1934.

THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA, CANBERRA.

PROCEEDINGS VOTES AND OF THE **REPRESENTATIVES.** HOUSE OF

No. 14.

TUESDAY, 4TH DECEMBER, 1934.

- 1. The House met, at three o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.-Mr. Speaker (the Honorable G. J. Bell) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. MINISTERIAL STATEMENT-TRADE TREATY NECOTIATIONS WITH NEW ZEALAND.-Sir Henry Gullett (Minister directing negotiations for Trade Treaties), by leave, made a Ministerial Statement informing the House of the result of the recent Trade Treaty negotiations with New Zealand.
- 3. PAPERS.—The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute— Australian Soldiers' Repatriation Act-Repatriation Commission-Report for year 1933-34.

Ordered to be printed.

Audit Act—Transfers of amounts approved by the Governor-General in Council—Financial year 1933-34-Dated 28th November, 1934.

Australian Soldiers' Repatriation Act—Regulations Amended—Statutory Rules 1934, No. 96. Defence Act—Regulations Amended—Statutory Rules 1934, No. 149. Invalid and Old-age Pensions Act—Regulations Amended—Statutory Rules 1934, No. 142.

Norfolk Island Act-Ordinances of 1934-

No. 14—Licensing of Boats. No. 15—Crown Lands (No. 2).

Northern Territory Acceptance Act and Northern Territory (Administration) Act-Health Ordinance-Nuisance Prevention Regulations Amended. Public Service Ordinance-Regulations Amended.

4. SUPPLY-ESTIMATES, 1934-35.-The House, according to Order, resolved itself into the Committee of Supply.

(In the Committee.)

Vote-" The Department of Defence, £4,187,040 "-debated-

Limitation of Debate.-At six minutes past five o'clock p.m., the Chairman having called the attention of the Committee to the fact that the time allotted for the Vote had expired-

Question—That the Vote be agreed to—put.

The Committee divided (The Chairman, Mr. Prowse, in the Chair)-

Ayes,	29.	•	Noes, 16.	
Mr. A. G. Cameron Mr. Casey Mr. J. V. Fairbairn Mr. Fisken Mr. Gardner Mr. Gregory Sir Henry Gullett Mr. E. F. Harrison Mr. E. J. Harrison Mr. Hawker Mr. Hughes Mr. Jennings Mr. Jennings Mr. John Lawson Mr. Maxwell Mr. McBride	Mr. McEwen Mr. Nock Mr. Parkhill Mr. Thomas Paterson Mr. Price Mr. Stacey Mr. Frederick Stewart Mr. Street Mr. Thorby Mr. White <i>Tellers:</i> Mr. Nairn Mr. Nairn Mr. Thompson	Mr. Beasley Mr. Brennan Mr. Drakeford Mr. Forde Mr. Frost Mr. Garden Mr. Holloway Mr. James Mr. Lazzarini	Mr. Mulcahy Mr. Riordan Mr. Rosevear Mr. Ward Mr. Watkins <i>Tellers:</i> Mr. Blackburn Mr. Gander	

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

Vote—" The Department of Health, £106,670 "—debated— Limitation of Debate.—At seventeen minutes to six o'clock p.m., the Chairman having called the attention of the Committee to the fact that the time allotted for the Vote had expired-Question-That the Vote be agreed to-put and passed.

F.4800.

· :

Vote----- The Department of Commerce, £349,490 "--- debated---

Limitation of Debate.—At twenty-eight minutes past eight o'clock p.m., the Chairman having called the attention of the Committee to the fact that the time allotted for the Vote had expired—

Question—That the Vote be agreed to—put and passed.

Vote—" Miscellaneous Services, £1,151,040 "—debated— Limitation of Debate.—At two minutes to nine o'clock p.m., the Chairman having called the attention of the Committee to the fact that the time allotted for the Vote had expired— Question—That the Vote be agreed to—put and passed. Vote—" Refunds of Revenue, £1,150,000 "— Vote—" Advance to the Treasurer, £2,000,000 "— Vote—" War Services payable out of Revenue, £1,077,190 "—

Ordered to be considered together.

Mr. Mulcahy moved, as an amendment, That the amount of the Vote--- "War Services payable out of Revenue, £1,077,190 "-be reduced by £1.

Debate ensued.

Limitation of Debate.--At thirteen minutes past ten o'clock p.m., the Chairman having called the attention of the Committee to the fact that the time allotted for the Votes had expired-Question—That the amount proposed to be reduced be so reduced—put.

The Committee divided (The Chairman, Mr. Prowse, in the Chair)-

Ayes, 19.

Mr. Beasley Mr. Blackburn Mr. Brennan Mr. Curtin Mr. Drakeford Mr. Forde Mr. Frost Mr. Garden Mr. Albert Green Mr. Holloway Mr. James

Mr. Riordan Mr. Rosevear Mr. Ward Mr. Watkins Tellers: Mr. Gander Mr. Martens

Mr. Lazzarini

Mr. Mulcahy

Noes, 31.

ł	Mr. A. G. Cameron	Mr. McCall
	Mr. Casey	Mr. McClelland
	Mr. J. V. Fairbairn	Mr. McEwen
	Mr. Fisken	Mr. Nock
	Mr. Gardner	Mr. Earle Page
	Mr. Gregory	Mr. Parkhill
	Sir Henry Gullett	Mr. Thomas Paterson
	Mr. E. F. Harrison	Mr. Price
	Mr. E. J. Harrison	Mr. Stacey
	Mr. Hawker	Mr. Street
	Mr. Hughes	Mr. Thorby
	Mr. Hutchinson	Mr. White
	Mr. Jennings	
	Mr. Lane	Tellers:
	Mr. John Lawson	
	Mr. Maxwell	Mr. Nairn
	Mr. McBride	Mr. Thompson

And so it was negatived.

Question-That the Votes be agreed to-put and passed.

Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed; Mr. Prowse reported accordingly.

Resolved—That the House will, at the next sitting, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

- 5. ESTIMATES, 1934-35-ALTERATION TO ALLOTMENT OF TIME.-Mr. Parkhill (Minister for Defence) moved, That the consideration of the following, in connexion with the Estimates 1934-35, viz. :--Vote-Commonwealth Railways;
 - Vote-Postmaster-General's Department ;
 - Vote—Northern Territory ; Vote—Federal Capital Territory ;

Vote—Papua; Vote—Norfolk Island; Supply Resolution, and adoption of Resolution;

Ways and Means Resolution, and adoption of Resolution;

Appropriation Bill-All stages ;

be postponed until to-morrow.

Question-put and passed.

6. ADJOURNMENT.-Mr. Earle Page (Minister for Commerce) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Debate ensued.

Question—put and passed.

. •

• • •

est i i

- And then the House, at twenty minutes to eleven o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at three o'clock p.m.
- MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except—Mr. Aubrey Abbott, Mr. Baker, Mr. Barnard, Sir Donald Cameron, Mr. Clark, Mr. Thomas Collins, Mr. Bernard Corser, Mr. Josiah Francis, Mr. Roland Green, Sir Littleton Groom, Mr. Hunter, Mr. George Lawson, Mr. Lyons, Mr. G. W. Mahoney, Mr. Makin, Mr. W. Maloney, Mr. Marr, Mr. Menzies, Mr. Perkins, and Mr. Scholfield.

E. W. PARKES,

Clerk of the House of Representatives.

By Authority: L. F. JOHNSTON, Commonwealth Government Printer, Canberra.