THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

REPRESENTATIVES. HOUSE OF

No. 16.

WEDNESDAY, 29TH SEPTEMBER, 1948.

- 1. The House met, at half-past ten o'clock a.m., pursuant to adjournment.—I'he Deputy Speaker (Mr. Clark) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. AIRCRAFT ACCIDENT, LORD HOWE ISLAND-MINISTERIAL STATEMENT.-Mr. Drakeford (Minister for Air), by leave, made a Ministerial Statement announcing the loss of the lives of seven Royal Australian Air Force personnel in an accident to a Catalina aircraft engaged on navigation exercises at Lord Howe Island.

3. Papers.—The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute—
Arbitration (Public Service) Act—Determinations by the Arbitrator, &c.—1948—

No. 64—Federated Ironworkers' Association of Australia.

Nos. 65 and 66—Amalgamated Postal Workers' Union of Australia.

No. 67—Electrical Trades Union of Australia and Amalgamated Engineering Union.

4. Supply-Budget Debate.-The House, according to Order, resolved itself into the Committee of Supply.

(In the Committee.)

General debate resumed on the question, That the first item in the Estimates, under Division No. 1.--Senate—namely-

Salaries and allowances

be agreed to, and on the Amendment moved thereto by Mr. Harrison, viz. :- ... hat the first item be reduced by £1.

General debate concluded.

Question—That the item proposed to be reduced be so reduced—put.

The Committee divided (The Temporary Chairman, Mr. Watkins, in the Chair)—

Ayes, 23.		Noes, 35	
Mr. Abbott	Dame Enid Lyons	Mr. Barnard	Mr. Johnson
Mr. Beale	Mr. McBride	Mr. Beazley	Mr. Lang
Mr. Bowden	Sir Earle Page	Mrs. Blackburn	Mr. Langtry
Mr. Cameron	Mr. Rankin	Mr. Brennan	Mr. Lawson
Mr. Davidson	Mr. Ryan	Mr. Burke	Mr. Lemmon
Mr. Fadden	Mr. Spender	Mr. Calwell	Mr. McLeod
Mr. Falkinder	Mr. Turnbull	Mr. Chambers	Mr. O'Connor
Mr. Francis	Mr. White	Mr. Clark	Mr. Pollard
Mr. Gullett		Mr. Conelan	Mr. Riordan
Mr. Hamilton	Wallens.	Mr. Daly	Mr. Russell
Mr. Harrison	Tellers:	Mr. Dedman	Mr. Scully
Mr. Hughes	Mr., Corser	Mr. Drakeford	Mr. Thompson
Mr. Hutchinson	Mr. McDonald	Mr. Duthie	Mr. Ward
		Mr. Edmonds	Mr. Williams
		Mr. Fraser	
	•	Mr. Gaha	Tellers:
		Mr. Hadley	
		Mr. Haylen	Mr. Fuller
		Mr. Holloway	Mr. Sheehan

And so it was negatived. First item agreed to.

F.4574.

Remainder of Vote—" Parliament, £314,100"—debated.

Sir Earle Page moved, as an amendment, That Division No. 7.—Parliamentary Standing Committee on Broadcasting, £2,700—be omitted.

Debate continued.

Question—That the Division proposed to be omitted be so omitted—put. The Committee divided (The Deputy Chairman, Mr. Burke, in the Chair)—

Ayes, 23.		Noes, 33.	
Mr. Abbott Mr. Beale Mr. Bowden Mr. Cameron Mr. Davidson Mr. Fadden Mr. Falkinder Mr. Francis Mr. Gullett Mr. Harrison Mr. Hughes Mr. Hutchinson Mr. Lang	Dame Enid Lyons Mr. McBride Sir Earle Page Mr. Rankin Mr. Ryan Mr. Spender Mr. Turnbull Mr. White Tellers: Mr. Corser Mr. McDonald	Mr. Barnard Mr. Beazley Mrs. Blackburn Mr. Brennan Mr. Calwell Mr. Chambers Mr. Clark Mr. Conelan Mr. Daly Mr. Dedman Mr. Drakeford Mr. Duthie Mr. Edmonds Mr. Fraser Mr. Gaha Mr. Hadley Mr. Haylen Mr. Holloway	Mr. Johnson Mr. Langtry Mr. Lawson Mr. Lemmon Mr. McLeod Mr. O'Connor Mr. Pollard Mr. Riordan Mr. Russell Mr. Scully Mr. Thompson Mr. Ward Mr. Williams Tellers: Mr. Fuller Mr. Sheehan

And so it was negatived.

Remainder of Vote agreed to.

Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed; Mr. Burke reported accordingly.

Resolved—That the House will, at the next sitting, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

5. Adjournment.—Mr. Scully (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved, That the House do now adjourn.

Question—put and passed.

And then the House, at twenty-four minutes past ten o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past two o'clock p.m.

Members Present.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Adermann, Mr. Anthony, Mr. Evatt, Mr. Falstein, Mr. Holt, Mr. Howse, Mr. James, Mr. Lazzarini, Mr. McEwen, Mr. Menzies, Mr. Mulcahy, Mr. Rosevear, Mr. Scullin and Mr. Sheehy.

F. C. GREEN,

Clerk of the House of Representatives.