THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH.

No. 193.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

FRIDAY, 1st AUGUST, 1902.

- 1. The House met pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. MOUNT KEMBLA COLLIERY DISASTER.—Mr. Deakin moved, by leave, That this House expresses its deep regret at the appalling disaster which has occurred in the Mount Kembla Colliery, and its sympathy with the relatives of those who have been killed or injured.

 And other honorable Members having been heard in support of the motion—

 Question—put and resolved in the affirmative.
- 3. Bonuses for Manufactures Bill.—The Order of the Day for the further reconsideration of this Bill in Committee of the whole House having been read—Mr. Speaker left the Chair, and the House resolved itself into a Committee of the Whole.
 - Mr. Speaker resumed the Chair; Mr. Chanter reported that a quorum of Members was not present in the Committee; whereupon Mr. Speaker counted the House, and a quorum of Members being then present, the House again resolved itself into the Committee.

 Mr. Chanter, as Deputy Speaker, took the Chair; Mr. Salmon reported that the Committee had
 - Mr. Chanter, as Deputy Speaker, took the Chair; Mr. Salmon reported that the Committee had made progress in the Bill, and that he was directed to ask, That the Committee may have leave to sit again.
 - Resolved—That the House will, on Tuesday next, again resolve itself into the said Committee.
- 4. Special Adjournment.—Mr. Deakin moved, That the House, at its rising, adjourn until Tuesday next.
 - Question—put and resolved in the affirmative.
- ADJOURNMENT.—Mr. Deakin moved, That the House do now adjourn. Debate ensued.
 - Question-put and resolved in the affirmative.
- And then the House, at fourteen minutes past four o'clock p.m., adjourned until Tuesday next, at half-past two o'clock p.m.
- Members Present.—All Members were present except—The Prime Minister* (the Right Honorable Sir Edmund Barton, P.C., G.C.M.G.), the Minister of Defence* (the Right Honorable Sir John Forrest, P.C., G.C.M.G.), the Honorable Sir Philip Fysh, K.C.M.G., Sir Langdon Bonython, Messrs. Chapman,* Cruickshank,* Fisher, Glynn, A. C. Groom, Harper, Isaacs, Kennedy, Knox,* Sir William McMillan, K.C.M.G., the Right Honorable G. H. Reid, P.C., Messrs. Skene, Bruce Smith, V. L. Solomon, Wilkinson, and Wilks.

* On leave.

C. GAVAN DUFFY,
Clerk of the House of Representatives.