THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA, CANBERRA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

No. 61.

THURSDAY, 7TH NOVEMBER, 1935.

- 1. The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment .-- Mr. Speaker (the Honorable G. J. Bell) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. PAPERS.--The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute --Seat of Government Acceptance Act and Seat of Government (Administration) Act---Ordinance of 1935--No. 16--Canberra Community Hospital Board (No. 2). Nurses Registration Ordinance - Regulations Amended.
- 3. SANCTIONS BILL. -- The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question, That the Bill be now read a second time -Debate resumed.

Limitation of Debate-Extension of Time.-Mr. Parkhill (Minister for Defence) moved, That the time allotted for the second reading be extended until 10.15 p.m.

Question --- put and passed.

Debate continued.

Limitation of Debate. -At fifteen minutes past ten o'clock p.m., Mr. Speaker having called the attention of the House to the fact that the time allotted for the second reading had expired—Question --That the Bill be now read a second time--put. The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. Bell, in the Chair) ---

Noes 22

A 1709 35

Ayes, 50.		N068, 22.		
Mr. Aubrey Abbott Mr. A. G. Cameron Sir Donald Cameron Mr. Thomas Collins Mr. Bernard Corser Mr. J. V. Fairbairn Mr. Fisken Mr. Josiah Francis Mr. Roland Green Mr. Gregory Sir Littleton Groom Mr. E. J. Harrison Mr. Hughes Mr. Hunter Mr. Lane Mr. Lyons Sir Charles Marr Mr. McBride	Mr. McClelland	Mr. Baker Mr. Beasley Mr. Brennan Mr. Clark Mr. Curtin Mr. Drakeford Mr. Forde Mr. Garden Mr. Albert Green Mr. Holloway Mr. James Mr. Lazzarini	Mr. G. W. Mahoney Mr. Martens Mr. Mulcahy Mr. Riordan Mr. Rosevear Mr. Scullin Mr. Ward Mr. D. O. Watkins <i>Tellers:</i> Mr. Gander Mr. George Lawson	
Mr. McCall And so it was resolved in	· · · · · ·	a second time		
And so it was resolved in the affirmative. —Bill read a second time.				

And so it was resolved in the affirmative. -Bill read a second time. **F.4800**.

Mr. Speaker left the Chair, and the House resolved itself into a Committee of the Whole.

(In the Committee.)

Bill, by leave, taken as a whole, and debated.

Member named.-The Chairman (Mr. Prowse) named the honorable Member for Batman (Mr. Brennan) for disregarding the authority of the Chair. Mr. Earle Page (Minister for Commerce) moved, That the honorable Member for Batman be

suspended from the service of the Committee.

Mr. Brennan having expressed his regret, the matter was not further proceeded with.

Debate continued.

Mr. A. G. Cameron addressing the Committee-

Closure of Member moved.-Mr. Brennan moved, That the honorable Member be not further heard. Question-put.

The Committee divided (The Chairman, Mr. Prowse, in the Chair)-

Ayes, 22.		Noes, 33.	
Mr. Baker Mr. Beasley Mr. Brennan Mr. Clark Mr. Curtin Mr. Drakeford Mr. Forde Mr. Garden Mr. Albert Green Mr. Holloway Mr. James Mr. Lazzarini	Mr. G. W. Mahoney Mr. Martens Mr. Mulcahy Mr. Riordan Mr. Rosevear Mr. Scullin Mr. Ward Mr. D. O. Watkins <i>Tellers</i> : Mr. Gander Mr. George Lawson	Mr. Bernard Corser	Mr. Nairn

And so it was negatived.

Debate continued.

Limitation of Debate.-At fifteen minutes past eleven o'clock p.m., the Chairman having called the attention of the Committee to the fact that the time allotted for the Committee stage had expired-Question-That the Bill be agreed to, and reported without amendment-put.

Mr. McBride

Mr. McCall

The Committee divided (The Chairman, Mr. Prowse, in the Chair)-

Ayes, 33.

Noes, 22,

Mr. Gardner

Mr. Thompson

Mr. Aubrey Abbott Mr. A. G. Cameron Sir Donald Cameron Mr. Thomas Collins Mr. Bernard Corser Mr. J. V. Fairbairn Mr. Josiah Francis Mr. Roland Green Mr. Gregory Sir Littleton Groom Mr. E. J. Harrison Mr. Hughes Mr. Hunter Mr. Lane Sir Charles Marr	Mr. McClelland Mr. Nairn Mr. Nock Mr. Earle Page Mr. Parkhill Mr. Thomas Paterson Mr. Price Mr. Scholfield Mr. Stacey Sir Frederick Stewart Mr. Street Mr. Thorby Mr. White Tellers:	Mr. Baker Mr. Beasley Mr. Brennan Mr. Clark Mr. Curtin Mr. Drakeford Mr. Forde Mr. Garden Mr. Albert Green Mr. Holloway Mr. James Mr. Lazzarini	Mr. G. W. Mahoney Mr. Martens Mr. Mulcahy Mr. Riordan Mr. Rosevear Mr. Scullin Mr. Ward Mr. D. O. Watkins <i>Tellers:</i> Mr. Gander Mr. George Lawson
Mr. McBride	Mr. Gardner		

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

Mr. Thompson

The House resumed ; Mr. Prowse reported accordingly. On the motion of Mr. Parkhill, the House adopted the Report. Mr. Parkhill moved, That the Bill be now read a third time.

Debate ensued.

Mr. McCall

Limitation of Debate .- At fifteen minutes to twelve o'clock midnight, Mr. Speaker having called the attention of the House to the fact that the time allotted for the remaining stages had expired-Question-That the Bill be now read a third time-put.

336

7th November, 1935.

The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. Bell, in the Chair)—					
Ayes, 33.		Noes, 22.			
Mr. J. V. Fairbairn Mr. J. Sisken Mr. Josiah Francis Mr. Roland Green Mr. Gregory Sir Littleton Groom Mr. E. J. Harrison Mr. Hughes Mr. Hunter Mr. Lane Sir Charles Marr Mr. McBride Mr. McCall	Mr. Nairn Mr. Nock Mr. Earle Page Mr. Parkhill Mr. Thomas Paterson Mr. Price Mr. Prowse Mr. Scholfield Mr. Stacey Mr. Street Mr. Thorby Mr. White Tellers: Mr. Gardner Mr. Thompson	Mr. Baker Mr. Beasley Mr. Brennan Mr. Clark Mr. Curtin Mr. Drakeford Mr. Forde Mr. Garden Mr. Albert Green Mr. Holloway Mr. James Mr. Lazzarini	Mr. G. W. Mahoney Mr. Martens Mr. Mulcahy Mr. Riordan Mr. Rosevear Mr. Scullin Mr. Ward Mr. D. O. Watkins <i>Tellers</i> : Mr. Gander Mr. George Lawson		
And so it was resolved in the affirmative.—Bill read a third time.					

- 4. ADJOURNMENT .-- Mr. Earle Page (Minister for Commerce) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Question--put and passed.
- And then the House, at ten minutes to twelve o'clock midnight, adjourned until to-morrow at half-past ten o'clock a.m.
- MEMBERS PRESENT.--All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except--Mr. Casey, Mr. Frost*, Sir Henry Gullett*, Mr. E. F. Harrison, Mr. Hawker, Mr. Holt, Mr. Hutchinson*, Mr. Jennings, Mr. John Lawson*, Mr. Makin*, Mr. W. Maloney, Mr. McEwen, Mr. Menzies, and Mr. Perkins*.

• On leave.

E, W. PARKES, Clerk of the House of Representatives.