., adjourned until Tuesday next at half-past two o'clock p.m.
- MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Adermann, Mr. Anthony, Mr. Beazley, Mr. Berry, Mr. Bird, Mr. Bland, Mr. D. A. Cameron, Mr. Casey, Mr. Chambers, Mr. Clarey, Mr. Drakeford, Mr. Drummond, Mr. Duthie, Mr. Evatt, Mr. Chambers, Mr. Clarey, Mr. Drakeford, Mr. Drummond, Mr. Duthie, Mr. Evatt, Mr. Chambers, Mr. Clarey, Mr. Drakeford, Mr. Drummond, Mr. Duthie, Mr. Evatt, Mr. Chambers, Mr. Clarey, Mr. Drakeford, Mr. Drummond, Mr. Duthie, Mr. Evatt, Mr. Chambers, Mr. Chambers, Mr. Clarey, Mr. Drakeford, Mr. Drummond, Mr. Duthie, Mr. Evatt, Mr. Chambers, M Mr. Grayden, Mr. Hamilton, Mr. Holt, Mr. Howse, Mr. Hughes, Mr. Keon, Mr. Lawson, Mr. Lazzarini, Mr. Leslie, Mr. McDonald, Mr. McLeod, Mr. Menzies, Mr. Mullens, Mr. Nelson, Mr. O'Connor, Sir Earle Page, Mr. Riordan, Mr. Rosevear and Mr. Treloar.

F. C. GREEN, Clerk of the House of Representatives.