## THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH.

No. 66.

## VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

## HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

## THURSDAY, 24TH SEPTEMBER, 1903.

- 1. The House met pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. Resignation of Prime Minister, and consequent Formation of New Ministry.—Mr. Deakin informed the House that the Prime Minister had that morning tendered his resignation to the Governor-General, and that His Excellency had been pleased to accept the same, and had cast upon him (Mr. Deakin) the duty of continuing the Government. The new Government had been formed as follows:—

Prime Minister and Minister of State for External Affairs—The Honorable Alfred Deakin, Minister of State for Trade and Customs—The Honorable Sir William Lyne,

Treasurer—The Right Honorable Sir George Turner,

Minister of State for Home Affairs—The Right Honorable Sir John Forrest,

Attorney-General—The Honorable J. G. Drake,

Postmaster-General—The Honorable Sir Philip Fysh,

Minister of State for Defence-The Honorable Austin Chapman, and

Vice-President of the Federal Executive Council—The Honorable Thomas Playford.

The late Prime Minister had communicated by telegram with the present Chief Justice of Queensland, and had that morning received from him a reply accepting the offer of the Chief Justiceship of the High Court of the Commonwealth. Since the resignation of Sir Edmund Barton, the new Ministry had offered to Sir Edmund Barton and to Senator O'Connor the positions of Justices of the High Court, and they had accepted them.

New Ministers would be sworn in that afternoon.

3. Special Adjournment.—Mr. Deakin moved, That the House, at its rising, adjourn until Tuesday next.

Debate ensued.

Question-put and resolved in the affirmative.

4. ADJOURNMENT.—Mr. Deakin moved, That the House do now adjourn.

Debate ensued.

Question—put and resolved in the affirmative.

And then the House, at five minutes to three o'clock p.m., adjourned until Tuesday next, at half-past two o'clock p.m.

Members Present.—All Members were present except—Sir Edmund Barton, Mr. Batchelor, Mr. Clarke, Mr. Cruickshank, Mr. A. C. Groom, Mr. Higgins, Mr. Isaacs, Mr. Kennedy, Mr. Macdonald-Paterson, Mr. McColl, Mr. F. E. McLean, Sir John Quick, Mr. Reid, Mr. Sawers, Mr. Bruce Smith, and Mr. V. L. Solomon.

C. GAVAN DUFFY, Clerk of the House of Representatives.