1950.

THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

No. 29.

WEDNESDAY, 10TH MAY, 1950.

- 1. The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable A. G. Cameron) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. DISTINGUISHED VISITOR.—Mr. Speaker informed the House that Lord Macdonald of Gwaenysgor, Paymaster-General in the Government of the United Kingdom and a Member of the House of Lords, was within the precincts. The distinguished visitor thereupon, with the concurrence of honorable Members, was provided with a seat on the floor of the House.
- 3. STATEMENT BY MEMBER-LEAVE TO MAKE NOT GRANTED.-Mr. Rosevear asked leave to make a Statement.

Objection being raised, leave not granted.

4. PAPERS.-The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute-

Commonwealth Bank Act-Appointment Certificate-R. G. Reeves.

Commonwealth Public Service Act-Appointments-Department-

Commerce and Agriculture—K. O. D. Davis.

Works and Housing-A. N. Duff-Gordon, H. L. Jones, L. L. Simon.

Defence Act-Regulations-Statutory Rules 1950, No. 21.

Defence (Transitional Provisions) Act-Regulations-Statutory Rules 1950, No. 20.

5. COMMUNIST PARTY DISSOLUTION BILL 1950.—The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question, That the Bill be now read a second time— Debate resumed.

Ordered-That Mr. Fadden (Treasurer) be granted an extension of time.

Debate continued.

Member ordered to withdraw from House.—Mr. C. R. Cameron having called attention to the fact that a quorum of Members was not present, Mr. Speaker counted the House and a quorum was formed. Mr. Cameron having been grossly disorderly by disputing the count made by the Chair, Mr. Speaker

ordered the honorable Member to withdraw from the House.

The honorable Member accordingly withdrew.

Debate on motion continued.

Member re-admitted to House.—Mr. C. R. Cameron, having apologized to the Chair for his earlier conduct, was re-admitted to the House.

Dame Enid Lyons (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved, That Mr. Beale (Minister for Supply) be granted an extension of time.

Question-put.

The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. A. G. Cameron, in the Chair)-

	- T ·	,	,	
Mr. Adermann Mr. C. G. W. Anderson Mr. Bate Mr. Beale Mr. Beale Mr. Berry Mr. Bowden Mr. Brown Mr. D. A. Cameron Mr. Casey	Mr. Downer Mr. Eggins Mr. Fadden Mr. Failes Mr. Fairbairn Mr. Fairball Mr. Falkinder Mr. Francis Mr. Freeth Mr. Gilmore	AYES, 58. Mr. Handby Mr. Hasluck Mr. Haworth Mr. Holt Mr. Howse Mr. Hughes Mr. Hulme Mr. Jack Mr. Kekwick Mr. Leslie	Mr. McColm Mr. McDonald Mr. McEwen Mr. McLeay Mr. McMahon Mr. Menzies Mr. Osborne Sir E. Page Mr. Pearce Mr. Pittard	Mr. Ryan Mr. Spender Mr. Swartz Mr. Timson Mr. Townley Mr. Turnbull Mr. Wentworth Mr. Wheeler Mr. Wilson Tellers:
Mr. Cramer	Mr. Grayden	Damo E. Lyons	Mr. Roberton	Mr. Davidson
Mr. Dean	Mr. Hamilton	Mr. McBride	Mr. C. W. Russell	Mr. Gullett
Mr. G. Anderson Mr. Andrews Mr. Beazley Mr. Bird Mr. W. M. Bourke	Mr. Chambers Mr. Chifley Mr. Clark Mr. Costa Mr. Cremean	Noes, 37. Mr. Evatt Mr. Fitzgerald Mr. Fraser Mr. Griffiths Mr. E. James	Mr. Lawson Mr. Lazzarini Mr. Minogue Mr. Morgan Mr. Mullens	Mr. E. H. D. Russell Mr. Thompson Mr. Ward Mr. Watkins
Mr. Bryson	Mr. Curtin	Harrison	Mr. Peters	Tellers:
Mr. Calwell	Mr. Drakeford	Mr. Haylen	Mr. Riordan	Mr. Daly
Mr. C. R. Cameron	Mr. Duthie	Mr. Holloway	Mr. Rosevear	Mr. Sheehan

And so it was resolved in the affirmative. F.332 10th May, 1950.

Debate on motion continued.

Declaration of Bill as Urgent Bill.-Mr. Menzies (Prime Minister) declared that the Bill was an Urgent Bill.

Question-That the Bill be considered an Urgent Bill-put.

The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. A. G. Cameron, in the Chair)-

		Ayes, 61.		
Mr. Adermann	Mr. Drummond	Mr. Handby	Mr. McDonald	Mr. Swartz
Mr. C. G. W.	Mr. Eggins	Mr. Hasluck	Mr. McEwen	Mr. Timson
Anderson	Mr. Fadden	Mr. Haworth	Mr. McLeay	Mr. Townley
Mr. Bate	Mr. Failes	Mr. Holt	Mr. McMahon	Mr. Turnbull
Mr. Beale	Mr. Fairbairn	Mr. Howse	Mr. Menzies	Mr. Wentworth
Mr. Berry	Mr. Fairhall	Mr. Hughes	Mr. Osborne	Mr. Wheeler
Mr. Bowden	Mr. Falkinder	Mr. Hulme	Sir E. Page	Mr. B. M. Wight
Mr. Brown	Mr. Francis	Mr. Jack	Mr. Pearce	Mr. Wilson
Mr. D. A. Cameron	Mr. Freeth	Mr. Kekwick	Mr. Pittard	
Mr. Casey	Mr. Gilmore	Mr. Leslie	Mr. Roberton	Tellers :
Mr. Cramer	Mr. Graham -	Dance E. Lyons	Mr. C. W. Russell	
Mr. Dean	Mr. Gravden	Mr. McBride	Mr. Ryan	Mr. Davilson
Mr. Downer	Mr. Hamilton	Mr. McColm	Mr. Spender	Mr. Gullett
		NOES, 36.		
Mr. G. Anderson	Mr. Chambers	Mr. Fitzgerald	Mr. Lazzarini	Mr. E. H. D. Russell
Mr. Andrews	Mr. Chifley	Mr. Griffiths	Mr. Minogue	Mr. Thompson
Mr. Beazley	Mr. Clark	Mr. E. James	Mr. Morgan	Mr. Ward
Mr. Bird	Mr. Costa	Harrison	Mr. Mullens	
Mr. W. M. Bourke	Mr. Cremean	Mr. Haylen	Mr. Peters	Tellers :
Mr. Bryson	Mr. Curtin	Mr. Holloway	Mr. Pollard	
Mr. Calwell	Mr. Drakeford	Mr. Johnson	Mr. Riordan	Mr. Daly
Mr. C. R. Cameron	Mr. Edmonds	Mr. Lawson	Mr. Rosevear	Mr. Sheehan

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

Allotment of Time.-Mr. Menzies then moved, That the time allotted in connexion with the Bill be as follows :---

(a) For the second reading, until 11 p.m., Tuesday, 16th May.

(b) For the Committee stage, until 10.30 p.m., Tuesday, 23rd May.

(c) For the remaining stages, until 11 p.m., Tuesday, 23rd May.

Debate ensued.

Question-put.

The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. A. G. Cameron, in the Chair)-

		Ayes, 61.	•	
Mr. Adermann	Mr. Drummond	Mr. Handby	Mr. McDonald	Mr. Swartz
Mr. C. G. W.	Mr. Eggins	Mr. Hasluck	Mr. McEwen	Mr. Timson
Anderson	Mr. Fadden	Mr. Haworth	Mr. McLeay	Mr. Townley
Mr. Bate	Mr. Failes	Mr. Holt	Mr. McMahon	Mr. Turnbull
Mr. Beale	Mr. Fairbairn	Mr. Howse	Mr. Menzies	Mr. Wentworth
Mr. Berry	Mr. Fairhall	Mr. Hughes	Mr. Osborne	Mr. Wheeler
Mr. Bowden	Mr. Falkinder	Mr. Hulme	Sir E. Page	Mr. B. M. Wight
Mr. Brown	Mr. Francis	Mr. Jack	Mr. Pearce	Mr. Wilson
Mr. D. A. Cameron	Mr. Freeth	Mr. Kekwick	Mr. Pittard	
Mr. Casey	·Mr. Gilmore	Mr. Leslie	Mr. Roberton	Tellers:
Mr. Cramer	Mr. Graham	Dame E. Lyons	Mr. C. W. Russell	
Mr. Dean	Mr. Grayden	Mr. McBride	Mr. Ryan	. Mr. Davidson
Mr. Downer	Mr. Hamilton	Mr. McColm	Mr. Spender	Mr. Gullett
		Noes, 41.	-	
Mr. G. Anderson	Mr. Chifley	Mr. Fitzgerald	Mr. Lazzarini	Mr. E. H. D. Russell
Mr. Andrews	Mr. Clark	Mr. Fraser	Mr. Minogue	Mr. Thompson
Mr. Beazley	Mr. Costa	Mr. Griffiths	Mr. Morgan	Mr. Ward
Mr. Bird	Mr. Cremean	Mr. E. James	Mr. Mullens	Mr. Watkins
Mr. W. M. Bourke	Mr. Curtin	Harrison	Mr. O'Connor	
Mr. Bryson	Mr. Drakeford	Mr. Haylen	Mr. Peters	Tellers:
Mr. Calwell	Mr. Duthie	Mr. Holloway	Mr. Pollard	
Mr. C. R. Cameron	Mr. Edmonds	Mr. Johnson	Mr. Riordan	Mr. Daly
Mr. Chambers	Mr. Evatt	Mr. Lawson	Mr. Rosevear	Mr. Sheehan

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

Debate continued on the motion, That the Bill be now read a second time.

Mr. Bird moved, That the debate be now adjourned.

Question-That the debate be now adjourned-put and passed.

Ordered—That the resumption of the debate be made an Order of the Day for the next sitting,

 ADJOURNMENT.—Mr. Holt (Minister for Labour and National Service) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Debate ensued.

Question-put and passed.

And then the House, at eighteen minutes to twelve o'clock midnight, adjourned until to-morrow at half-past ten o'clock a.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Anthony, Mr. Bostock, Mr. T. P. Burke, Mr. Clarey, Mr. Corser, Mr. Davies, Mr. Davis, Mr. Drury, Mr. Eric J. Harrison, Mr. James*, Mr. Kent Hughes, Mr. Lawrence, Mr. Mackinnon, Mr. Mulcahy, Mr. Opperman, Mr. Treloar and Mr. T. W. White.

• On leave,

F. C. GREEN,

Clerk of the House of Representatives.

By Authority: L. F. JOHNSTON, Commonwealth Government Printer, Canberra.