## THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

### No. 64.

## VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

# HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

### FRIDAY, 9TH JULY, 1926.

- 1. The House met, at eleven o'clock a.m., pursuant to adjournment.--Mr. Speaker (the Honorable Sir Littleton Groom) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. MINISTERIAL STATEMENT—LEAGUE OF NATIONS—MOTION FOR PRINTING PAPER.—Mr. Bruce (Prime Minister) made a Ministerial Statement with reference to the forthcoming Seventh Session of the Assembly of the League of Nations, and, by command of His Excellency the Governor-General, laid upon the Table the following Paper:—

League of Nations—Agenda of the Seventh Session of the Assembly, to be held at Geneva on Monday, 6th September, 1926.

and moved, That the Paper be printed.

Mr. Scullin moved, That the debate be now adjourned.

Question—That the debate be now adjourned—put and passed.

Ordered -That the resumption of the debate be made an Order of the Day for the next sitting.

3. Message from the Senate.—Seat of Government (Administration) Bill (1926).—Mr. Speaker announced the receipt of the following Message from the Senate:—

Mr. Speaker,

Message No. 42.

The Senate has passed a Bill for "An Act to amend the Seat of Government (Administration) Act 1924'", and transmits the same to the House of Representatives for its concurrence.

JOHN NEWLANDS,

The Senate,

Melbourne, 9th July, 1926.

President.

Mr. Marr (Minister representing the Minister for Home and Territories) moved, That the Bill transmitted by the foregoing Message be now read a first time.

Question—put and passed.—Bill read a first time.
Ordered—That the second reading be made an Order of the Day for a later hour this day.

4. JUDICIARY BILL (1926).—The Order of the Day having been read for the further consideration of this Bill in Committee of the whole House—Mr. Speaker left the Chair, and the House resolved itself into a Committee of the Whole.

#### (In the Committee.)

Clause 2 agreed to.

Clause 3-

Mr. Fenton moved, as an amendment, That sub-section (1.) of proposed new section 48A be omitted. Debate ensued.

F.17940.

9th July, 1926.

Question—That the amendment be agreed to—put. The Committee divided—

Ayes, 21.		Noes, $28_{\bullet}$	
Mr. Blakeley	Mr. Parker Moloney	Mr. Bowden	Mr. Marks
Mr. Brennan	Mr. E. C. Riley	Mr. Bruce	Mr. Marr
Mr. Forde	Mr. Scullin	Mr. Donald Cameron	Mr. Nott
Mr. Gardner	Mr. Seabrook	Mr. Duncan-Hughes	Mr. Earle Page
Mr. Albert Green	Mr. Stewart	Mr. Josiah Francis	Mr. Parsons
Mr. Lacey	Mr. William Watson	Sir John Gellibrand	Mr. Thomas Paterson
Mr. Lazzarini	Mr. West	Mr. Gibson	Mr. Perkins
Mr. Mahony		Mr. Roland Green	Mr. Pratten
Mr. W. Maloney	Tellers:	Mr. Gullett	Mr. Prowse
Mr. Mathews	Letters.	Mr. Hill	Mr. Rodgers
Mr. Maxwell	Mr. Coleman	Sir Neville Howse	Sir Granville Ryrie
Mr. McGrath	Mr. Yates	Mr. Hughes	•
		Sir Elliot Johnson	Tellers:
		Mr. Latham	Mr. Hunter

And so it was negatived.

Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed; Mr. Makin reported accordingly.

Resolved—That the House will, at the next sitting, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

5. Papers.—The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute—

Tariff Board Act—Tariff Board Report—Bounty on Cotton Yarn.

Ordered to be printed.

Lands Acquisition Act—Land acquired at Woodside, South Australia—For Defence purposes.

Northern Territory Acceptance Act and Northern Territory (Administration) Act—Ordinance of 1926—No. 15—Meat Industry Encouragement (Poll).

Mr. Mackay

Public Service Act—Regulations Amended—Statutory Rules 1926, No. 86.

- 6. Electoral Act—Joint Select Committee—Appointment of Mr. Donald Cameron in place of Mr. Manning.—Mr. Bruce (Prime Minister) moved, by leave—
  - (1) That Mr. Manning be discharged from attendance on the Joint Select Committee on Electoral Law, and that Mr. Donald Cameron be appointed in his place.
  - (2) That the foregoing Resolution be communicated to the Senate by Message. Question—put and passed.
- 7. ADJOURNMENT.—Mr. Bruce (Prime Minister) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Question—put and passed.

And then the House, at four o'clock p.m., adjourned until Tuesday next at three o'clock p.m.

Members Present.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except—
Mr. Aubrey Abbott, Mr. Anstey\*, Mr. Atkinson, Mr. Bayley, Mr. Malcolm Cameron, Mr.
Charlton, Mr. Corser, Mr. R. W. Foster, Mr. Grosvenor Francis, Mr. Hurry, Mr. Killen\*, Mr.
Lambert, Mr. Ley, Mr. Mann, Mr. Manning, Mr. Edward Riley, Mr. Thompson, and Mr
Watkins.

\* On leave.

WALTER A. GALE, Clerk of the House of Representatives.

Mr. Lister