THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRAL!A, CANBERRA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF REPRESENTATIVES.

No. 18.

WEDNESDAY, 19TH MARCH, 1930.

- The House met, at three o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable Norman J. O. Makin) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. Papers.—The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute—

Export Guarantee Act—Return showing assistance granted to 31st December, 1929.

Public Works Committee Act-Fifteenth General Report of the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Public Works.

3. Land Tax Assessment Bill (1930).—The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question, That the Bill be now read a second time-

Debate resumed.

Question-put.

The House divided-

Ayes, 37.		Noes, 22.	
Mr. Anstey Mr. Beasley Mr. Blakeley Mr. Chifley Mr. Coleman Mr. Culley Mr. Curtin Mr. Eldridge Mr. Forde Mr. Frost Mr. Gibbons Mr. Albert Green Mr. Guy Mr. Holloway Mr. James Mr. Jones Mr. Lacey Mr. Lazzarini Mr. Lewis Mr. Long	Mr. Lyons Mr. W. Maloney Mr. Martens Mr. McGrath Mr. McNeill Mr. McTiernan Mr. Parker Moloney Mr. Edward Riley Mr. Riordan Mr. Scullin Mr. Theodore Mr. Tully Mr. Watkins Mr. West Mr. Yates Tellers: Mr. Price Mr. E. C. Riley	Mr. Bell Mr. Donald Cameron Mr. Malcolm Cameron Mr. Bernard Corser Mr. Josiah Francis Mr. Gardner Mr. Gregory Mr. Gullett Mr. Hill Mr. Latham Mr. Mackay Mr. Marks Mr. Maxwell	

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.—Bill read a second time.

Mr. Speaker left the Chair, and the House resolved itself into a Committee of the Whole.

(In the Committee.)

Clause 1 agreed to.

Clause 2 debated.

Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed; Mr. McGrath reported accordingly. Resolved—That the House will, at the next sitting, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

4. Adjournment.—Mr. Scullin (Prime Minister) moved, That the House do now adjourn.

Debate ensued. Question—put and passed.

And then the House, at twenty-eight minutes past ten o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past two o'clock p.m.

Members Present.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except—Mr. Brennan, Mr. Crouch, Mr. Cunningham, Mr. Cusack, Mr. Fenton, Mr. Gabb, Mr. Hawker, Mr. Keane, Mr. Killen, Mr. Mathews, Mr. Morgan, Mr. Nelson, and Mr. Rowe.

E. W. PARKES,

Clerk of the House of Representatives.