THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA, CANBERRA.

AND PROCEEDINGS VOTES

OF THE

REPRESENTATIVES. HOUSE OF

No. 117.

THURSDAY, 12TH MARCH, 1931.

- 1. The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable Norman J. O. Makin) took the Chair, and offered Prayers.
- 2. PAPER.—Mr. Speaker presented, pursuant to Statute-

Commonwealth Bank Act-Balance-sheets of Commonwealth Bank and Commonwealth Savings Bank at 31st December, 1930, and Statement of the Liabilities and Assets of the Note Issue Department at 31st December, 1930; together with the Auditor-General's Reports thereon.

- 3. WANT OF CONFIDENCE IN THE GOVERNMENT.-The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the following motion of Mr. Latham :-

 - (1) That the Government no longer possesses the confidence of this House.
 (2) That a copy of this resolution be forwarded to His Excellency the Governor-General— Debate resumed.

· The House continuing to sit until after midnight—

FRIDAY, 13TH MARCH, 1931.

Debate continued.

Member named.—Mr. Speaker named the honorable Member for Richmond (Mr. Roland Green) for disregarding the authority of the Chair.

Mr. Scullin (Prime Minister) having addressed the House, and Mr. Roland Green having expressed his regret, the matter was not further proceeded with.

Debate continued.

Closure.—Mr. Scullin moved, That the question be now put.

Question—That the question be now put—put.
The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. Makin, in the Chair)—

Ayes, 38.		Noes, 33.	
Mr. Anstey	Mr. Lewis	Mr. Bell	Mr. Marks
Mr. Beasley	Mr. Long	Mr. Donald Cameron	Mr. Marr
Mr. Blakeley	Mr. W. Maloney	Mr. Malcolm Cameron	Mr. Maxwell
Mr. Brennan	Mr. Martens	Mr. Bernard Corser	
Mr. Chifley	Mr. McGrath	Mr. Fenton	Mr. Nairn
Mr. Coleman	Mr. McNeill	Mr. Josiah Francis	Mr. Earle Page
Mr. Crouch	Mr. Parker Moloney	Mr. Gabb	Mr. Parkhill
Mr. Culley	Mr. Edward Riley	Mr. Roland Green	Mr. Thomas Paterson
Mr. Cunningham	Mr. Riordan	Mr. Gregory	Mr. Price
Mr. Curtin	Mr. Rowe	Mr. Gullett	Mr. Prowse
Mr. Cusack	Mr. Scullin	Mr. Guy	Mr. Stewart
Mr. Eldridge	Mr. Theodore	Mr. Hawker	Mr. Thompson
Mr. Forde	Mr. Tully	Mr. Hill	Mr. White
Mr. Frost	Mr. Ward	Mr. Hughes	
Mr. Gibbons	Mr. Watkins	Mr. Killen	<i>(11.77</i>
Mr. Albert Green	Mr. Yates	Mr. Latham	Tellers:
Mr. Holloway	/n 33	Mr. Lyons	Mr. Gardner
Mr. Jones	Tellers:	Mr. Mackay	Mr. Hunter
Mr. Keane	Mr. Lacey		
Mr. Lazzarini	Mr. E. C. Riley	1	

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

And the question—That the motion be agreed to—being accordingly put— The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. Makin, in the Chair)—

• . Ay	es, 33.	No	pes, 38.
Mr. Bell	Mr. Marks	Mr. Anstey	Mr. Lewis
Mr. Donald Cameron	Mr. Marr	Mr. Beasley	Mr. Long
Mr. Malcolm Camero	n Mr. Maxwell	Mr. Blakeley	Mr. W. Maloney
Mr. Bernard Corser	Mr. Morgan	Mr. Brennan	Mr. Martens
Mr. Fenton	Mr. Nairn	Mr. Chifley	Mr. McGrath
Mr. Josiah Francis	Mr. Earle Page	Mr. Coleman	Mr. McNeill
Mr. Gabb	Mr. Parkhill	Mr. Crouch	Mr. Parker Moloney
Mr. Roland Green	Mr. Thomas Paterson	Mr. Culley	Mr. Edward Riley
Mr. Gregory	Mr. Price	Mr. Cunningham	Mr. Riordan
Mr. Gullett	Mr. Prowse	Mr. Curtin	Mr. Rowe
Mr. Guy	Mr. Stewart	Mr. Cusack	Mr. Scullin
Mr. Hawker	Mr. Thompson	Mr. Eldridge	Mr. Theodore
Mr. Hill	Mr. White	Mr. Forde	Mr. Tully
Mr. Hughes	•	Mr. Frost	Mr. Ward
Mr. Killen	Tellers:	Mr. Gibbons	Mr. Watkins
Mr. Latham	1 etters.	Mr. Albert Green	Mr. Yates
Mr. Lyons	Mr. Gardner	Mr. Holloway	m.n
Mr. Mackay	Mr. Hunter `	Mr. Jones	Tellers:
-		Mr. Keane	Mr. Lacey
	•	Mr. Lazzarini	Mr. E. C. Riley

And so it was negatived.

- 4. Parliamentary Standing Committee on Public Works—Resignations of Members.—Mr. Speaker informed the House that he had received letters from Mr. Curtin and Mr. Holloway, resigning their positions as Members of the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Public Works.
- 5. Parliamentary Standing Committee on Public Works—Appointment of Members.—Mr. Scullin (Prime Minister) moved, by leave, That Mr. Lazzarini and Mr. Tully be appointed Members of the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Public Works, in the places of Mr. Curtin and Mr. Holloway, resigned.

 Question—put and passed.
- 6. Paper.—The following Paper was presented, by command of His Excellency the Governor-General—
 Postmaster-General's Department—Twentieth Annual Report, 1929-30.

 Ordered to lie on the Table, and to be printed.
- ADJOURNMENT.—Mr. Scullin (Prime Minister) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Debate ensued. Question—put and passed.

And then the House, at nine minutes past four o'clock p.m., adjourned until Tuesday next at three o'clock p.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except—Mr. James and Mr. Mathews.

E. W. PARKES, Clerk of the House of Representatives.