THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE REPRESENTATIVES OF

No. 72.

FRIDAY, 31st AUGUST, 1945.

- 1. The House met, at half-past ten o'clock a.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable J. S. Rosevear) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. ALTERATION OF DAY OF NEXT MEETING.-Mr. Chifley (Prime Minister) moved, That the House, at its rising, adjourn until Wednesday next at three o'clock p.m. Question—put and passed.
- 3. Australian Advisory War Council-Ministerial Statement.-Mr. Chifley (Prime Minister), by leave, made a Ministerial Statement informing the House that the Australian Advisory War Council had ceased to function, following the cessation of hostilities. Mr. Chifley expressed appreciation of the services of the non-Government Members of the Council. Mr. Fadden, by leave, also addressed the House.
- 4. Award of Campaign Stars-Ministerial Statement.-Mr. Beasley (Minister for Defence), by leave, made a Ministerial Statement informing the House of the present position in regard to the award of campaign stars to members of the Australian Forces.
- 5. LAND SETTLEMENT SCHEME FOR EX-SERVICEMEN-MINISTERIAL STATEMENT-MOTION FOR PRINTING Paper.—The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the following motion of Mr. Dedman (Minister for Post-war Reconstruction), That the Paper [presented on the 20th July], viz.:

Land Settlement Scheme for Ex-Servicemen-Ministerial Statement, 20th July, 1945-

be printed-

Debate resumed.

Mr. Anthony moved, That the debate be now adjourned.

Question—That the debate be now adjourned—put and passed.

Ordered—That the resumption of the debate be made an Order of the Day for the next sitting.

6. Adjournment.—Mr. Chifley (Prime Minister) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Debate ensued.

Question—put and passed.

And then the House, at ten minutes past four o'clock p.m., adjourned until Wednesday next at three o'clock p.m.

Members Present.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Blain*, Mr. Breen, Mr. Brennan*, Mr. Cameron, Mr. Evatt, Mr. Falstein, Mr. Forde, Mr. Gaha, Mr. Guy,

Mr. Haylen, Mr. Holloway, Mr. James, Mr. Lawson, Dame Enid Lyons, Mr. Menzies, Mr. Mulcahy, Mr. Pollard, Mr. Rankin, Mr. Scully*, Sir Frederick Stewart, Mr. Watkins, Mr. White, and

Mr. Williams.

* On leave.

F. C. GREEN, Clerk of the House of Representatives.