THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA, CANBERRA.

No. 176.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

WEDNESDAY, 23RD MAY, 1928.

- 1. The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable Sir Littleton Groom) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. Paper.—The following Paper was presented, by command of His Excellency the Governor-General—High Commissioner of the Commonwealth in the United Kingdom—Report for 1927.

 Ordered to lie on the Table, and to be printed.
- 3. CONCILIATION AND ARBITRATION BILL (No. 2) (1927).—The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question, That the Bill be now read a second time—Debate resumed.
 - Mr. Coleman addressing the House, and not having concluded his speech at the termination of the time allowed by Standing Order No. 257A, asked leave to continue his speech.

 Objection being raised, leave not granted.

Point of Order—Deputy-Speaker's Ruling.—A Point of Order having been raised as to whether the objection of one honorable Member would prevent leave being given to another honorable Member to continue his speech, the Deputy-Speaker (Mr. Bayley) ruled that leave of the House must be granted without any dissentient voice.

Debate continued.

The House continuing to sit until after midnight-

THURSDAY, 24TH MAY, 1928.

Debate continued

Mr. Josiah Francis moved, That the debate be now adjourned.

Question—That the debate be now adjourned—put and passed.

Ordered—That the resumption of the debate be made an Order of the Day for the next sitting.

- 4. ALTERATION OF HOUR OF NEXT MEETING.—Mr. Earle Page (Treasurer) moved, That the House, at its rising, adjourn until eleven o'clock a.m. this day.

 Question—put and passed.
- 5. Adjournment.—Mr. Earle Page (Treasurer) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Question—put and passed.

And then the House, at sixteen minutes past twelve o'clock midnight, adjourned until this day at eleven o'clock a.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except—
Mr. Atkinson, Mr. Bowden, Mr. Bruce, Mr. Grosvenor Francis, Mr. Roland Green, Mr. Hughes,
Mr. Jackson, Sir Elliot Johnson, Mr. Lambert, Mr. Seabrook, and Mr. Watt.

E. W. PARKES, Clerk of the House of Representatives.