## THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

## VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

## HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

No. 24.

## FRIDAY, 28TH APRIL, 1950.

- 1. The House met, at half-past ten o'clock a.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable A. G. Cameron) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. COMMONWEALTH BANK BILL 1950.—The Order of the Day having been read for the further consideration of this Bill in Committee of the whole House-

Mr. Speaker left the Chair, and the House resolved itself into a Committee of the Whole.

(In the Committee.)

Clause 8 debated-

Mr. Spender (Minister for External Affairs) addressing the Committee-

Closure of Member Moved.—Mr. Ward moved, That the honorable Member be not further heard. Question—put and negatived.

Closure.—Mr. Spender moved, That the question be now put.

Question—That the question be now put—put.
The Committee divided (The Chairman, Mr. Adermann, in the Chair)—

		Ayes, 55.		
Mr. C. G. W.	Mr. Davis	Mr. Hasluck	Mr. McDonald	Mr. Treloar
Anderson	Mr. Dean	Mr. Haworth	Mr. McEwen	Mr. Turnbull
Mr. Bate	Mr. Downer	Mr. Holt	Mr. McLeay	Mr. Wentworth
Mr. Beale	Mr. Drury	Mr. Howse	Mr. McMahon	Mr. T. W. White
Mr. Berry	Mr. Eggins	Mr. Hughes	Mr. Osborne	Mr. B. M. Wight
Mr. Bostock	Mr. Failes	Mr. Hulme	Mr. Pearce	Mr. Wilson
Mr. Bowden	Mr. Fairbairn	Mr. Jack	Mr. Pittard	
Mr. Brown	Mr. Falkinder	Mr. Kekwick	Mr. C. W. Russell	
Mr. D. A. Cameron	Mr. Freeth	Dame E. Lyons	Mr. Ryan	Tellers:
Mr. Casey	Mr. Graham	Mr. Mackinnon	Mr. Spender	
Mr. Corser	Mr. Grayden	Mr. McBride	Mr. Swartz	Mr. Davidson
Mr. Cramer	Mr. Hamilton	Mr. McColm	Mr. Timson	Mr. Gullett
		Noes, 29.		
Mr. G. Anderson	Mr. Cremean	Mr. Holloway	Mr. O'Connor	Tellers:
Mr. Andrews	Mr. Curtin	Mr. Johnson	Mr. Pollard	
Mr. Bird	Mr. Drakeford	Mr. Lazzarini	Mr. Riordan	Mr. Daly
Mr. T. P. Burke	Mr. Fitzgerald	Mr. Minogue	Mr. Rosevear	Mr. Sheehan
Mr. Calwell	Mr. Griffiths	Mr. Morgan	Mr. Thompson	
Mr. Chambers	Mr. E. James	Mr. Mullens	Mr. Ward	
Mr. Chifley	Harrison			
Mr. Costa	Mr. Havlen			

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

And the question—That the clause be agreed to—was put accordingly, and passed.

Clause 9 debated and agreed to.

Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed; Mr. Adermann reported accordingly.

Resolved—That the House will, at the next sitting, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

3. Adjournment.—Mr. Spender (Minister for External Affairs) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Debate ensued.

Question—put and passed.

And then the House, at fifteen minutes to one o'clock p.m., adjourned until Tuesday next at half-past two o'clock p.m.

Members Present.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Anthony, Mr. Beazley, Mr. W. M. Bourke, Mr. Bryson, Mr. C. R. Cameron, Mr. Clarey, Mr. Clark, Mr. Davies, Mr. Duthie, Mr. Edmonds, Mr. Evatt, Mr. Fadden, Mr. Fairhall, Mr. Francis, Mr. Gilmore, Mr. Handby, Mr. Eric J. Harrison, Mr. James, Mr. Kent Hughes, Mr. Keon, Mr. Lawrence, Mr. Lawson, Mr. Leslie, Mr. Menzies, Mr. Mulcahy, Mr. Opperman, Sir Earle Page, Mr. Peters, Mr. E. H. D. Russell, Mr. Watkins and Mr. Wheeler.

F. C. GREEN,
Clerk of the House of Representatives.