THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA, CANBERRA.

PROCEEDINGS VOTES AND

REPRESENTATIVES. HOUSE

No. 9.

THURSDAY, 22ND NOVEMBER, 1934.

- 1. The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable G. J. Bell) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. Notice of Motion-Objection to Withdrawal.-Mr. Hunter asked leave to withdraw Notice of Motion No. 1 (General Business) standing in his name. Objection being raised, leave not granted.
- 3. The Late Honorable W. A. Holman.—Mr. Speaker informed the House that he had received from Mrs. Holman a letter expressing appreciation of the bound memento containing the resolution of sympathy passed by the House of Representatives on the 28th June last.
- 4. PAPER.—The following Paper was presented, pursuant to Statute— Public Service Act—Regulations Amended—Statutory Rules 1934, No. 143.
- 5. Sales Tax Assessment (Fiji Imports) Bill.—Mr. Casey (Assistant Treasurer) moved, pursuant to notice, That he have leave to bring in a Bill for an Act to amend the Sales Tax Assessment Act (No. 5) 1930-1934, the Sales Tax Assessment Act (No. 6) 1930-1934, the Sales Tax Assessment Act (No. 7) 1930-1934 and the Sales Tax Assessment Act (No. 8) 1930-1934.
- 6. Immigration Bill (1934).—Mr. Thomas Paterson (Minister for the Interior) moved, pursuant to notice, That he have leave to bring in a Bill for an Act to amend the Immigration Act 1901-1933, and for other purposes.

Debate ensued. Question—put.

The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. Bell, in the Chair)—

Ayes, 32.		Noes, 25.		
Mr. Aubrey Abbott Mr. A. G. Cameron Sir Donald Cameron Mr. Casey Mr. Thomas Collins Mr. Bernard Corser Mr. J. V. Fairbairn	Mr. Maxwell Mr. McBride Mr. McCall Mr. McClelland Mr. McEwen Mr. Menzics	Mr. Baker Mr. Barnard Mr. Beasley Mr. Blackburn Mr. Brennan Mr. Clark Mr. Drakeford Mr. Forde	es, 25. Mr. G. W. Mahoney Mr. Makin Mr. W. Maloney Mr. Martens Mr. Mulcahy Mr. Riordan Mr. Rosevear Mr. Ward	
	Mr. Thomas Paterson	Mr. Forde Mr. Frost Mr. Garden	Mr. Ward Mr. Watkins	
Sir Littleton Groom Sir Henry Gullett	Mr. Prowse	Mr. Albert Green Mr. Holloway	Tellers:	
Mr. E. F. Harrison Mr. Hawker		Mr. James Mr. Lazzarini	Mr. Gander Mr. George Lawson	
Mr. Hunter	Tellers:		· ·	
	Mr. Gardner Mr. Thompson			
And so it was resolved in	the affirmative.			

7. APPROPRIATION (WORKS AND SERVICES) BILL.—The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question, That the Bill be now read a second time— Debate resumed.

Question—put and passed.—Bill read a second time.

Mr. Speaker left the Chair, and the House resolved itself into a Committee of the Whole.

(In the Committee.)

Clause 1 agreed to.

Clause 2 debated and agreed to.

Clause 3 agreed to.

Proposed new clause-

Mr. Beasley moved, That the following new clause be inserted in the Bill:

4. The labour required to carry out any work in the State of New South Wales shall be obtained from a register compiled and controlled by the Commonwealth Director of Works in the State of New South Wales.

Debate ensued.

Proposed new clause withdrawn, by leave.

and the control of the section of the

Schedule debated and agreed to.

F.4800.

Preamble agreed to.

Title agreed to.

Bill to be reported without amendment.

The House resumed; Mr.: Prowse reported accordingly.

On the motion of Mr. Casey (Assistant Treasurer), the House adopted the Report, and (the Standing Orders having previously been suspended, see page 32) the Bill was read a third time.

8. Supply [Budget Debate].—The House, according to Order, resolved itself into the Committee of Supply.

(In the Committee.)

General debate resumed on the question, That the first item in the Estimates under Division I .-The Senate—namely-

Salaries and allowances ...

be agreed to, and on the amendment moved thereto by Mr. Beasley, That the first item be reduced by

Mr. Baker not having concluded his speech at the termination of the time allowed by Standing Order No. 257_B-

Mr. George Lawson moved, That the honorable Member have leave to continue his speech. Question—put.

The Committee divided (The Chairman, Mr. Prowse, in the Chair)-

Mr. Watkins

Ayes, 31.

Noes, 20.

Mr.	Baker	Mr.	Martens	1	Mr. Aubrey	Abbott	Mr.	Lane
Mr.	Barnard	Mr.	Maxwell		Mr. A. G.			McCall
Mr.	Beasley	Mr.	McBride		Sir Donald		$\overline{M}r.$	Menzies
Mr.	Blackburn	Mr.	McClelland	1	Mr. Casey		Mr.	Nairn

Mr. Brennan Mr. McEwen Mr. Thomas Paterson Mr. Thomas Collins Mr. Clark Mr. Drakeford Mr. Mulcahy Mr. Nock Mr. J. V. Fairbairn Mr. Street

Mr. Hutchinson

Mr. Holloway

Mr. Fisken Mr. Gregory Mr. Forde Mr. Riordan Tellers: Mr. Josiah Francis Sir Henry Gullett Mr. Rosevear Mr. Stacey Mr. Ward Mr. Frost Mr. Hawker Mr. Hunter Mr. Gardner Mr. Garden

Mr. Albert Green Mr. E. F. Harrison

Mr. Holloway Tellers: Mr. James

Mr. Lazzarini Mr. Gander

Mr. Makin Mr. George Lawson

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

Debate continued.

Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed; Mr. Prowse reported accordingly.

Resolved—That the House will, at the next sitting, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

9. Adjournment.—Mr. Menzies (Attorney-General) moved, That the House do now adjourn.

Debate ensued.

Question—put.

The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. Bell, in the Chair)-

Aves, 28.	Noes, 24.
11 1 103. 20.	11000.44.

Ayes, 20.		110es, 24.		
Mr. Aubrey Abbott	Mr. McBride	Mr. Baker	Mr. James	
Mr. A. G. Cameron	Mr. McCall	Mr. Barnard	Mr. Lazzarini	
Sir Donald Cameron	Mr. McClelland	Mr. Beasley	Mr. Makin	
Mr. Casey	Mr. Menzies	Mr. Blackburn	Mr. Martens	
Mr. J. V. Fairbairn	Mr. Nairn	Mr. Brennan	Mr. Mulcahy	
Mr. Fisken		Mr. Clark	Mr. Riordan	
Mr. Josiah Francis	Mr. Thomas Paterson	Mr. Curtin	Mr. Rosevear	
Mr. Gregory	Mr. Prowse	Mr. Drakeford	Mr. Ward	
Sir Henry Gullett	Mr. Stacey	Mr. Forde	Mr. Watkins	
Mr. E. F. Harrison	Mr. Street	Mr. Frost	m 11	
Mr. Hawker	Mr. Thompson	Mr. Garden	Tellers:	
Mr. Hunter	- ·	Mr. Albert Green	Mr. Gander	

Tellers:

Mr. Hutchinson Mr. Lane Mr. Thomas Collins

Mr. Gardner Mr. Maxwell

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

And then the House, at twenty-four minutes past eleven o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past ten o'clock a.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except—Mr. Roland Green, Mr. E. J. Harrison, Mr. Hughes, Mr. Jennings, Mr. John Lawson, Mr. Lyons, Mr. Marr, Mr. Earle Page, Mr. Parkhill, Mr. Perkins, Mr. Scholfield, Mr. Frederick Stewart, Mr. Thorby, and Mr. White.

E. W. PARKES,

Mr. George Lawson

Mr. Thompson

Clerk of the House of Representatives.