1940 - 41 - 42.

THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA, CANBERRA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS "THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

No. 82.

THURSDAY, 21st MAY, 1942.

- 1. The House met, at half-past ten o'clock a.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable W. M. Nairn) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. SOCIAL SECURITY—JOINT COMMITTEE—FOURTH INTERIM REPORT.—Mr. Barnard, Chairman, brought up the Fourth Interim Report from the Joint Committee on Social Security, and moved, That the Paper be printed.

Question—put and passed.

- 3. ALTERATION OF DAY OF NEXT MEETING.—Mr. Curtin (Prime Minister) moved, That the House, at its rising, adjourn until Wednesday next at three o'clock p.m. Question—put and passed.
- 4. PAPERS.—The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute—

Lands Acquisition Act-Land acquired-For Defence purposes-

Geraldton, Western Australia. Parkes, New South Wales.

5. REGULATIONS-MOTION FOR DISALLOWANCE.—The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the following motion of Mr. Menzies, That the National Security (Employment of Women) Regulations under the National Security Act, made by Statutory Rules 1942, No. 146, be disallowed---

Debate resumed.

Ordered—That Mr. Brennan be granted an extension of time. Debate continued.

Question—put.

The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. Nairn, in the Chair)-

Aves,	25.
-------	-----

	,		2.000,000
Mr. Abbott	Mr. Menzies	Mr. Baker	Mr. Langtry
Mr. Beck	Mr. Paterson	Mr. Barnard	Mr. Lawson
Mr. Cameron	Mr. Perkins	Mr. Beasley	Mr. Lazzarini
Mr. Duncan-Hughes	Mr. Price	Mr. Blackburn	Mr. Makin
Mr. Fadden	Mr. Prowse	Mr. Breen	Mr. Mulcahy
Mr. Harrison	Mr. Rankin	Mr. Brennan	Mr. Pollard
Mr. Holt	Mr. Ryan	Mr. Calwell	Mr. Riordan
Mr. Hughes	Mr. Spooner	Mr. Chifley	Mr. Rosevear
Mr. Hutchinson	Mr. Stacey	Mr. Clark	Mr. Scullin
Mr. Jolly	•	Mr. Curtin	Mr. Scully
Sir Charles Marr		Mr. Drakeford	Mr. Sheehan
Mr. Marwick	Tellers:	Mr. Falstein	Mr. Ward
Mr. McDonald	Mr. Badman	Mr. Frost	
Mr. McEwen	Mr. Guy	Mr. Holloway	Tellers:
	•	Mr. James	Mr. Conelan
		Mr. Johnson	Mr. Martens

And so it was negatived.

6. ADJOURNMENT.—Mr. Curtin (Prime Minister) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Debate ensued.

Question-put and passed.

- And then the House, at five minutes to five o'clock p.m., adjourned until Wednesday next at three o'clock p.m.
- MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Anthony, Sir George Bell, Mr. Blain*, Mr. Coles, Mr. Collins, Mr. Dedman, Mr. Evatt*, Mr. Forde, Mr. McCall, Mr. McLeod, Sir Earle Page*, Mr. Spender, Sir Frederick Stewart, Mr. White*, and Mr. Wilson.

• On leave.

F. C. GREEN,

Noes. 30.

Clerk of the House of Representatives.