THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA, CANBERRA.

VOTES AND **PROCEEDINGS**

OF THE

REPRESENTATIVES HOUSE OF

No. 95.

WEDNESDAY, 3RD MAY, 1933.

- 1. The House met, at three o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable G. H. Mackay) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. MINISTERIAL STATEMENT—TRADE AGREEMENTS—BY UNITED KINGDOM WITH DENMARK AND ARGENTINE REPUBLIC.—Mr. Frederick Stewart (Minister for Commerce), by leave, made a Ministerial Statement informing the House of the details of Trade Agreements made by the Government of the United Kingdom with Denmark and the Argentine Republic.
- 3. Adjournment-Motion for Purpose of Discussion.—Mr. McGrath rose in his place, and said matter of urgent public importance, namely, "The proposal to remove the embargo from New Zealand potatoes". that he proposed to move the adjournment of the House for the purpose of discussing a definite
 - Mr. Speaker thereupon called upon those Members who approved of the proposed discussion to rise in their places, and more than the necessary number of Members having risen accordingly-

Mr. McGrath moved, That the House do now adjourn.

Debate ensued.

Mr. Riordan addressing the House-

Closure moved.-Mr. James moved, That the question be now put.

Question—That the question be now put—put.

The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. Mackay, in the Chair)—

Ayes,	6
-------	---

Mr. Beasley Mr. James Mr. W. Maloney Mr. Ward

Tellers:

Mr. Gander Mr. Rosevear

Noes, 51.

Mr. Aubrey Abbott Mr. Lyons Mr. Bell Mr. Makin Mr. Blacklow Mr. Martens Mr. Blakeley Mr. Maxwell Mr. Malcolm Cameron Mr. McBride Mr. Casey Mr. McClelland Mr. Dennis Mr. McGrath Mr. Fenton Mr. Nairn Mr. Josiah Francis Mr. Nock Mr. Parkhill Mr. Gabb Mr. Gibson

Mr. Thomas Paterson Mr. Perkins Mr. Albert Green Mr. Gregory Mr. Price Mr. Prowse Sir Littleton Groom Sir Henry Gullett Mr. Riordan Mr. Guy Mr. Scholfield Mr. Scullin

Mr. E. F. Harrison Mr. E. J. Harrison Mr. Stacey Mr. Hawker Mr. Frederick Stewart

Mr. Thompson Mr. Hill Mr. William Watson Mr. White Mr. Holloway

Mr. Hughes Mr. Hutchin

Mr. Hutchinson

Tellers:

Mr. Jennings Mr. Latham Mr. Gardner Mr. George Lawson Mr. McNicoll

And so it was negatived.

Debate continued.

Mr. Gander moved, That the question be now put.

Speaker's Ruling.—Mr. Speaker declined to put the question, as the House had just made a decision on a similar motion.

Debate continued.

The debate having been continued for two hours, it was terminated in accordance with Standing Order No. 257B.

F.266/32.

3rd May, 1933.

4. Papers.—The following Paper was presented, by command of His Excellency the Governor-General Tariff Board—Report and Recommendation—Plain Clear Sheet Glass.

Ordered to lie on the Table, and to be printed.

The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute—

Commonwealth Bank Act-Treasurer's Statement of combined accounts of Commonwealth Bank and Commonwealth Savings Bank, together with certificate of the Auditor-General, as at 31st December, 1932.

Export Guarantee Act—Return showing assistance granted to 31st March, 1933.

Judiciary Act—Rule of Court—Dated 18th April, 1933,

New Guinea Act—Ordinances of 1933—

No. 5—Extradition.

No. 6-Birds and Animals Protection.

No. 7—Motor Traffic.

No. 8—Immigration. No. 9—Post and Telegraph.

No. 10-Miners' Homestead Leases.

No. 11—Mining (No. 2). No. 12—Explosives.

No. 13—Land.

Seat of Government Acceptance Act and Seat of Government (Administration) Act—Ordinance of 1933—No. 7—Juries.

5. Petrol Commission Bill.—The Order of the Day having been read for the second reading— Mr. Latham (Attorney-General) moved, That the Bill be now read a second time.

Question—put and passed.—Bill read a second time.

Mr. Speaker left the Chair, and the House resolved itself into a Committee of the Whole.

(In the Committee.)

Bill, by leave, taken as a whole, and agreed to.

Bill to be reported without amendment.

The House resumed; Mr. Bell reported accordingly.

On the motion of Mr. Latham, the House adopted the Report.

Ordered—That the third reading be made an Order of the Day for the next sitting.

6. ROYAL COMMISSIONS BILL (1933).—The Order of the Day having been read for the second reading— Mr. Latham (Attorney-General) moved, That the Bill be now read a second time.

Debate ensued.

Mr. Bell Mr. Blacklow Mr. Blakeley

Question—put. The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. Mackay, in the Chair)—

Ayes, 47.

Noes, 6. Mr. Makin Mr. Anstey Mr. Martens Mr. Beasley Mr. Maxwell Mr. James Mr. Malcolm Cameron Mr. McBride Mr. Ward

Mr. Gander

Mr. Rosevear

Mr. McClelland Mr. Bernard Corser Mr. McGrath Tellers:

Mr. Dennis Mr. Fenton Mr. Nairn Mr. Josiah Francis Mr. Parkhill

Mr. Thomas Paterson Mr. Gabb Mr. Perkins

Mr. Gibson Mr. Albert Green Mr. Price Mr. E. C. Riley Mr. Gregory

Sir Littleton Groom Mr. Riordan Mr. Guy Mr. Scholfield Mr. E. F. Harrison Mr. Scullin

Mr. E. J. Harrison Mr. Hawker Mr. Stacey Mr. Frederick Stewart

Mr. Hill Mr. Watkins Mr. William Watson Mr. White Mr. Holloway

Mr. Hutchin Mr. Hutchinson

Mr. Jennings Tellers:Mr. Latham

Mr. George Lawson Mr. Gardner Mr. McNicoll Mr. Lyons

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.—Bill read a second time.

3rd May, 1933.

Mr. Speaker left the Chair, and the House resolved itself into a Committee of the Whole.

(In the Committee.)

Clause 1 agreed to.

Clause 2 debated—

Question-That the clause be agreed to-put.

The Committee divided (The Chairman, Mr. Bell, in the Chair)-

Ayes	, 37.	Noes, 16.
Mr. Blacklow	Mr. McBride	Mr. Anstey
Mr. Malcolm Cameron	Mr. McClelland	Mr. Beasley
Mr. Bernard Corser	Mr. McGrath	Mr. Blakele y
Mr. Dennis	Mr. Nairn	Mr. Albert Green
	Mr. Nock	Mr. Holloway
Mr. Josiah Francis	Mr. Parkhill	Mr. James
Mr. Gabb	Mr. Thomas Paterson	Mr. George Lawson
Mr. Gibson	Mr. Perkins	Mr. Makin
Mr. Gregory	Mr. Price	Mr. E. C. Riley
Mr. Guy	Mr. Prowse	Mr. Riordan
Mr. E. F. Harrison	Mr. Scholfield	Mr. Rosevear
Mr. E. J. Harrison	Mr. Stacey	Mr. Scullin
Mr. Hawker	Mr. Frederick Stewart	Mr. Ward
Mr. Hill	Mr. William Watson	Mr. Watkins
Mr. Hutchin	Mr. White	
Mr. Hutchinson		
Mr. Jennings	Tellers:	Tellors:
Mr. Latham		
Mr. Lyons	Mr. Gardner	Mr. Gander
Mr. Maxwell	Mr. McNicoll	Mr. Martens

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

Clauses 3 and 4 agreed to.

Proposed new clause-

Mr. Beasley moved, That the following new clause be added to the Bill:-

4A. After section six FA of the Principal Act the following section is inserted:-

"6FB. The Commission shall submit a Report to Parliament within four months of the first day of sitting of the Commission.".

Chairman's Ruling.—The Chairman ruled that the proposed new clause was not in order, as it was not relevant to the Bill.

Title agreed to.

Bill to be reported without amendment.

The House resumed; Mr. Bell reported accordingly.

On the motion of Mr. Latham, the House adopted the Report, and, by leave, the Bill was read a third time.

7. ADJOURNMENT.—Mr. Lyons (Prime Minister) moved, That the House do now adjourn.

Debate ensued.

Question—put and passed.

And then the House, at twenty-five minutes to twelve o'clock midnight, adjourned until to-morrow at half-past two o'clock p.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except—Mr. Baker, Mr. Bruce, Mr. Thomas Collins, Mr. Dein, Mr. Forde, Mr. Roland Green, Mr. Holman, Mr. Hunter, Mr. Lane, Mr. John Lawson, Mr. Marr, Mr. Earle Page, and Mr. Thorby.

E. W. PARKES, Clerk of the House of Representatives.