9

THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH.

No. 4.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

FRIDAY, 29TH MAY, 1903.

1. The House met pursuant to adjournment.-Mr. Speaker took the Chair, and read Prayers.

2. PAPERS.— Sir Edmund Barton presented, by command of His Excellency the Governor-General— Immigration Restriction Act 1901—

Refusal of Certificates of Domicile to three Chinese, residents of the Northern Territory-Papers relating to.

Admission of certain Boilermakers, under contract, into Western Australia—Further Papers relating to.

Severally ordered to lie on the Table.

3. ADDRESS IN REPLY TO HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL'S SPEECH.—The Order of the Day for the resumption of the debate on the question—That the following Address in reply to the Speech of His Excellency the Governor-General, be agreed to by this House :—

MAY IT PLEASE YOUR EXCELLENCY :

We, the House of Representatives of the Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia, in Parliament assembled, beg to express our loyalty to our Most Gracious Sovereign, and to thank Your Excellency for the Speech which you have been pleased to address to Parliament—

having been read-

Debate resumed.

Mr. Wilks moved, That the debate be now adjourned.

Question-That the debate be now adjourned-put and resolved in the affirmative.

Ordered-That the resumption of the debate be made an Order of the Day for Tuesday next.

4. ADJOURNMENT.—Sir Edmund Barton moved, That the House, at its rising, adjourn until Tuesday next, at half-past two o'clock p.m.

Question-put and resolved in the affirmative.

Sir Edmund Barton moved, That the House do now adjourn.

Debate ensued.

Question—put and resolved in the affirmative.

- And then the House, at eight minutes past four o'clock p.m., adjourned until Tuesday next, at halfpast two o'clock p.m.
- MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present except—Sir Langdon Bonython, Mr. R. Edwards, Mr. Ewing, Sir Philip Fysh, Mr. Glynn, Mr. A. C. Groom, Mr. Harper, Mr. Knox, Mr. Macdonald-Paterson, Mr. Manifold, Sir Malcolm McEacharn, Sir William McMillan, Mr. Sawers, Mr. Bruce Smith, Mr. Thomas, and Mr. Watkins.

C. GAVAN DUFFY,

Clerk of the House of Representatives.