1903.

THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH.

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

No. 12.

WEEKLY REPORT OF DIVISIONS IN COMMITTEE.

WEEK ENDED 9TH OCTOBER, 1903.

WEDNESDAY, 7TH OCTOBER, 1903.

No. 24.—Resolutions re Procedure as to Selection of the Seat of Government-

 Λ Preferential Ballot shall be taken without debate in the following manner:—

-(Minister for Trade and Customs.)

Amendment proposed—That the words "An open exhaustive Ballot" be inserted at the beginning of the line.

-(Mr. Watson.)

Amendment upon amendment proposed—That the words "in which no Member shall vote a second time until the site for which he first voted has been struck out" be added to the proposed amendment.

-(Mr. McCay.)

Question—That the words proposed to be added be so added—put.

The Committee divided-

The Committee divided $-$					
Ayes, 22.		Noes	Noes, 32.		
Ayes, 2 Sir Langdon Bonython, Sir Edward Braddon, Mr. Cameron, Mr. Hume Cook, Mr. Winter Cooke, Mr. Crouch, Mr. Deakin, Mr. G. B. Edwards, Mr. R. Edwards, Mr. Fowler, Mr. Kingston, Mr. Kirwan,	Mr. Knox, Mr. A. McLean, Mr. O'Malley, Mr. Ronald, Mr. Skene, Mr. E. Solomon, Mr. Thomas, Mr. Tudor. Tellers. Mr. Batchelor, Mr. McCay.	Mr. Brown, Mr. Chapman, Mr. Clarke, Mr. Conroy, Mr. Joseph Cook, Mr. Fuller, Mr. L. E. Groom, Mr. Hartnoll, Mr. Higgins, Mr. Hughes, Mr. Isaacs, Mr. Kennedy, Sir William Lyne, Mr. Mahon, Mr. Mauger, Mr. McDonald, Sir William	Mr. Page, Mr. Page, Mr. Paterson, Sir John Quick, Mr. Reid, Mr. Sawers, Mr. Bruce Smith, Mr. Sydney Smith, Mr. Spence, Mr. Thomson, Sir George Turner, Mr. Watson, Mr. Wilkinson, Mr. Willis. Tellers. Mr. Ewing,		
		McMillan,	Mr. Wilks.		

And so it passed in the negative.

FRIDAY, 9TH OCTOBER, 1903.

No. 25.—Seat of Government Bill—Clause 2 (as amended)—

2. It is hereby determined that the Seat of Government of the Commonwealth shall be at or near Tumut.

-(Minister for Trade and Customs.)

Further amendment proposed—That the words "and the territory granted to or acquired by the Commonwealth within which the Seat of Government shall be [shall] contain an area of not less than One thousand square miles" be added to the clause.

—(Mr. McDonald.)

Amendment upon further amendment proposed—That the word "shall" (second occurring) be omitted from the proposed further amendment, with a view to the insertion of the word "should" in place thereof.

-(Mr. McCay.)

Question—That the word proposed to be omitted stand part of the proposed further amendment—put.

The Committee divided—

Ayes, 17.

Noes, 35.

•				
Mr. Batchelor,	Sir John Quick,	ĺ	Sir Langdon	Mr. Manifold,
Mr. Crouch,	Mr. Ronald,		Bonython,	Mr. McCay,
Mr. Fisher,	Mr. E. Solomon,		Mr. Brown,	Mr. F. E. McLean,
Mr. Fowler,	Mr. Tudor,		Mr. Chapman,	Sir William
Mr. Kingston,	Mr. Wilkinson.		Mr. Clarke,	McMillan,
Mr. Kirwan,			Mr. Conroy,	Mr. Paterson,
Mr. Mauger,	m 11	ľ	Mr. Joseph Cook,	Mr. Sawers,
Mr. McDonald,	Tellers.		Mr. Winter Cooke,	Mr. Skene,
Mr. A. McLean,	Mr. Hume Cook,	ł	Mr. Deakin,	Mr. Bruce Smith,
Mr. O'Malley,	Mr. Salmon;		Mr. R. Edwards,	Mr. Sydney Smith,
,		1	Mr. Ewing,	Mr. Spence,
			Sir John Forrest,	Mr. Thomson,
		-	Mr. L. E. Groom,	Sir George Turner,
			Mr. Hartnoll,	Mr. Watkins,
			Mr. Hughes,	Mr. Watson,
		-	Mr. Knox,	Mr. Willis.
	•	4	Sir William Lyne,	en 11
			Mr. Macdonald-	Tellers.
	•	l'	Paterson,	Mr. Fuller,
		1	Mr. Mahon.	Mr. Wilks.

And so it passed in the negative.

No. 26.—Seat of Government Bill (continued)—Clause 2 (as amended)—(continued)—

2. It is hereby determined that the Seat of Government of the Commonwealth shall be at or near Tumut, and the territory granted to or acquired by the Commonwealth within which the Seat of Government shall be should contain an area of not less than One thousand square miles.

—(Minister for Trade and Customs.)

Further amendment proposed—That the words "and shall extend to the River Murray" be added to the clause.

-(Mr. Skene.)

Question—That the words proposed to be added be so added—put.

The Committee divided-

Ayes, 30.

Noes, 19.

j 00, 0 ·	••	,	
Mr. Batchelor,	Mr. McDonald,	Mr. Brown,	Mr. Paterson,
Sir Langdon	Sir Malcolm	Mr. Clarke,	Mr. Bruce Smith,
Bonython,	'McEacharn,	Mr. Conroy,	Mr. Spence,
Mr. Chapman,	Mr. A. McLean,	Mr. Joseph Cook,	Mr. Thomson,
Mr. Hume Cook,	Mr. O'Malley,	Mr. R. Edwards,	Mr. Watkins,
Mr. Winter Cooke,	Sir John Quick,	Mr. L. E. Groom,	Mr. Willis.
Mr. Crouch,	Mr. Sawers,	Mr. Hartnoll,	
Mr. Deakin,	Mr. Skene,	Mr. Hughes,	
Mr. Ewing,	Mr. E. Solomon,	Mr. Kirwan,	Tellers.
Mr. Fisher,	Mr. Tudor,	Mr. F. E. McLean,	1 etters.
Sir John Forrest,	Sir George Turner,	Sir William	Mr. Fuller,
Mr. Kingston,	Mr. Watson,	McMillan,	Mr. Sydney Smith.
Sir William Lyne,	Mr. Wilkinson.		
Mr. Macdonald-		·	
Paterson,	Tellers.		
Mr. Mahon,	1 etters.		
Mr. Manifold,	Mr. McCay,		
Mr. Mauger,	Mr. Salmon.)	· ·
And so it was resolved	in the affirmative.		(နယ်က် <u>မို</u> န

No. 27.—Seat of Government Bill (continued)—Clause 2 (as amended)—(continued).

2. It is hereby determined that the Seat of Government of the Commonwealth shall be at or near Tumut, and the territory granted to or acquired by the Commonwealth within which the Seat of Government shall be should contain an area of not less than One thousand square miles, and shall extend to the River Murray.

-(Minister for Trade and Customs.)

Further amendment proposed—That the words "and the River Murrumbidgee" be added to the clause.

-(Mr. Brown.)

Question—That the words proposed to be added be so added—put. The Committee ${\bf divided}$

Aves, 35.

Noes, 11.

11you, 00.	?
Mr. Batchelor,	Mr. McCay,
Sir Langdon	Mr. McDonald,
Bonython,	Mr. A. McLean,
Mr. Brown,	Mr. O'Malley,
Mr. Cameron,	Mr. Paterson,
Mr. Chapman,	Sir John Quick,
Mr. Conroy,	Mr. Ronald,
Mr. Winter Cooke,	Mr. Salmon,
Mr. Deakin,	Mr. Sawers,
Mr. R. Edwards,	Mr. Skene,
Mr. Ewing,	Mr. Bruce Smith,
Mr. Fisher,	Mr. E. Solomon,
Sir John Forrest,	Mr. Spence,
Mr. Hartnoll,	Sir George Turner,
Mr. Higgins,	Mr. Wilkinson.
Mr. Kingston,	Tellers.
Mr. Knox,	_ ***********
Sir William Lyne,	Mr. Hume Cook,
Mr. Mauger,	Mr. Watson.

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

Mr. Clarke,	Mr. F. E. McLean,
Mr. Joseph Cook,	Mr. Thomson,
Mr. Fuller,	Mr. Watkins.
Mr. Kirwan,	m 11
Mr. Mahon,	Tellers.
Sir Malcolm	Mr. Sydney Smith,
McEacharn.	Mr. Wilks.
,	