## THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA, CANBERRA.

## VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

## HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

No. 96.

## TUESDAY, 18TH NOVEMBER, 1930.

- 1. The House met, at three o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable Norman J. O. Makin) took the Chair, and offered Prayers.
- 2. AIR-COMMODORE KINGSFORD-SMITH.—Mr. Speaker informed the House that he had received from Air-Commodore Kingsford-Smith a letter thanking the House for the resolution of congratulation which it passed in connexion with his aerial flight from England to Australia.
- 3. Financial Statement by Acting Treasurer—Motion for Printing Paper.—The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the following motion of Mr. Lyons (Acting Treasurer), That the Paper [presented on the 5th instant,] viz.:—

  Financial Statement by the Honorable J. A. Lyons, Postmaster-General and Acting Treasurer—

be printed, and upon the amendment moved thereto by Mr. Latham, viz.:—That all the words after "That" be omitted and the following words be inserted in place thereof:—"the Government should introduce proposals more closely in accord with the agreement made by the Prime Minister with the Premiers of the States on 21st August last at Melbourne"—

Debate continued.

Mr. Hunter moved, That the debate be now adjourned.

Question—That the debate be now adjourned—put and passed.

Ordered-That the resumption of the debate be made an Order of the Day for the next sitting.

- PAPERS.—The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute— Lighthouses Act—Regulations—Statutory Rules 1930, No. 128. Navigation Act—Regulations Amended—Statutory Rules 1930, Nos. 126, 127.
- 5. Adjournment.—Mr. Fenton (Acting Prime Minister) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Question—put and passed.

And then the House, at ten o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past two o'clock p.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except—Mr. Anstey, Mr. Beasley, Mr. Brennan, Mr. Donald Cameron, Mr. Coleman, Mr. Curtin, Mr. Gibbons, Mr. Guy, Mr. Hill, Mr. Hughes, Mr. James, Mr. Jones, Mr. Killen, Mr. Latham, Mr. Lazzarini, Mr. Lyons, Mr. W. Maloney, Mr. Marks, Mr. Parker Moloney, Mr. Earle Page, Mr. Scullin, Mr. Stewart, and Mr. West.

E. W. PARKES, Clerk of the House of Representatives.