PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

No. 81.

PROCEEDINGS

REPRESENTATIVES. HOUSE OF

MONDAY, 9TH AUGUST, 1926.

- 1. The House met, at three o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.-Mr. Speaker (the Honorable Sir Littleton Groom) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. PAPER.—The following Paper was presented, pursuant to Statute—

Tariff Board-Annual Report for 1925-26-together with accompanying Schedule of Recommendations.

Ordered-That the Report be printed.

3. FEDERAL AID ROADS BILL.—The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question, That the Bill be now read a second time-

Debate resumed. Question-put.

The House divided-

Ayes, 39.

Mr. Aubrey Abbott	Mr. Killen
Mr. Atkinson	Mr. Mackay
Mr. Bayley	Mr. Marks
Mr. Bowden	Mr. Marr
Mr. Donald Cameron	Mr. McGrath
Mr. Malcolm Cameron	Mr. Nott
Mr. Robert Cook	Mr. Parsons
Mr. Corser	Mr. Thomas Paterson
Mr. Duncan-Hughes	Mr. Perkins
Mr. Fenton	Mr. Pratten
Mr. Forde	Mr. Edward Riley
Mr. Grosvenor Francis	Mr. E. C. Riley
Mr. Josiah Francis	Sir Granville Řyric
Mr. Gardner	Mr. Seabrook
Sir John Gellibrand	Mr. Watkins
Mr. Gibson	Mr. West

Noes, 13.

Mr. Coleman Mr. Stewart Mr. William Watson Mr. R. W. Foster Mr. Watt Mr. Gullett Mr. Hughes

Mr. Mann Tellers: Mr. Maxwell Mr. Rodgers Mr. Blakeley Mr. Scullin Mr. Brennan

Mr. Lister And so it was resolved in the affirmative.—Bill read a second time.

Tellers:

Mr. Hunter

Mr. Speaker left the Chair, and the House resolved itself into a Committee of the Whole.

(In the Committee.)

Clause 1 agreed to.

Mr. Albert Green Mr. Roland Green

Sir Neville Howse

Mr. Hill

Mr. Hurry

Clause 2 debated.

Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed; Mr. Bayley reported accordingly.

Resolved—That the House will, at the next sitting, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

4. PAPERS.—The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute-

Post and Telegraph Act-Regulations Amended-Statutory Rules 1926, Nos. 72, 91, 92. 93.

9th August, 1926.

- 5. ALTERATION OF HOUR OP NEXT MEETING.—Mr. Bruce (Prime Minister) moved, That the House, at its rising, adjourn until eleven o clock a.m. to-morrow. Question—put and passed.
- 6. ADJOURNMENT.—Mr Bruce (Prime Minister) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Question—put and passed.

And then the House, at thirteen minutes to eleven o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at eleven o'clock a.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except—
Mr. Anstey, Mr. Bell, Mr. Charlton, Mr. Gregory, Mr. Jackson, Sir Elliot Johnson, Mr. Lacey,
Mr. Lambert, Mr. Latham, Mr. Lazzarini, Mr. Ley, Mr. Mahony, Mr. Makin, Mr. Manning, Mr.
Earle Page, Mr. Prowse, Mr. Thompson, and Mr. Yates.

WALTER A. GALE,
Clerk of the House of Representatives.