THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH.

No. 57.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

FRIDAY, 29TH JULY, 1904.

- 1. The House met pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. Adjournment—Motion for Purpose of Discussion.—Mr. Sydney Smith rose in his place, and said that he proposed to move the adjournment of the House for the purpose of discussing a definite matter of urgent public importance, namely, "The desirability of obtaining further information from Mr. Wade, Chief Engineer of Water Conservation in New South Wales (who is now in Melbourne) concerning the volume and cost of water supply at or near Lyndhurst."

Mr. Speaker thereupon called upon those Members who approved of the proposed discussion to rise in their places, and more than the necessary number of Members having risen accordingly—

Mr. Sydney Smith moved, That the House do now adjourn.

Debate ensued.

- It being two hours after the time fixed for the meeting of the House, the debate was interrupted, in accordance with Standing Order No. 119, and the Orders of the Day were called on.
- 3. SEAT OF GOVERNMENT BILL.—The Order of the Day having been read for the further consideration of this Bill in Committee of the whole House—Mr. Speaker left the Chair, and the House resolved itself into a Committee of the Whole.

Mr. Speaker resumed the Chair; Mr. Salmon reported that the Committee had made progress in the Bill, and that he was directed to ask, That the Committee may have leave to sit again.

Resolved—That the House will, on Tuesday next, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

- 4. Adjournment.—Mr. Watson moved, That the House do now adjourn. Question—put and resolved in the affirmative.
- And then the House at twenty minutes to four o'clock p.m., adjourned until Tuesday next at half-past two o'clock p.m.
- Members Present.—All Members were present except—Sir Langdon Bonython, Mr. Cameron, Mr. Chanter, Mr. Conroy, Mr. Harper, Mr. Hughes, Mr. Hutchison, Mr. Isaacs, Mr. Kennedy, Mr. Kingston, Mr. Lonsdale, Mr. McColl, Sir John Quick, Mr. Reid, Mr. Robinson, Mr. Skene, Mr. Bruce Smith, and Sir George Turner.

C. GAVAN DUFFY, Clerk of the House of Representatives.