THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

REPRESENTATIVES. HOUSE OF

No. 27.

FRIDAY, 24TH NOVEMBER, 1944.

- The House met, at half-past ten o'clock a.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable J. S. Rosevear) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. Papers.—The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute—

Defence Act—Regulations—Statutory Rules 1944, No. 164.
Defence Act and Naval Defence Act—Regulations—Statutory Rules 1944, No. 163.
National Security Act—Regulations—Statutory Rules 1944, No. 165.

3. STATES GRANTS (DROUGHT RELIEF) BILL 1944.—The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question, That the Bill be now read a second time—And on the Amendment moved thereto by Mr. McEwen, viz.:—That all words after "That" be omitted with a view to inserting the following words in place thereof:—"this House is of the opinion that the Bill is incomplete in that the amount provided is inadequate because it fails to make provision for producers of other primary products who have been adversely affected by drought conditions and that financial provision should be made for such cases having regard to the circumstances of the persons concerned "-

Debate resumed.

Question—That the words proposed to be omitted stand part of the question—put.

The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. Rosevear, in the Chair)-

	·	•	
Ayes, 37.		Noes, 18.	
Mr. Barnard Mr. Breen Mr. Brennan Mr. Bryson Mr. Calwell Mr. Chambers Mr. Clark Mr. Coles Mr. Daly Mr. Dedman Mr. Evatt Mr. Fraser Mr. Frost Mr. Fuller Mr. Gaha Mr. Hadley Mr. Johnson Mr. Langtry	Mr. Lazzarini Mr. Lemmon Mr. Makin Mr. McLeod Mr. Morgan Mr. Mulcahy Mr. Pollard Mr. Riordan Mr. Russell Mr. Scullin Mr. Scully Mr. Sheehy Mr. Sheehy Mr. Ward Mr. Williams Tellers: Mr. Martens Mr. Sheehan	Mr. Abbott Mr. Adermann Mr. Anthony Mr. Bowden Mr. Cameron Mr. Fadden Mr. Harrison Mr. Holt Mr. Hutchinson Dame Enid Lyons	Mr. McDonald Mr. McEwen Mr. Rankin Mr. Rýan Sir Frederick Stewart Mr. White Tellers: Mr. Corser Mr. Guy

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

Question—That the Bill be now read a second time—put and passed.—Bill read a second time. Mr. Speaker left the Chair, and the House resolved itself into a Committee of the Whole.

(In the Committee.)

Clauses 1 and 2 agreed to.

Clause 3-

Mr. Adermann moved, as an amendment, That after "Victoria," (page 2, line 1) the word "Queensland," be inserted.

Debate ensued.

Chairman's Ruling.—The Chairman (Mr. Riordan) ruled that the amendment was not in order as it

would alter the destination of the appropriation.

Dissent from Chairman's Ruling.—Mr. Adermann having handed in, in writing, an objection to the Ruling of the Chairman, moved, That the Ruling be dissented from.

Debate ensued. F.4654.

Question—That the Ruling be dissented from—put. The Committee divided (The Chairman, Mr. Riordan, in the Chair)—

Noes, 35. Ayes, 19. Mr. Lazzarini Mr. Barnard Mr. Abbott Mr. McDonald Mr. Lemmon Mr. Makin Mr. McLeod Mr. McEwen Mr. Breen Mr. Adermann Mr. Bryson Mr. Burke Mr. Rankin Mr. Anthony Mr. Bowden Mr. Ryan Mr. Morgan Mr. Cameron Mr. Calwell Sir Frederick Stewart Mr. Mulcahy Mr. Pollard Mr. Chambers Mr. Coles Mr. White Mr. Chifley Mr. Fadden Mr. Clark Mr. Russell Mr. Harrison Tellers: Mr. Scullin Mr. Daly Mr. Holt Mr. Dedman Mr. Evatt Mr. Scully Mr. Sheehy Mr. Corser Mr. Hutchinson Dame Enid Lyons Mr. Guy Mr. Smith Mr. Ward Mr. Williams Mr. Fraser Mr. Frost Mr. Fuller Mr. Gaha Mr. Hadley Tellers: Mr. Haylen Mr. Johnson Mr. Martens Mr. Langtry Mr. Sheehan

And so it was negatived.

Clause agreed to.

Clause 4 agreed to.

Clause 5

Mr. Menzics (Leader of the Opposition) moved, as an amendment, That the words "a manner approved by the Minister" (page 2, lines 13 and 14) be omitted with a view to inserting the following words in place thereof:—"accordance with any agreement or agreements made or to be made between the Commonwealth and that State".

Debate ensued.

Amendment negatived.

Clause agreed to.

Preamble agreed to.

Title agreed to.

Bill to be reported without amendment.

The House resumed; Mr. Riordan reported accordingly.

On the motion of Mr. Scully (Minister for Commerce and Agriculture), the House adopted the Report, and (the Standing Orders having previously been suspended, see page 68), the Bill was read a third time.

- 4. Postfonement of Business.—Ordered—That the intervening business be postponed until after Notice of Motion No. 1, General Business.
- 5. Amendment of Press and Broadcasting Censorship Order-Motion for Disallowance.-Mr. Cameron moved, pursuant to notice, That the amendment of the Press and Broadcasting Consorship Order under the National Security (General) Regulations, dated the 18th May, 1944, and notified in Gazette No. 101, be disallowed.

Debate ensued.

Closure.—Mr. Chifley (Treasurer) moved, That the question be now put.

Question—That the question be now put—put and passed.

And the question—That the motion be agreed to—was put accordingly, and negatived.

6. Message from the Senate.—Commonwealth Observatory Fund Bill 1944.—Mr. Speaker announced the receipt of the following Message from the Senate:-

President.

The Senate has passed a Bill for "An Act to amend the Solar Observatory Fund Act 1930-1932 '", and transmits the same to the House of Representatives for its concurrence.

GORDON BROWN,

The Senate,

Canberra, 24th November, 1944.

Mr. Lazzarini (Minister representing the Minister for the Interior) moved, That the Bill transmitted by the foregoing Message be now read a first time.

Question—put and passed.—Bill read a first time.

Ordered—That the second reading be made an Order of the Day for the next sitting.
7. Adjournment.—Mr. Chifley (Treasurer) moved, That the House do now adjourn.

Debate ensued.

Ordered-That Mr. Makin (Minister for the Navy) be granted an extension of time.

Debate continued.

Question—put and passed.

And then the House, at three minutes to five o'clock p.m., adjourned until Tuesday next at three o'clock p.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Beasley, Mr. Blain*, Mr. Curtin, Mr. Drakeford, Mr. Falstein, Mr. Francis, Mr. James, Mr. Lawson, Mr. Mountjoy, and Sir Earle Page. On leave.

F. C. GREEN,

Clerk of the House of Representatives.