THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

REPRESENTATIVES. HOUSE OF

No. 60.

TUESDAY, 4TH MARCH, 1952.

- 1. The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable A. G. Cameron) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. PETITION.—Mr. Ward presented a petition from some thousands of the citizens of Australia praying that the House express its opposition, on behalf of the majority of the Australian people, to the proposal to rearm Japan, and instruct the Government to oppose this rearmament by every possible means.

Petition received and read.

- 3. Adjournment-Motion for Purpose of Discussion.—Mr. A. D. Fraser proposing to move the adjournment of the House for the purpose of discussing a definite matter of urgent public importance, namely, "The Government's failure to meet the imperative need to increase rates of age, invalid and widows' pensions, child endowment, unemployment and sickness benefits, and other social service payments, to meet present living costs"—
 - Mr. Speaker called upon those Members who approved of the proposed discussion to rise in their places, and more than the necessary number of Members having risen accordingly-

Mr. A. D. Fraser moved, That the House do now adjourn.

Ordered-That Mr. A. D. Fraser be granted an extension of time.

Debate ensued.

Ordered—That Mr. Townley (Minister for Social Services) be granted an extension of time.

Debate continued.

Several Members rising to address the House—
Closure.—Mr. Eric J. Harrison (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved, That the question

Question—That the question be now put—put.

The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. A. G. Cameron, in the Chair)-

		Aves, 59.		
Mr. Adermann Mr. Anthony Mr. Bate Mr. Berry Mr. Bostock Mr. Bowden Mr. Brimblecombe Mr. Brown Mr. D. A. Cameron Mr. Casey Mr. Cramer Mr. Davis Mr. Dean	Mr. Downer Mr. Drury Sir A. Fadden Mr. Failes Mr. Fairbairn Mr. Fairhall Mr. Falkinder Mr. Francis Mr. Freeth Mr. Graham Mr. Grayden Mr. Hamilton	Mr. Eric J. Harrison Mr. Hasluck Mr. Haworth Mr. Holt Mr. Howse Mr. Hughes Mr. Hulme Mr. Jack Mr. Joske Mr. Kekwick Mr. Lawrence Mr. Luck	Mr. McBride Mr. McColm Mr. McDonald Mr. McLeay Mr. McMahon Mr. Opperman Mr. Osborne Sir E. Page Mr. Pearce Mr. Roberton Mr. Ryan Mr. Timson	Mr. Townley Mr. Treloar Mr. Turnbull Mr. Wentworth Mr. Wheeler Mr. Wight Mr. Wilson Tellers: Mr. Davidson Mr. Gullett
Mr. Anderson Mr. Andrews Mr. Beazley Mr. Bird Mr. W. M. Bourke Mr. Bruce Mr. Bryson Mr. Calwell	Mr. Costa Mr. Crean Mr. Cremean Mr. Curtin Mr. Davies Mr. Duthie Mr. Edmonds Mr. Fitzgerald	Nors, 38. Mr. A. D. Fraser Mr. Fuller Mr. Galvin Mr. Griffiths Mr. Haylen Mr. James Mr. Johnson Mr. Joshua	Mr. Keon Mr. Luchetti Mr. McLeod Mr. Minogue Mr. O'Connor Mr. Peters Mr. Pollard Mr. Riordan	Mr. Rosevear Mr. Russell Mr. Thompson Mr. Ward Tellers: Mr. Daly Mr. Sheehan

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

And the question—That the House do now adjourn—being accordingly put—

The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. A. G. Cameron, in the Chair)—

		AYES, 39.		
Mr. Anderson	Mr. Costa	Mr. Fitzgerald	Mr. Joshua	Mr. Riordan
Mr. Andrews	Mr. Crean	Mr. A. D. Fraser	Mr. Keon	Mr. Rosevear
Mr. Beazley	Mr. Cremean	Mr. Fuller	Mr. Luchetti	Mr. Russell
Mr. Bird	Mr. Curtin	Mr. Galvin	Mr. McLeod	Mr. Thompson
Mr. W. M. Bourke	Mr. Davies	Mr. Griffiths	Mr. Minogue	Mr. Ward
Mr. Bruce	Mr. Drakeford	Mr. Haylen	Mr. O'Connor	Tellers:
Mr. Bryson	Mr. Duthie	Mr. James	Mr. Peters	Mr. Daly
Mr. Calwell	Mr. Edmonds	Mr. Johnson	Mr. Pollard	Mr. Sheehan

4th March, 1952.

		Noes, 59.		
Mr. Adermann Mr. Anthony Mr. Bate Mr. Berry Mr. Bostock Mr. Bowden Mr. Brimblecombe Mr. Brown Mr. D. A. Cameron Mr. Casey Mr. Cramer Mr. Davis Mr. Dean	Mr. Downer Mr. Drury Sir A. Fadden Mr. Failes Mr. Fairbairn Mr. Fairhall Mr. Falkinder Mr. Francis Mr. Freeth Mr. Graham Mr. Grayden Mr. Hamilton	Mr. Eric J. Harrison Mr. Hasluck Mr. Haworth Mr. Holt Mr. Howse Mr. Hughes Mr. Hulme Mr. Jack Mr. Joske Mr. Lawrence Mr. Lawrence	Mr. McBride Mr. McColm Mr. McDonald Mr. McEwen Mr. McLeay Mr. McMahon Mr. Opperman Mr. Osborne Sir E. Page Mr. Pearce Mr. Roberton Mr. Ryan Mr. Timson	Mr. Townley Mr. Treloar Mr. Turnbull Mr. Wentworth Mr. Wheeler Mr. Wight Mr. Wilson Tellers: Mr. Davidson Mr. Gullett
#IZ ~ U				

And so it was negatived.

4. Papers.—The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute—

Lands Acquisition Act—Land acquired for Postal purposes-

Beaufort, South Australia.

Nuriootpa, South Australia. Public Service Act—Appointments—Department—Commerce and Agriculture—B. F. Hussey.

Health—S. S. Alexander, M. A. Bundock, J. R. Cornish, C. M. Gilbo, G. A. McLean,

L. Sefton, J. M. Thompson, S. D. Watsford. Postmaster-General—D. G. Geddes, N. S. Middleton.

Repatriation-A. A. Page.

Works and Housing—T. G. Leonard.
Wool Products Bounty Act—Second Annual Report for 1951.

5. SECURITY TREATY (AUSTRALIA, NEW ZEALAND AND THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA) BILL 1952.— The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question, That the Bill be now read a second time-

Debate resumed.

Mr. W. M. Bourke moved, That the debate be now adjourned.

Question—That the debate be now adjourned—put and passed.

Ordered-That the resumption of the debate be made an Order of the Day for a later hour this day.

6. Sugar Industry—Price Increase—Committee of Inquiry—Ministerial Statement—Motion for PRINTING PAPER.—Mr. Menzies (Prime Minister), by leave, made a Ministerial Statement regarding the claims of the sugar industry for an early increase in the retail price of sugar and informed the House of the appointment of a Committee of Inquiry to examine the economics of the industry. Mr. Menzies then, by command of His Excellency the Governor-General, laid upon the Table the following Paper:-

Sugar Industry—Price Increase—Committee of Inquiry—Ministerial Statement—

and moved, That the Paper be printed.
Mr. Calwell moved, That the debate be now adjourned.

Question—That the debate be now adjourned—put and passed.

Ordered—That the resumption of the debate be made an Order of the Day for the next sitting.

7. Security Treaty (Australia, New Zealand and the United States of America) Bill 1952. The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question, That the Bill be now read a second time-

Debate resumed.

Question—put and passed.—Bill read a second time.

Mr. Speaker left the Chair, and the House resolved itself into a Committee of the Whole.

(In the Committee.)

Bill, by leave, taken as a whole, and agreed to, after debate.

Bill to be reported without amendment.

The House resumed; Mr. Adermann reported accordingly.

On the motion of Mr. Casey (Minister for External Affairs) the House adopted the Report, and, by leave, the Bill was read a third time.

8. ADJOURNMENT.-Mr. Eric J. Harrison (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved, That the House do now adjourn.

Debate ensued.

Question—put and passed.

And then the House, at seven minutes to twelve o'clock midnight, adjourned until to-morrow at half-past two o'clock p.m.

Members Present.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Bland, Mr. T. P. Burke, Mr. C. R. Cameron, Mr. Chambers, Mr. Clarey, Mr. Clark, Mr. E. James Harrison, Mr. Lawson, Mr. Lazzarini, Mr. Leslie, Mr. Mulcahy, Mr. Mullens and Mr. Swartz.

F. C. GREEN,

Clerk of the House of Representatives.