1929-30-31.

THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA, CANBERRA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

REPRESENTATIVES. HOUSE OF

No. 165.

WEDNESDAY, 1st JULY, 1931.

- 1. The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.-Mr. Speaker (the Honorable Norman J. O. Makin) took the Chair, and offered Prayers.
- 2. DEBT CONVERSION AGREEMENT BILL.—The Order of the Day having been read for the further consideration of this Bill in Committee of the whole House—Mr. Speaker left the Chair, and the House resolved itself into a Committee of the Whole.

(In the Committee.)

Clauses 1 to 3 agreed to. The Schedule debated-Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed; Mr. McGrath reported accordingly. Resolved-That the House will, at the next sitting, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

3. COMMONWEALTH DEBT CONVERSION BILL .- The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption

of the debate on the question, That the Bill be now read a second time-Debate resumed.

Closure moved .- Mr. Martens moved, That the question be now put.

Question—That the question be now put-put. The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. Makin, in the Chair)—-

Ayes, 6.	Noes, 50.		
Mr. Keane	Mr. Bell	Mr. Latham	
Mr. Long	Mr. Blakeley	Mr. Lewis	
Mr. W. Maloney		Mr. Mackay	
Mr. Martens	Mr. Donald Cameron		
	Mr. Malcolm Cameron	Mr. Marr	
Tellers:		Mr. Maxwell	
Tetters.		Mr. McGrath	
Mr. Lacey		Mr. McNeill	
Mr. Yates	Mr. Crouch	Mr. Parker Moloney	
	Mr. Culley	Mr. Nairn	
		Mr. Parkhill	
	Mr. Cusack	Mr. Thomas Paterson	
	Mr. Fenton	Mr. Price	
	Mr. Forde	Mr. Prowse	
	Mr. Josiah Francis	Mr. E. C. Riley	
	Mr. Frost	Mr. Rowe	
	Mr. Gabb	Mr. Scullin	
	Mr. Gardner	Mr. Stewart	
	Mr. Gibbons	Mr. Theodore	
	Mr. Albert Green	Mr. Thompson	
	Mr. Roland Green	Mr. Tully	
	Mr. Guy	Mr. White	
	Mr. Hill		
	Mr. Hughes	Tellers:	
	Mr. Jones	Mr. Bayley	
	Mr. Killen	Mr. Hunter	
	- ·		

And so it was negatived.

F.3014.

1st July, 1931.

Debate continued.

Question—That the Bill be now read a second time—put and passed.—Bill read a second time. Mr. Speaker left the Chair, and the House resolved itself into a Committee of the Whole.

(In the Committee.)

Clauses 1 to 8 agreed to.

Clause 9—

Mr. Beasley moved, as an amendment, That the word "may" (page 3, line 24) be omitted with a view to the insertion of the word "must" in place thereof.

Debate ensued.

Question—That the word proposed to be omitted stand part of the clause—put. The Committee divided (The Chairman, Mr. McGrath, in the Chair)—

Ayes, 49.				
Mr.	Bell	Mr.	Lacey	
Mr.	Blakeley	Mr.	Latham	
Mr.	Brennan	Mr.	Lewis	
Mr.	Donald Cameron	Mr.	Long	
Mr.	Malcolm Cameror	Mr.	Mackay	
	Chifley	Mr.	Marks	
Mr.	Coleman	Mr.	Marr	
Mr.	Crouch	Mr.	Maxwell	
Mr.	Cunningham	Mr.	McNeill	
	Cusack		Parker Moloney	
Mr.	Fenton	Mr.	Nairn	
Mr.	Forde	Mr.	Parkhill	
Mr.	Josiah Francis	Mr.	Thomas Paterson	
Mr.	Frost	Mr.	Price	
Mr.	Gabb	Mr.	Prowse	
	Gardner	Mr.	Edward Riley	
Mr.	Gibbons	Mr.	Scullin .	
Mr.	Albert Green		Stewart	
Mr.	Roland Green		Theodore	
Mr.	Guy		Tully	
Mr.	Hawker	Mr.	White	
Mr.	Hill			
Mr.	Hughes	,	P a D ann a	
	Hunter	1	l'ellers:	
Mr.	Jones	Mr.	Bayle y	
Mr.	Keane		E. C. Riley	
And so it was resolved in the affirmative				

Noes, 3. Mr. Beasley *Tellers:* Mr. Eldridge Mr. Riordan

And so it was resolved in the affirmative. Clause agreed to. Clause 10—

Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed ; Mr. McGrath reported accordingly.

Resolved-That the House will, at the next sitting, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

4. MESSAGE FROM THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL.—ASSENT TO BILL.—The following Message from His Excellency the Governor-General was received, and the same was read by Mr. Speaker :--

ISAAC A. ISAACS, Governor-General.

Message No. 75.

A Proposed Law intituled "Seat of Government (Administration) Act 1931," as finally passed by the Senate and the House of Representatives of the Commonwealth, having been presented to the Governor-General for the Royal Assent, His Excellency has, in the name and on behalf of His Majesty, assented to the said Law.

Government House,

Canberra, 1st July, 1931.

5. ADJOURNMENT-COUNT-OUT.-Mr. Scullin (Prime Minister) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Debate ensued.

Mr. Bayley called the attention of Mr. Speaker to the fact that a quorum of Members was not present. The Bells having been rung, and a quorum not having been obtained within the prescribed time, Mr. Speaker thereupon, at twenty-five minutes past eleven o'clock p.m., adjourned the House until to-morrow, at half-past two o'clock p.m.

* On leave.

E. W. PARKES, Clerk of the House of Representatives.

MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except—Mr. Gregory, Mr. Holloway, Mr. James, Mr. Lyons, Mr. Mathews*, Mr. Morgan, Mr. Nelson, Mr. Earle Page*, and Mr. Ward.