THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

No. 116.

FRIDAY, 28TH JUNE, 1946.

- 1. The House met, at half-past ten o'clock a.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable J. S. Rosevear) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. ALTERATION OF DAY OF NEXT MEETING.—Mr. Chifley (Prime Minister) moved, That the House, at its rising, adjourn until Wednesday next at three o'clock p.m. Question—put and passed.
- 3. NORTHERN AUSTRALIA DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE—MINISTERIAL STATEMENT—MOTION FOR PRINTING PAPER.—Mr. Johnson (Minister for the Interior), by leave, made a Ministerial Statement on the work of the Northern Australia Development Committee, and, by command of His Royal Highness the Governor-General, laid upon the Table the following Paper:—

Northern Australia Development Committee—Statement by the Minister for the Interior on the work of the Committee—

and moved, That the Paper be printed.

Mr. Blain moved, That the debate be now adjourned.

Question—That the debate be now adjourned—put and passed.

Ordered-That the resumption of the debate be made an Order of the Day for the next sitting.

4. PAPER.—The following Paper was presented, pursuant to Statute---

Commonwealth Public Service Act—Appointment—Department of External Affairs—H. Gilchrist.

5. Parliamentary Proceedings Broadcasting Bill 1946.—The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question, That the Bill be now read a second time-- Debate resumed.

Sir Earle Page was granted leave to continue his speech when the debate is resumed.

- Ordered—That the debate be now adjourned, and that the resumption of the debate be made an Order of the Day for the next sitting.
- 6. Adjournment.—Mr. Chifley (Prime Minister) moved, That the House do now adjourn.

 Debate ensued.

Question-put and passed.

- And then the House, at thirteen minutes to five o'clock p.m., adjourned until Wednesday next at three o'clock p.m. .
- Members Present.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. J. A. Beasley, Mr. Brennan, Mr. Clark, Mr. Drakeford, Mr. Evatt, Mr. Holloway, Mr. Lawson, Mr. Lemmon, Dame Enid Lyons, Mr. Martens, Mr. Rankin, Mr. Scully, Sir Frederick Stewart, and Mr. Williams.

F. C. GREEN, Clerk of the House of Representatives,