1934-35-36.

THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA. CANBERRA.

AND PROCEEDINGS VOTES

OF THE

REPRESENTATIVES. HOUSE OF

No. 145.

WEDNESDAY, 9TH DECEMBER, 1936.

1. The House met, at half-past ten o'clock a.m., according to the terms of the Resolution of the 4th December, 1936, a.m.--Mr. Speaker (the Honorable G. J. Bell) took the Chair, and read Prayers.

2. MESSAGES FROM THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL.---ASSENT TO BILLS.--The following Messages from His Excellency the Governor-General were received, and were read by Mr. Speaker :-

GOWRIE,

Governor-General.

Proposed Laws intituled :---

" Customs Tariff (No. 2) 1936" " Customs Tariff (Exchange Adjustment) Act (No. 2) 1936" " Customs Tariff (Canadian Preference) (No. 2) 1936" " States Grants (Unemployment Relief) Act 1936"

as finally passed by the Senate and the House of Representatives of the Commonwealth, having been presented to the Governor-General for the Royal Assent, His Excellency has, in the name and on behalf of His Majesty, assented to the said Laws.

Government House,

Canberra, 5th December, 1936.

GOWRIE,

Governor-General.

Proposed Laws intituled :---

" Commonwealth Public Service Act 1936"

" Financial Relief Act (No. 3) 1936"

" Bills of Exchange Act 1936

" Trade Marks Act 1936 '

as finally passed by the Senate and the House of Representatives of the Commonwealth, having been presented to the Governor-General for the Royal Assent, His Excellency has, in the name and on behalf of His Majesty, assented to the said Laws.

Government House, Canberra, 7th December, 1936.

GOWRIE.

Governor-General.

Proposed Laws intituled :---

- "Customs Tariff (No. 3) 1936" "Customs Tariff (Exchange Adjustment) Act (No. 3) 1936" "Sales Tax Amendment Act 1936"

- " Trade Agreement (France) Act 1936 "

"Customs Tariff (No. 4) 1936" "Customs Tariff (Exchange Adjustment) Act (No. 4) 1936" "Customs Tariff (Exchange Adjustment) Act (No. 4) 1936"

- " Papua and New Guinea Bounties Act 1936
- "Customs Tariff (Papua and New Guinea Preference) 1936" "Customs Act 1936"

- " Coinage Act 1936 "
- " Commonwealth Railways Act 1936"
- " Income Tax Assessment Act (No. 2) 1936 "
- "Petroleum Oil Search Act (No. 2) 1936
- " Colonial Light Dues Collection Act 1936"
- " Colonial Light Dues (Rates) Act 1936 '
- " Commonwealth Public Works Committee Act 1936"
- Air Navigation Act 1936 '
- "Wine Overseas Marketing Act 1936"

Message No. 130.

Message No. 129.

Message No. 131.

as finally passed by the Senate and the House of Representatives of the Commonwealth, having been presented to the Governor-General for the Royal Assent, His Excellency has, in the name and on behalf of His Majesty, assented to the said Laws.

Government House,

Canberra, 7th December, 1936.

- 3. MINISTERIAL STATEMENT-MEETING OF PARLIAMENT.-Mr. Lyons (Prime Minister), by leave, made a Ministerial Statement with regard to the reason for the Meeting of Parliament.
- 4. ADJOURNMENT.-Mr. Lyons (Prime Minister) moved, That the House do now adjourn.

Debate ensued.

Mr. Horry Gullett Mr. E. F. Harrison Mr. E. J. Harrison Mr. Holt

Mr. Hughes Mr. Hunter Mr. Hutchinson

Mr. Jennings Mr. Lane Mr. John Lawson

Mr. Lyons

Mr. McBride

Mr. McCall

Mr. Scholfield

Sir Frederick Stewart

Mr. Stacey

Mr. Street Mr. Thorby

Mr. White

Tellers:

Mr. Thompson

Mr. Gardner

Mr. Beasley addressing the House-

Closure .--- Sir Archdale Parkhill (Minister for Defence) moved, That the question be now put. Question-That the question be now put-put.

The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. Bell, in the Chair)----A TON 10

Ayes , 40.		Noes, 23.	
Mr. Aubrey Abbott Mr. A. G. Cameron Sir Donald Cameron Mr. Casey Mr. Thomas Collins Mr. Bernard Corser Mr. J. V. Fairbairn Mr. Josiah Francis Mr. Josiah Francis Mr. Roland Green Sir Henry Gullett Mr. E. F. Harrison Mr. E. J. Harrison Mr. Hughes Mr. Hunter Mr. Hutchinson Mr. Jennings Mr. Lane Mr. John Lawson Mr. Lyons Mr. McBride And so it was resolved in	Mr. McClelland Mr. McEwen Mr. Menzies Mr. Nairn Mr. Nock Mr. Earle Page Sir Archdale Parkhill Mr. Thomas Paterson Mr. Perkins Mr. Price Mr. Prowse Mr. Scholfield Mr. Stacey Sir Frederick Stewart Mr. Street Mr. Thorby Mr. White <i>Tellers:</i> Mr. Gardner Mr. Thompson the affirmative.	Mr. Baker Mr. Barnard Mr. Beasley Mr. Blackburn Mr. Clafk Mr. Curtin Mr. Drakeford Mr. Frost Mr. Garden Mr. Albert Green Mr. Holloway Mr. Holt	Mr. James Mr. Lazzarini Mr. Makin Mr. McCall Mr. Mulcahy Mr. Rosevear Mr. Ward Mr. D. O. Watkins <i>Tellers:</i> Mr. Gander Mr. George Lawson
And the question—That the House do now adjourn—being accordingly put— The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. Bell, in the Chair)—			
· Ayes, 42.		Noes, 21.	
Mr. Aubrey Abbott Mr. A. G. Cameron Sir Donald Cameron Mr. Casey Mr. Thomas Collins Mr. Bernard Corser Mr. J. V. Fairbairn Mr. Fisken Mr. Josiah Francis Mr. Roland Green	Mr. McClelland Mr. McEwen Mr. Menzies Mr. Nairn	Mr. Baker Mr. Barnard Mr. Beasley Mr. Blackburn Mr. Brennan Mr. Clark Mr. Curtin Mr. Drakeford Mr. Frost Mr. Garden	Mr. James Mr. Lazzarini Mr. Makin Mr. Mulcahy Mr. Rosevear Mr. Ward Mr. D. O. Watkins Tellers:
Sir Henry Gullett	Mr. Prowse	Mr. Albert Green	Mr. Gander

Mr. Holloway

And so it was resolved in the affirmative. And then the House, at ten minutes to eleven o'clock a.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past two o'clock p.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except—Mr. Forde, Mr. Gregory, Mr. Hawker, Mr. G. W. Mahoney, Mr. W. Maloney, Sir Charles Marr, Mr. Martens, and Mr. Scullin.

E. W. PARKES,

Clerk of the House of Representatives.

Mr. George Lawson