THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

OF REPRESENTATIVES. HOUSE

No. 81.

THURSDAY, 20TH SEPTEMBER, 1945.

- 1. The House met, at half-past ten o'clock a.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable J. S. Rosevear) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. DEMOBILIZATION OF DEFENCE FORCES-MINISTERIAL STATEMENT.-Mr. Dedman (Minister for Post-war Reconstruction), by leave, made a Ministerial Statement informing the House of the further steps decided upon by the Government to accelerate the demobilization of members of the armed forces.
- 3. Supply—Estimates 1945-46.—The House, according to Order, resolved itself into the Committee of Supply.

(In the Committee.)

Remainder of Vote-" Parliament, £219,500 "-debated and agreed to.

Vote—"Prime Minister's Department, £1,286,300"—debated and agreed to.

Vote—"Prime Minister's Department, £1,286,300"—debated and agreed to.

Vote—"Department of External Affairs, £260,500"—debated and agreed to.

Vote—"Department of the Treasury, £2,362,000"—debated and agreed to.

Vote—"Attorney-General's Department, £403,000"—debated and agreed to.

Vote—"Department of Works and Housing, £175,000"—debated and agreed to.

Vote—"Department of Works and Housing, £175,000"—debated and agreed to.

Vote-" Department of Civil Aviation, £717,000"-debated-

Mr. Cameron moved, as an amendment, That the amount be reduced by £1.

Debate continued.

Amendment negatived.

Vote agreed to.

Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed; Mr. Riordan reported accordingly.

Resolved-That the House will, at the next sitting, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

4. ADJOURNMENT.-Mr. Chifley (Prime Minister) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Debate ensued.

Question—put and passed.

And then the House, at eighteen minutes to twelve o'clock midnight, adjourned until to-morrow at half-past ten o'clock a.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT .- All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Adermann, Mr. Anthony, Mr. Blain*, Mr. Brennan*, Mr. Evatt*, Mr. Haylen*, Mr. Lawson*, Mr. Mulcahy*, Sir Earle Page, Mr. Scully*, Mr. Sheehy, Mr. Spender, Mr. White*, and Mr. Wilson.

• On leave.

F. C. GREEN,

Clerk of the House of Representatives.