THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

REPRESENTATIVES. HOUSE OF

No. 61.

WEDNESDAY, 16TH FEBRUARY, 1949.

- The House met, at half-past ten o'clock a.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable J. S. Rosevear) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. Papers.—The following Paper was presented, by command of His Excellency the Governor-General—Northern Territory—Report on Administration for year 1946-47.

Ordered to lie on the Table.

The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute—
Commonwealth Public Service Act—Appointments—Department—

Civil Aviation-T. K. Watkins.

Works and Housing-T. B. R. Honeyman, L. O. Shields.

River Murray Waters Act—River Murray Commission—Report for year 1947-48. War Service Homes Act—Report of Director of War Service Homes for year 1947-48, together with statements and balance-sheet.

3. FOREIGN AFFAIRS-MINISTERIAL STATEMENT-MOTION FOR PRINTING PAPER.-The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the following motion of Mr. Evatt (Minister for External Affairs), That the Paper [presented on the 9th February, 1949], viz.:—

Foreign Affairs-Ministerial Statement, 9th February, 1949-

be printed-

Debate resumed.

Ordered—That Mr. Lang be granted an extension of time. Mr. Corser moved, That Mr. Lang be granted a further extension of time.

The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. Rosevear, in the Chair)-

Ayes, 23.		Noes, 36.		
Mr. Abbott	Mr. Hutchinson	Mr. Beazley	Mr. Johnson	
Mr. Adermann	Mr. Lang	Mrs. Blackburn	Mr. Langtry	
Mr. Beale	Dame Enid Lyons	Mr. Brennan	Mr. Lawson	
Mr. Bowden	Mr. McBride	Mr. Burke	Mr. Lazzarini	
Mr. Cameron	Mr. Rankin	Mr. Calwell	Mr. McLeod	
Mr. Davidson	Mr. Ryan	Mr. Chambers	Mr. Mulcahy	
Mr. Fadden	Mr. Turnbull	Mr. Chifley	Mr. O'Connor	
Mr. Falkinder	Mr. White	Mr. Clark	Mr. Pollard	
Mr. Francis		Mr. Conelan	Mr. Riordan	
Mr. Hamilton	Tellers:	Mr. Daly	Mr. Russell	
Mr. Harrison	I etters.	Mr. Dedman	Mr. Scully	
Mr. Holt	Mr. Corser	Mr. Drakeford	Mr. Sheehy	
Mr. Hughes	Mr. McDonald	Mr. Duthie	Mr. Thompson	
		Mr. Edmonds	Mr. Watkins	
		Mr. Evatt	Mr. Williams	
		Mr. Falstein	Tellers:	
	•	Mr. Hadley		
		Mr. Haylen	Mr. Fuller	
		Mr. Holloway	Mr. Sheehan	

And so it was negatived.

Debate continued.

Mr. Bowden moved, That Mr. Holt be granted an extension of time.

Question-put.

16th February, 1949.

The House divided	(The	Speaker,	Mr.	Rosevear,	in	\mathbf{the}	Chair)
-------------------	------	----------	-----	-----------	----	----------------	--------

A 92

Ayes, 23.		N088, 50.		
Mr. Abbott Mr. Adermann Mr. Beale Mrs. Blackburn Mr. Bowden Mr. Cameron Mr. Davidson Mr. Fadden Mr. Falkinder Mr. Francis Mr. Hamilton Mr. Harrison Mr. Holt	Mr. Hughes Mr. Hutchinson Mr. Lang Dame Enid Lyons Mr. McBride Mr. Rankin Mr. Ryan Mr. Turnbull Tellers: Mr. Corser Mr. McDonald	Mr. Barnard Mr. Beazley Mr. Brennan Mr. Burke Mr. Calwell Mr. Chambers Mr. Clark Mr. Conelan Mr. Daly Mr. Dedman Mr. Drakeford Mr. Duthie Mr. Edmonds Mr. Evatt	Mr. Johnson Mr. Langtry Mr. Lawson Mr. Lazzarini Mr. McLeod Mr. Mulcahy Mr. O'Connor Mr. Pollard Mr. Riordan Mr. Russell Mr. Scully Mr. Sheehy Mr. Thompson Mr. Watkins	
	- · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	Mr. Edmonds	Mr. Thompson	

And so it was negatived.

Debate continued.

Mr. Evatt moved, That the debate be now adjourned.

Question—That the debate be now adjourned—put and passed.

Ordered—That the resumption of the debate be made an Order of the Day for the next sitting.

4. Adjournment.—Mr. Evatt (Attorney-General) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Question—put and passed.

And then the House, at two minutes past ten o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past two o'clock p.m.

Members Present.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Blain, Mr. Gaha, Mr. James, Mr. Lemmon, Mr. McEwen, Mr. Scullin and Mr. Ward.

F. C. GREEN, Clerk of the House of Representatives.

Noon 36