THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

REPRESENTATIVES. HOUSE OF

No. 72.

TUESDAY, 30TH SEPTEMBER, 1947.

- 1. The House met, at three o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable J. S. Rosevear) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. Petition.—Mr. Cameron presented a Petition from certain electors of the State of South Australia, praying that no further steps should be taken by the Government towards the nationalization of the banking system without first seeking the authority of the Australian people. Petition received and read.
- 3. ALTERATION OF HOUR OF NEXT MEETING .- Mr. Chifley (Prime Minister) moved, That the House, at its rising, adjourn until to-morrow at half-past ten o'clock a.m. Question—put and passed.
- 4. Papers.—The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute—

Commonwealth Public Service Act-Appointments-Department-

Treasury—A. J. Hagger.

Works and Housing—G. M. Bowden, I. R. O. Dean, E. L. Norman, T. B. Passmore, E. M. Thompson, A. N. Walton.

5. Supply-Budget Debate.-The House, according to Order, resolved itself into the Committee of Supply.

(In the Committee.)

General debate resumed on the question, That the first item in the Estimates, under Division No. 1-Senate—namely

Salaries and allowances

£9,900

be agreed to.

General debate concluded.

First item agreed to.

Remainder of Vote- "Parliament, £324,700 "-agreed to.

Vote—" Prime Minister's Department, £2,335,200"—agreed to. Vote—" Department of External Affairs, £1,032,000"—debated.

Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed: Mr. Clark reported accordingly.

Resolved—That the House will, at the next sitting, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

- 6. Adjournment.—Mr. Chifley (Prime Minister) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Question—put and passed.
- And then the House, at twenty-seven minutes past ten o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past ten o'clock a.m.
- MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Barnard, Mr. Blain, Mr. Evatt, Mr. Fadden, Mr. Haylen, Mr. Holt, Mr. Hutchinson, Mr. James, Mr. Lazzarini, Mr. O'Connor, Mr. Scullin and Mr. Ward.

F. C. GREEN, Clerk of the House of Representatives.