THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH.

No. 201.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

TUESDAY, 19TH AUGUST, 1902.

- 1. The House met pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. Adjournment—Motion for Purpose of Discussion.—Mr. V. L. Solomon rose in his place, and said that he proposed to move the adjournment of the House for the purpose of discussing a definite matter of urgent public importance, namely, "The question of the efficiency of the South Australian Military Forces."
 - Mr. Speaker thereupon called upon those Members who approved of the proposed discussion to rise in their places, and five Members having accordingly risen—
 - Mr. V. L. Solomon moved, That the House do now adjourn.

Debate ensued.

Question—put and negatived.

- 3. PAPER.—The following Paper was laid upon the Table by the Clerk:—
 - Printing for Parliament and New Commonwealth Departments—Part Return to an Order of the House, dated 18th April, 1902.
- 4. ELECTORAL BILL.—The Order of the Day for the further reconsideration of this Bill in Committee of the whole House having been read—Mr. Speaker left the Chair, and the House resolved itself into a Committee of the Whole.
 - Mr. Speaker resumed the Chair; Mr. Chanter reported that the Committee had reconsidered the portions of the Bill referred to it and had agreed to the same with further amendments
 - portions of the Bill referred to it and had agreed to the same with further amendments. Sir William Lyne moved, by leave, That the Reports from the Committee of the whole House on the Bill be now adopted.
 - Mr. V. L. Solomon moved, That the Bill be now again recommitted to a Committee of the whole House for the reconsideration of clause 98A.

Debate ensued.

Question—That, the Bill be now again recommitted to a Committee of the whole House for the reconsideration of clause 98A—put.

The House divided—

Ayes,	1	2 .
-------	---	--------

Mr. Dakahalan	/ Mr. 37 T G.1.
Mr. Batchelor,	Mr. V. L. Solomon,
Mr. Brown,	Mr. Tudor,
Mr. Winter Cooke,	Mr. Wilks.
Mr. Hartnoll,	<i>m</i> 11
Mr. Higgins,	Tellers.
Mr. Kirwan,	Mr. G. B. Edwards,
Mr. Manifold,	Mr. Watson.
•	

Noes 24

Noes, 24.		
Mr. Bamford,	Mr. Kennedy,	
Sir Langdon	Sir William Lyne,	
Bonython,	Sir Malcolm	
Mr. Chanter,	McEacharn,	
Mr. Clarke,	Mr. O'Malley,	
Mr. Hume Cook,	Mr. Paterson,	
Mr. Crouch,	Mr. Ronald,	
Mr. Deakin,	Mr. E. Solomon,	
Mr. R. Edwards,	Mr. Thomas,	
Mr. Fowler,	Sir George Turner.	
Mr. Fuller,	-	
Sir Philip Fysh,	Tellers.	
Mr. L. E. Groom,	Mr. Mauger,	
Mr. Isaacs,	Mr. Sydney Smith.	

And so it passed in the negative.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES. 19th August, 1902.

Question—That the Reports from the Committee of the whole House on the Bill be now adopted—put and resolved in the affirmative.

Sir William Lyne moved, by leave, That the Standing Orders be suspended so as to allow the Bill to be read a third time this day.

Debate ensued.

Question—put and resolved in the affirmative.

Sir William Lyne moved, That the Bill be now read a third time.

Question—put and resolved in the affirmative.—Bill read a third time.

- 5. Postponement of Order of the Day. Ordered, That the consideration of Order of the Day, Government Business, No. 2, be postponed until after the consideration of Order of the Day, No. 3.
- 6. Post and Telegraph Rates Bill.—The Order of the Day for the resumption of the debate on the question, That the Bill be now read a second time, having been read—Debate resumed.

Mr. L. E. Groom moved, That the debate be now adjourned.

Question—That the debate be now adjourned—put and resolved in the affirmative.

Ordered—That the resumption of the debate be made an Order of the Day for to-morrow.

7. Adjournment.—Mr. Deakin moved, That the House do now adjourn.

Question—put and resolved in the affirmative.

And then the House, at twenty-five minutes past ten o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow, at half-past two o'clock p.m.

Members Present.—All Members were present except—The Prime Minister* (the Right Honorable Sir Edmund Barton, P.C., G.C.M.G.), the Minister of Defence* (the Right Honorable Sir John Forrest, P.C., G.C.M.G.), Messrs. Cameron, Chapman,* Cruickshank,* Ewing, Fisher,* Glynn, Harper,* Hughes, Knox,* Macdonald-Paterson, McCay, A. McLean, F. E. McLean, Sir William McMillan, K.C.M.G., Messrs. Page, Poynton, Sir John Quick, the Right Honorable G. H. Reid, P.C., Messrs. Sawers, Bruce Smith, Spence, Thomson, Watkins, and Willis.

* On leave

C. GAVAN DUFFY,
Clerk of the House of Representatives.