THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

AND PROCEEDINGS VOTES

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

No. 72.

TUESDAY, 8TH MARCH, 1949.

- 1. The House met, at three o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—The Deputy Speaker (Mr. Clark) took the Chair, and read Prayers:
- 2. ALTERATION OF HOUR OF NEXT MEETING .- Mr. Chifley (Prime Minister) moved, That the House, at its rising, adjourn until to-morrow at half-past ten o'clock a.m. Question—put and passed.
- 3. Message from the Governor-General.—Assent to Bill.—The following Message from His Excellency the Governor-General was received, and was read by Mr. Deputy Speaker :-

W. J. McKELL,

Governor-General.

Message No. 32.

A proposed Law intituled "New Guinea Timber Rights Commission Act 1949" as finally passed by the Senate and the House of Representatives of the Commonwealth, having been presented to the Governor-General for the Royal Assent, His Excellency has, in the name and on behalf of His Majesty, assented to the said Law.

Government House,

Canberra, 2nd March, 1949.

4. Adjournment-Motion for Purpose of Discussion.—Mr. Lang rose in his place, and said that he proposed to move the adjournment of the House for the purpose of discussing a definite matter of urgent public importance, namely, "The statement made by L. L. Sharkey on behalf of the Communist Party of Australia as a declaration of allegiance to the foreign policy of the Soviet Union, and its treasonable implications in relation to the defence security of this country".

Mr. Deputy Speaker thereupon called upon those Members who approved of the proposed discussion to rise in their places, and more than the necessary number of Members having risen accordingly-

Mr. Lang moved, That the House do now adjourn.

Debate ensued.

Several Members rising to address the House-

Closure.—Mr. Scully (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved, That the question be now put.

Question—That the question be now put—put.
The House divided (The Deputy Speaker, Mr. Clark, in the Chair)—

Ayes, 33.		Noes, 24.		
Mr. Barnard Mr. Beazley Mrs. Blackburn Mr. Brennan Mr. Calwell Mr. Chambers Mr. Chifley Mr. Conelan Mr. Dedman Mr. Dedman Mr. Dedman Mr. Duthie Mr. Edmonds Mr. Fraser Mr. Hadley Mr. Haylen Mr. James Mr. Johnson	Mr. Lawson Mr. Lazzarini Mr. McLeod Mr. Mulcahy Mr. O'Connor Mr. Pollard Mr. Riordan Mr. Russell Mr. Scully Mr. Sheehy Mr. Thompson Mr. Watkins Mr. Williams Tellers: Mr. Fuller Mr. Sheehan	Mr. Adermann Mr. Anthony Mr. Bowden Mr. Cameron Mr. Davidson Mr. Fadden Mr. Francis Mr. Gullett Mr. Hamilton Mr. Harrison Mr. Holt Mr. Howse Mr. Hutchinson	Mr. Lang Mr. McBride Mr. McEwen Mr. Menzies Sir Earle Page Mr. Rankin Mr. Spender Mr. Turnbull Mr. White Tellers: Mr. Corser Mr. McDonald	
nd so it was resolved in the affirmative.				

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

And the question—That the House do now adjourn—being accordingly put— The House divided (The Deputy Speaker, Mr. Clark, in the Chair)—

Ayes, 24.		Noes, 33.	
Mr. Adermann Mr. Anthony Mr. Bowden Mr. Cameron Mr. Davidson Mr. Fadden Mr. Francis Mr. Gullett Mr. Hamilton Mr. Harrison Mr. Holt Mr. Howse Mr. Hutchinson	Mr. Lang Mr. McBride Mr. McEwen Mr. Menzies Sir Earle Page Mr. Rankin Mr. Spender Mr. Turnbull Mr. White Tellers: Mr. Corser Mr. McDonald	Mr. Barnard Mr. Beazley Mrs. Blackburn Mr. Brennan Mr. Calwell Mr. Chambers Mr. Chifley Mr. Conelan Mr. Daly Mr. Dedman Mr. Drakeford Mr. Duthie Mr. Edmonds Mr. Fraser Mr. Itadley Mr. Haylen Mr. James Mr. James Mr. Johnson	Mr. Lawson Mr. Lazzarini Mr. McLeod Mr. Mulcahy Mr. O'Connor Mr. Pollard Mr. Riordan Mr. Russell Mr. Scully Mr. Sheehy Mr. Thompson Mr. Watkins Mr. Williams Tellers: Mr. Fuller Mr. Sheehan

And so it was negatived.

5. Papers.—The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute—

Commonwealth Public Service Act—Appointments—Department—
Commerce and Agriculture—R. A. Sherwin.
Postmaster-General—P. I. Cox, A. D. Goode, R. E. Hartkopf, L. G. Hoyle, B. P. Hunter,

A. W. B. Quinn, A. E. Richardson, W. R. B. Waterworth. Works and Housing—D. P. St. George-Grambauer.

Defence (Transitional Provisions) Act—National Security (Industrial Property) Regulations—

Order-Inventions and designs.

High Commissioner Act—Regulations—Statutory Rules 1949, No. 11.

Hospital Benefits Act—Regulations—Statutory Rules 1949, No. 12.

War Service Homes Act—Regulations—Statutory Rules 1949, No. 13.

- 6. Science and Industry Research Bill 1949.—Mr. Dedman (Minister for Defence) moved, pursuant to notice, That he have leave to bring in a Bill for an Act relating to the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organization. Question—put and passed.
- 7. Shipping Bill 1949.—The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question, That the Bill be now read a second time-

Debate resumed.

Mr. Lazzarini moved, That the debate be now adjourned.

Question—That the debate be now adjourned—put and passed.

Ordered—That the resumption of the debate be made an Order of the Day for the next sitting.

8. Science and Industry Research Bill 1949.—Mr. Dedman (Minister for Defence), pursuant to leave given this day, brought up a Bill intituled "A Bill for an Act relating to the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organization", and moved, That it be now read a first time.

Question—put and passed.—Bill read a first time.

Mr. Dedman moved, by leave, That the Bill be now read a second time.

Mr. Menzies (Leader of the Opposition) moved, That the debate be now adjourned.

Question—That the debate be now adjourned—put and passed.

Ordered-That the resumption of the debate be made an Order of the Day for the next sitting.

- 9. ADJOURNMENT.—Mr. Dedman (Minister for Defence) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Question—put and passed.
- And then the House, at six minutes to ten o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past ten o'clock a.m.
- Members Present.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Abbott, Mr. Beale, Mr. Burke, Mr. Evatt, Mr. Falstein, Mr. Gaha, Mr. Holloway, Mr. Hughes, Mr. Langtry, Dame Enid Lyons, Mr. Rosevear, Mr. Ryan, Mr. Scullin and Mr. Ward.

F. C. GREEN, Clerk of the House of Representatives.