THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA, CANBERRA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

No. 45.

THURSDAY, 6TH OCTOBER, 1938.

- 1. The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable G. J. Bell) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. Paper.—The following Paper was presented, pursuant to Statute— Land Tax Assessment Act—Applications for relief from taxation dealt with from 1st January, 1937, to 30th June, 1938.
- 3. Postponement of Notice of Motion.—Ordered—That Notice of Motion No. 1, General Business, be postponed until Thursday, 27th October.
- 4. DISALLOWANCE OF STATUTORY RULES.—Mr. Ward moved, pursuant to notice, That Statutory Rules No. 75 of 1938, being amendments of the Australian Military Regulations, be disallowed.

Debate ensued. Question—put.

The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. Bell, in the Chair)-

Ayes, 25.		Noes, 33.	
Mr. Baker Mr. Beasley Mr. Beasley Mr. Brennan Mr. Clark Mr. Drakeford Mr. Forde Mr. Frost Mr. Green Mr. Holloway Mr. James Mr. Lazzarini Mr. Mahoney Mr. Makin	Mr. Maloney Mr. Martens Mr. Pollard Mr. Riordan Mr. Scullin Mr. Scully Mr. Sheehan Mr. Ward Mr. Watkins Tellers: Mr. Gander Mr. George Lawson	Mr. Anthony Mr. Cameron Mr. Casey Mr. Collins Mr. Corser Mr. Fairbairn Mr. Francis Mr. Gregory Sir Henry Gullett Mr. Holt Mr. Hunter Mr. Hutchinson Mr. Jennings Mr. Jolly Mr. Lane Mr. John Lawson Sir Charles Marr	Mr. Nairn Sir Earle Page Mr. Paterson Mr. Price Mr. Prowse Mr. Rankin Mr. Scholfield Mr. Spender Mr. Stacey Sir Frederick Stewart Mr. Street Mr. Thompson Mr. White Tellers: Mr. Gardner
		Mr. McEwen	Mr. Nock

And so it was negatived.

5. COAL STRIKE—MINISTERIAL STATEMENT.—Sir Earle Page (Minister for Commerce), by leave, made a Ministerial Statement informing the House of the terms of settlement of the coal strike.
Mr. Curtin (Leader of the Opposition), Mr. James, Mr. Lazzarini, Mr. Francis, and Mr. Scully, by leave, also made Statements in regard to the matter.

Mr. Lane asked leave to make a Statement.

- Objection being raised, leave not granted.
- 6. Lause of Notice of Motion.—Upon Notice of Motion No. 3, General Business, being called on and not being moved, it was, under Standing Order No. 102, withdrawn from the Notice Paper.
- 7. Lapse of Notice of Motion.—Upon Notice of Motion No. 4, General Business, being called on and not being moved, it was, under Standing Order No. 102, withdrawn from the Notice Paper.
- 8. WITHDRAWAL OF NOTICE OF MOTION.—Mr. Curtin (Leader of the Opposition) withdrew Notice of Motion No. 5, General Business, standing in his name.
- 9. Australian Capital Territory—Canberra Community Hospital Ordinance—Motion to Disallow.—Mr. Baker moved, pursuant to notice, That Ordinance No. 20 (Canberra Community Hospital) of 1938, made under the Seat of Government Acceptance Act and the Seat of Government (Administration) Act, be disallowed.

F.6356/37.

Mr. Cameron (Assistant Minister for Commerce) moved, That the debate be now adjourned. Question—That the debate be now adjourned—put.

The House divided (The Deputy-Speaker, Mr. Prowse, in the Chair)-

Ayes, 32.		Noes, 25.		
Mr. Anthony	Mr. McEwen	Mr. Baker	Mr. Maloney	
Mr. Cameron	Mr. Menzies	Mr. Barnard	Mr. Martens	
Mr. Casey	Mr. Nairn	Mr. Beasley	Mr. Pollard	
Mr. Collins	Sir Earle Page	Mr. Brennan	Mr. Riordan	
Mr. Corser	Mr. Paterson	Mr. Clark	Mr. Scullin	
Mr. Fairbairn	Mr. Rankin	Mr. Drakeford	Mr. Scully	
Sir Henry Gullett	Mr. Scholfield	Mr. Forde	Mr. Sheehan	
Mr. Holt	Mr. Spender	Mr. Frost	Mr. Ward	
Mr. Hughes	Mr. Stacey	Mr. Green	Mr. Watkins	
Mr. Hunter	Sir Frederick Stewart	Mr. Holloway		
Mr. Hutchinson	Mr. Street	Mr. James	<i>a</i> 1. 11	
Mr. Jennings	Mr. Thompson	Mr. Lazzarini	Tellers:	
Mr. Jolly	Mr. White	Mr. Mahoney	Mr. Gander	
Mr. Lane	ar ii	Mr. Makin	Mr. George Lawson	
Mr. John Lawson	Tellers:			
Sir Charles Marr	Mr. Gardner		•	
Mr. McCall	Mr. Nock			
A 7 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1				

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

Ordered—That the resumption of the debate be made an Order of the Day for the next sitting.

10. Australian Capital Territory—Hospital Tax Ordinance—Motion to Disallow.— Mr. Baker moved, pursuant to notice, That Ordinance No. 22 (Hospital Tax) of 1938, made under the Seat of Government Acceptance Act and the Seat of Government (Administration) Act, be disallowed. Mr. Thompson (Assistant Minister) moved, That the debate be now adjourned. Question—That the debate be now adjourned—put.

The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. Bell, in the Chair)—

Ayes, 31.		Noes, 24.		
Mr. Anthony Mr. Casey Mr. Collins Mr. Corser Mr. Fairbairn Mr. Francis Mr. Gregory Sir Henry Gullett Mr. Holt Mr. Hughes Mr. Hutchinson Mr. Jennings Mr. Jolly Mr. Lane Sir Charles Marr	Mr. Menzies Mr. Nairn Sir Earle Page Mr. Paterson Mr. Prowse Mr. Rankin Mr. Scholfield Mr. Spender Sir Frederick Stewart Mr. Street Mr. Thompson Mr. White Tellers: Mr. Gardner	Mr. Baker Mr. Barnard Mr. Beasley Mr. Brennan Mr. Clark Mr. Drakeford Mr. Forde Mr. Frost Mr. Green Mr. Holloway Mr. James Mr. Lazzarini Mr. Mahoney Mr. Maloney	Mr. Martens Mr. Pollard Mr. Riordan Mr. Scullin Mr. Scully Mr. Sheehan Mr. Ward Mr. Watkins Tellers: Mr. Gander Mr. George Lawson	
Mr. McEwen	Mr. Gardner Mr. Nock			

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

Ordered-That the resumption of the debate be made an Order of the Day for the next sitting.

11. Ways and Means ["Grievance Day"].—Pursuant to the provisions of Standing Order No. 241, the Order of the Day having been read for going into the Committee of Ways and Means— Question proposed—That Mr. Speaker do now leave the Chair. Debate ensued.

Question—put and negatived.

Resolved—That the House will, at the next sitting, resolve itself into the said Committee.

12. Adjournment.—Sir Earle Page (Minister for Commerce) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Question-put and passed. .

And then the House, at eighteen minutes to eleven o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past

Members Present.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except—Mr. Badman*, Mr. Blackburn, Mr. Blain, Mr. Fadden, Mr. Harrison, Mr. Hawker, Mr. Lyons, Mr. Perkins, Mr. Thorby, and Mr. Wilson.

* On leave.

F. C. GREEN, Clerk of the House of Representatives.