THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

No. 82.

TUESDAY, 19TH AUGUST, 1952.

- 1. The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable A. G. Cameron) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. Petition.—Mr. T. P. Burke presented a petition from a Branch Secretary of the Australian Third Division Telegraphists and Postal Clerks' Union praying that action be taken by the Parliament to rectify an injustice which he considers exists under Section 8 of the Commonwealth Employees' Furlough Act.

 Petition received and read.
- 3. Magna Carta—Acquisition of Copy—Statement by Mr. Speaker.—Mr. Speaker informed the House that the Commonwealth National Library had recently acquired in England one of the fourteen known copies of Magna Carta. The copy, which was properly authenticated, is dated 1297.
 - Mr. Menzies (Prime Minister) and Mr. Evatt (Leader of the Opposition), by leave, addressed the House with reference to the acquisition.
- 4. Papers.—The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute—
 Commonwealth Bank Act—Appointment Certificate—F. S. King-Davies.
 Customs Tariff (Export Duties) Act—Regulations—Statutory Rules 1952, No. 58.
 Lands Acquisition Act—Land, &c., acquired for—

Defence purposes— Liverpool, New South Wales. Reid River, Queensland.

Department of Civil Aviation purposes-Mangalore, Victoria.

Postal purposes-

Hermit Park, Townsville, Queensland.

Newstead, Brisbane, Queensland. Navigation Act—Regulations—Statutory Rules 1952, No. 59.

Public Service Act—Appointments—Department—

Defence Production—J. L. Clay, A. D. B. Graham, W. N. Williams.

Repatriation—B. M. Mason. Territories—B. R. Jephcott.

5. Supply—Budget Debate.—The House, according to Order, resolved itself into the Committee of

(In the Committee.)

General debate resumed on the question, That the first item in the Estimates, under Division No. 1—Senate—namely—

Salaries and allowances .. £13,500

be agreed to, and on the Amendment moved thereto by Mr. Evatt, viz.:—That the first item be reduced by £1.

Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed; Mr. Bowden reported accordingly.

Resolved-That the House will, at the next sitting, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

6. Adjournment.—Mr. Eric J. Harrison (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved, That the House do now adjourn.

Debate ensued.

Supply.

Mr. Daly rising to address the House-

Closure.—Mr. Eric J. Harrison moved, That the question be now put.

Question—That the question be now put—put.

F.2180.

•

	The House divided	(The Speaker,	Mr. A. G.	Cameron	, in the	Chair)-
--	-------------------	---------------	-----------	---------	----------	---------

		AYES, 48.					
Mr. Anthony	Mr. Dean	Mr. Eric J.	Mr. McBride	Mr. Wentworth			
Mr. Beale	Mr. Drury	Harrison	Mr. McColm	Mr. Wheel er			
Mr. Bostock	Mr. Failes	Mr. Hasluck	Mr. McLeay	Mr. Wilson			
Mr. Bowden	Mr. Fairbairn	Mr. Haworth	Mr. McMahon				
Mr. Brimblecombe	Mr. Fairhall	Mr. Hulme	Mr. Opperman				
Mr. Brown	Mr. Falkinder	Mr. Jack	Mr. Osborne	Tellers:			
Mr. D. A. Cameron	Mr. Francis	Mr. Joske	Mr. Pearce				
Mr. Casey	Mr. Freeth	Mr. Lawrence	Mr. Roberton	Mr. Gullett			
Mr. Corser	Mr. Graham	Mr. Leslie	Mr. Ryan	Mr. Turnbull			
Mr. Cramer	Mr. Grayden	Mr. Luck	Mr. Swartz				
Mr. Davis	Mr. Hamilton	Mr. Lucock	Mr. Timson				
Noes, 29.							
Mr. Andrews	Mr. Crean	Mr. Haylen	Mr. Mulcahy	Tellers:			
Mr. Beazley	Mr. Cremean	Mr. Johnson	Mr. Peters				
Mr. W. M. Bourke	Mr. Curtin	Mr. Joshua	Mr. Pollard	Mr. Costa			
Mr. Bruce	Mr. Fuller	Mr. Keon	Mr. Riordan	Mr. Daly			
Mr. Bryson	Mr. Griffiths	Mr. McLeod	Mr. Thompson	•			
Mr. Calwell	Mr. E. James	Mr. Minogue	Mr. Ward				
Mr. C. R. Cameron	Harrison	Mr. Morgan	Mr. Watkine				

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

And the question—That the House do now adjourn—was put accordingly, and passed.

And then the House, at twenty-two minutes to twelve o'clock midnight, adjourned until to-morrow at half-past two o'clock p.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Adermann, Mr. Bird, Mr. Clarey, Mr. Davies, Mr. Downer, Mr. Drummond, Mr. Duthie, Sir Arthur Fadden, Mr. Holt, Mr. Howse, Mr. Kekwick, Mr. Kent Hughes, Mr. Lazzarini, Mr. McDonald, Mr. O'Connor, Mr. Rosevear, Mr. Townley, Mr. Treloar and Mr. Wight.

F. C. GREEN,
Clerk of the House of Representatives.