THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA. CANBERRA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

No. 52.

WEDNESDAY, 19TH OCTOBER, 1932.

- 1. The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable G. H. Mackay) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. Supply [Budget Debate].—The House, according to Order, resolved itself into the Committee of Supply.

(In the Committee.)

General debate resumed on the question (see page 279), That the first item in the Estimates under Division I.—The Parliament—namely—

The President £1,300

be agreed to, and on the Amendment moved thereto by Mr. Scullin, That the first item be reduced by fl

Mr. Gabb addressing the Committee and not having concluded his speech at the termination of the time allowed by Standing Order No. 2578—

Ordered—That the honorable Member have leave to continue his speech.

Debate continued.

Mr. W. Maloney addressing the Committee and not having concluded his speech at the termination of the time allowed by Standing Order No. 2578—

Mr. Gander moved, That the honorable Member have leave to continue his speech.

Question-put.

The Committee divided (The Chairman, Mr. Bell, in the Chair)-

Zho Commissio di vitadi (Zho Chiminati) hiri zon,					
Ayes, 19.		Noes, 33.			
Mr. Anstey Mr. Baker Mr. Beasley Mr. Blakeley Mr. Forde Mr. Albert Green Mr. Holloway Mr. James Mr. George Lawson Mr. Makin Mr. Martens	Mr. McGrath Mr. Riordan Mr. Rosevear Mr. Scullin Mr. Ward Mr. Watkins Tellers: Mr. Gander Mr. E. C. Riley	Mr. Thomas Collins Mr. Bernard Corser Mr. Dein Mr. Dennis Mr. Josiah Francis Sir Littleton Groom Mr. E. F. Harrison Mr. E. J. Harrison Mr. Hawker Mr. Hill Mr. Hutchin Mr. Hutchinson Mr. Lane	Mr. McClelland Mr. McNicoll Mr. Nairn Mr. Nock Mr. Earle Page Mr. Parkhill Mr. Thomas Paterson Mr. Scholfield Mr. Stacey Mr. Thorby Mr. White Tellers:		
was any or Section		Mr. Latham Mr. John Lawson	Mr. Gardner Mr. Hunter		

And so it was negatived.

Debate continued.

Question—That the first item be reduced by £1—put.
The Committee divided (The Chairman, Mr. Bell, in the Chair)—

Mr. Baker Mr. Beasley Mr. Scullin Mr. Forde Mr. Ward Mr. Thomas Collins Mr. McClelland Mr. Dein Mr. Nairn Mr. Dennis Mr. Nock Mr. Fenton Mr. Parkhill Mr. Gabb Mr. Gabb Mr. Gibson Mr. Beasley Mr. Nock Mr. Fenton Mr. Price Mr. Gibson Mr. Prowse Mr. E. F. Harrison Mr. Stacey Mr. Hill Mr. Frederick Stewart Mr. Hutchinson	Ayes, 15.		Noes, 32.	
Mr. Lane Mr. Gardner Mr. Lyons Mr. Jennings	Mr. Anstey Mr. Baker Mr. Beasley Mr. Forde Mr. Holloway Mr. James Mr. George Lawson Mr. Makin	Mr. Riordan Mr. Rosevear Mr. Scullin Mr. Ward Tellers: Mr. Gander	Mr. Blacklow Mr. Malcolm Cameron Mr. Casey Mr. Thomas Collins Mr. Dein Mr. Dennis Mr. Fenton Mr. Josiah Francis Mr. Gabb Mr. Gibson Mr. E. F. Harrison Mr. Hawker Mr. Hill Mr. Hutchinson Mr. Lane Mr. Latham	Mr. Marr Mr. McBride Mr. McClelland Mr. McGrath Mr. Nairn Mr. Nock Mr. Parkhill Mr. Thomas Paterson Mr. Price Mr. Prowse Mr. Scholfield Mr. Staccy Mr. Frederick Stewart Tellers: Mr. Gardner

And so it was negatived. Debate continued.

Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed; Mr. Bell reported accordingly.

Resolved—That the House will, at the next sitting, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

3. Adjournment.—Mr. Lyons (Prime Minister) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Question—put and passed.

And then the House, at half-past eleven o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past two o'clock p.m.

Members Present.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except—Mr. Bruce*, Mr. Gullett, Mr. Guy, Mr. Holman, Mr. Hughes*, Mr. Maxwell, and Mr. Nelson.

E. W. PARKES, Clerk of the House of Representatives.