THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA, ' CANBERRA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE REPRESENTATIVES. OF

No. 88.

FRIDAY, 27TH MARCH, 1936.

- 1. The House met, at half-past ten o'clock a.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable G. J. Bell) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. Paper.—The following Paper was presented, by command of His Excellency the Governor-General—Papua—Annual Report for year 1934-35. Ordered to lie on the Table.
- 3. FLOUR TAX ASSESSMENT BILL (1936).—Mr. Casey (Treasurer) moved, pursuant to notice, That he have leave to bring in a Bill for an Act to amend section twenty-four of the Flour Tax Assessment Act 1934-1935. Question—put and passed.
- 4. Postponement of Notices of Motion.—Ordered—That the consideration of Notices of Motion Nos. 2 and 3 be postponed until after the Orders of the Day, Government Business.
- 5. WAYS AND MEANS [CUSTOMS TARIFF AMENDMENTS (Nos. 3 AND 4)] .- The House, according to Order, resolved itself into the Committee of Ways and Means.

(In the Committee.)

[See proposed Resolutions for Customs Tariff Amendments of the 28th November, 1935 (pages 375-456) and of the 20th March, 1936 (pages 536-538)].

Debate resumed on the motion of Mr. Josiah Francis, That the Item be postponed.

Mr. A. G. Cameron addressing the Committee-

Closure.—Mr. Rosevear moved, That the question be now put.

Question—That the question be now put—put.
The Committee divided (The Temporary Chairman, Mr. Nairn, in the Chair)—

A —.	. 90	,	2=
Ayes, 28.		Noes, 25.	
Mr. Baker	Mr. G. W. Mahoney	Mr. Aubrey Abbott	Mr. McBride
Mr. Barnard	Mr. Martens	Mr. A. G. Cameron	Mr. McClelland
Mr. Beasley	Mr. Mulcahy	Sir Donald Cameron	Mr. McEwen
Mr. Brennan	Mr. Perkins	Mr. Casey	Mr. Nock
Mr. Clark	Mr. Price	Mr. Bernard Corser	Mr. Parkhill
Mr. Curtin	Mr. Riordan	Mr. Roland Green	Mr. Thomas Paterson
Mr. Drakeford	Mr. Rosevear	Mr. Gregory	Mr. Prowse
Mr. Forde	Mr. Scullin	Sir Littleton Groom	Mr. Thorby
Mr. Josiah Francis	Mr. Stacey	Sir Henry Gullett	Mr. White
Mr. Garden	Mr. Ward	Mr. E. J. Harrison	
Mr. James	Mr. D. O. Watkins	Mr. Hawker	
Mr. Jennings		Mr. Hunter	Tellers:
Mr. Lane	Tellers :	Mr. Hutchinson	Mr. Gardner
Mr. John Lawson	Mr. Gander	Mr. Lyons	Mr. Thompson
Mr. Lazzarini	Mr. George Lawson		

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

F.4800/34.

And the question—That the Item be postponed—being accordingly put— The Committee divided (The Temporary Chairman, Mr. Nairn, in the Chair)—

Sir Donald Cameron Mr. Perkins Mr. Clark Mr. Price Mr. Bernard Corser Mr. Riordan Mr. Curtin Mr. Rosevear Mr. Drakeford Mr. Scullin Mr. Forde Mr. Stacey Mr. Josiah Francis Mr. Ward Mr. Garden Mr. D. O. Watkins Sir Littleton Groom Mr. James Mr. Gander Mr. Gander Mr. Gander Mr. Gregory Mr. Prowse Mr. Hawker Mr. Hawker Mr. Hunter Mr. Lyons Mr. McBride Mr. Gardner Mr. McClelland Mr. Thompson	Ayes, 31.		Noes, 21.	
And so it was resolved in the affirmative. Item 239 agreed to. Item 241 debated	Mr. Barnard Mr. Beasley Mr. Brennan Sir Donald Cameron Mr. Clark Mr. Bernard Corser Mr. Curtin Mr. Drakeford Mr. Forde Mr. Josiah Francis Mr. Garden Sir Littleton Groom Mr. James Mr. Jennings Mr. Lane Mr. John Lawson And so it was resolved in Item 239 agreed to.	Mr. G. W. Mahoney Mr. Martens Mr. Mulcaby Mr. Perkins Mr. Price Mr. Riordan Mr. Rosevear Mr. Scullin Mr. Stacey Mr. Ward Mr. D. O. Watkins Tellers: Mr. Gander Mr. George Lawson	Mr. Aubrey Abbott Mr. A. G. Cameron Mr. Casey Mr. Roland Green Mr. Gregory Sir Henry Gullett Mr. E. J. Harrison Mr. Hawker Mr. Hunter Mr. Lyons Mr. McBride	Mr. McEwen Mr. Nock Mr. Parkhill Mr. Thomas Paterson Mr. Prowse Mr. Thorby Mr. White Tellers: Mr. Gardner

The House resumed; Mr. Nairn reported accordingly.
Resolved—That the House will, at the next sitting, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

 ADJOURNMENT.—Mr. Parkhill (Minister for Defence) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Debate ensued. Question—put and passed.

And then the House, at sixteen minutes to four o'clock p.m., adjourned until Tuesday next at three o'clock p.m.

Members Present.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except—Mr. Blain, Mr. Thomas Collins, Mr. Fisken, Mr. Frost, Mr. Albert Green, Mr. E. F. Harrison, Mr. Holloway, Mr. Holt, Mr. Hughes, Mr. Makin, Mr. W. Maloney, Sir Charles Marr, Mr. Menzies, Mr. Earle Page, Mr. Scholfield, and Sir Frederick Stewart.

E. W. Parkes, Clerk of the House of Representatives.